Hydrating Face Primer is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 210.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is amazing! I bought this product on a whim a few weeks ago & i use it nightly after washing my face & i have noticed a difference in how soft & smooth my face is, my pores aren't so noticeable & my makeup stays on for hours! Would recommend this product to anyone with dry skin or even anyone looking for a great moisturizer!
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I didn't like it. I bought this primer to see if I liked it better than my normal $34 primer. I was hoping that since I love all of the other ELF products I've ever purchased, I might get lucky and be able to save some money. No such luck. The primer is greasy. I feel like it doesn't soak in well and I can feel it on my face even after putting on my powder. It also seems like I have to use a decent amount because it doesn't go very far.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smells so bad I bought this online and it smells sooo bad. I still use it because it works on my eyelids and under my eyes where my acne isn't . It smells like construction
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A key to my foundation routine I got this as a freebie from one of my last orders. I don't suffer from incredibly dry skin, so I wasn't sure how much use I'd get out of this. But it turns out to be a very important product in my foundation routine! Recently I got a serum foundation from BareMinerals that made my face look ashy and cakey, or would slide around on my face with any of the other primers I had. I was just about to throw away a very pricey foundation before I gave it a shot with this. OMG they work like magic together. I wouldn't be able to wear my new foundation without this product!
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from weird product I do not like this primer. It has a really strange smell and a greasy texture. You get hardly any product with this; the bottle is pretty deceiving. It's name is "Hydrating Face Primer", but it does not hydrate mine at all. Would not purchase again.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it says! I have very dry skin so I needed something to help with that. This works well!
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not much in it. I used this for about 2 weeks when it was already empty. I took the the top off to see what was going on and the bottle which holds the primer was small. I had bought 2 of them so I opened the second bottle to see exactly how much I actually had in the bottle. The one that was supposed to be full was half full so I had to buy 2 bottles in order to get one full bottle. I only used it once a day so it wasn't because I used it too often and I only put on a very little bit because when you pump it once there is enough for both sides of my face or it would feel waxy. I rubbed it between my fingers first to see how it felt first so I would know how much I would need. If you have oily skin it would make you break out. Dry skin you would need more but mine is more normal I realized after trying it. In the pros and cons your choice is greasy or non greasy but it is more waxy than oily.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love but EXTREMELY deceiving packaging I bought this a week ago. I only use 1 pump every other day - it's already gone. I thought the pump was broken so I opened it up & realized it's empty!?!? How so quick? There is only about a tablespoon of product. Very very disappointed - it seems like a good bargain until you realize you receive about $1 worth of product. -_- WILL NEVER BUY AGAIN!
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very greasy and causes breakouts This is the worst face primer I have ever used. It's very greasy and stays greasy the whole time I'm wearing it.I don't get really bad acne breakouts, but this really set my skin off. My face went from clear to major acne breakout in a matter of minutes.I never should have switched from my too faced primer to this.Lesson learned.This should be renamed to "Acne in a Bottle".
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Good I bought this at my school bookstore, because I have recently run out of my Smashbox Hydrating Primer. As this is only $6, I was so excited to see if it would be a good replacement for the Smashbox primer which is approximately $35 more. Disappointingly, these two products do not compare at all. Upon putting the product on my fingers, I realized it had a weird smell. I know how to cover up bad scented make up, so I did not worry too much. But, once I put it on my face things just went down hill. I could feel it sitting on my face and it did not blend into my pores at all. It let it set for a few minutes, but it still did not really sink in. A pro would be that it did hydrate - but too much. Trying to stay positive, I proceeded to apply my e.l.f. foundation (a favorite). My foundation would not go over this product AT ALL. Three layers- no difference. It was very disappointing, as I love e.l.f. and I would expect their products to work well with each other. Also, my Smashbox primer lasted 8 months, and I could not see this tiny amount of product lasting more than a month.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Strong Bad smell I got the product because I have extremely dry skin so I thought it would help. The primer did someone help with making my skin not dry but from time to time my foundation ends up cakey. It also has a really strong almost rancid smell that does not go away time I put my foundation and concealer on. I will not be repurchasing that product due to that smell.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells rancid Every time I tried to use this, it had a horrible rancid smell. I ended up throwing it away.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ehhh I bought this and it felt so super greasy on my skin. I have normal to oily skin, but it even felt greasy when I put it on my hand and rub it in. Don't like it.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good for sensitive skin! Bought this when I was in the states and really wanted to love it considering it was so cheap and had heard good things but unfortunately whenever I wear it, it clogs my pores and causes my skin to become all textured and bumpy. I have very sensitive skin so won't necessarily be the case for everyone but be careful. Good job I didn't spend much!
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Its a nice primer, a little oily first but let it dry. It doesn't smell bad for me like the others reviews says. Im not sure tha my makeup last longer now.
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Skin is soft ! This product is VERY greasy and smells a lot like vegetable oil.. but if you can get past that it is great ! After I removed all my make up at the end of the day my face feels incredibly soft and hydrated.
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Primer I've Used This primer is amazing because it really hydrates my skin and it makes my skin look so nice. I love it.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Weird smell I was excited to try this product but the smell is horrible. I put it on and the smell wouldn't go away so I ended up washing it off before I even tried it with foundation.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not recommend I just received this product and really dislike it. It has an aweful cardboard like smell that doesn't go away. It also caused my foundation to appear streaky. Do not recommend.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I just bought this product and I wasn't too happy about it. It doesn't cover any fine lines and when I add on foundation it's not the right match for me.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely obsessed!! I've been using this primer for about 3 months now, & I love it! It's my first primer that actually works! It does a great job of hydrating my face, and it makes my makeup last F O R E V E R. I definitely plan to buy again, it's my new holy grail.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth Smooth applocation, and lasting look. I applied this at 7 am and my makeup looked flawless until 7 pm. Highly satisfied!!
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works I just received this and tried today LOVE it. After reading negative reviews , YES it will feel "greasy" til it is set, about 4-5 minutes.My foundation goes on smoothly and streakless I use this primer on 90 % of my face which is dry-ish and I use the pore-less on my nose and upper cheeks below the eye bags
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from There are issues So I have been using this for a while and really liked it but then relized it was causing clogged pores all over my forehead so if u have sensitive skin do not use
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible I was so happy to receive this primer but was SO disappointed. First of all, I don't know why, but whenever I use it, my foundation appears cakey and orange. Second of all, if you unscrew the lid, you will find that they deceive you and there is a MUCH smaller container. Overall, I am very unhappy about this product and would never buy again.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product I use it night time as a moisturizer and as a primer under makeup. It makes my dry skin soft and hydrated without causing me to break out. Over all since I've started using this product my skin has become much softer! The only thing that's bad is the weird metallic smell but it's nothing I can't bare.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed First off, I am a huge elf fan. I love their products and will continue to use them forever, they're affordable and the majority work just as well if not better than higher end makeup. But this primer was horrible, it does not work at all. In fact it was worse than just using no primer. It really doesn't sit well under my makeup, it has the consistency that I imagine cooking spray would if you sprayed it on your face. The packaging is also very misleading, you are getting much much less than what the bottle size would lead you to believe. I''m sad that this didn't work for me but for $6 there's no hurt in trying!
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Leaves my skin hydrated and feeling soft all day, I use it alone or under my makeup. I also use at night in my skin regiment. Works Great!
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells disgusting Even though it's cheap, it's a waste of money. Go smear vegetable oil on your face to get the same effect as this primer
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deceiving I bought this primer and noticed that there was literally no product in the bottle. Elf is deceiving its customers by packaging very small amounts of product in big bottles. If you unscrew the bottom half of container you will see how they trick ya.
Date published: 2016-09-06