Hydrating Face Primer is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 227.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product already! A week ago, I was at my local Target store and I came across the E.L.F makeup section. I bought this primer and I absolutely LOVE it! It is so worth $6! It makes my face so soft and hydrated. It really helps hold on my powdered makeup! If you have dry, rough skin, I suggest this product! The only thing is, that it is a little greasy looking, so I just use powder to cover it up!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from use sparingly! a little goes a very long way. i find that occasionally i get dry skin on my nose, thinking this would help, i bought it. its very oily and heavy on your skin, no matter how long you let it set. i advise not to use it unless your skin truly craves hydration, because for people who have lighty flaky skin this product is too heavy and oily. i do love e.l.f though! i just didnt expect so much hydration in one little drop!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Heavy I bought this product in hopes for a good, inexpensive primer buy it was very heavy on my face and oily. When I finished applying the rest of my makeup I could still feel it. Not one of my favs :(
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good! I really like this primer. However, DO NOT use if you do not have dry skin. It is oily, and too much will make your face greasy. I do not like how it makes my hands feel oily after applying, but that is nothing washing my hands can't fix. Other than it being oily, I really like it!
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bad Smell!!! I have a dry skin so products feels ok on my skin, but It smells very bad.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too oily I bought this product as one of my first primers and was left utterly disappointed. I have very dry skin and this product was just overwhelmingly greasy/oily. I am not in love with this primer and would never buy it again.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for dry skin! This was my first primer purchase from elf. I never used a primer before, I used to just go straight on with applying my makeup (which I guess now I know why I had to use so much). This is the silkiest stuff ever! It was hydrating, without making my skin oily and it felt so smooth. It's a lovely product.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does Not "Prime" This is more of a moisturizer than a primer. It is hydrating, but maybe too much so. It made my face quite greasy and shiny, and it almost felt like my makeup would slip right off my face. I ended up mixing it with a very matte primer to make use of it, but I would not recommend this, especially for girls with oily skin like me.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this primer!so smooth & I 've using this primer on & off for about a year. I love the way it goes on & the way my skin feels when I use it. I hardly ever wear make-up but when I do, this primer always goes on first. It feels more like a silky serum. I do have one question though. This primer feels sooo good on my skin that I want to use it at night, before bed, as a moisturizer. Can I do this without getting breakouts? I just love the way my skin just drinks it in & leaves it feeling so smooth & glowing. If not, do you have a serum that you can recommend?
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A little goes a lone way. I got this a few months ago from my local CVS and at first I was a bit taken back but nowe I can't be with out it. I put this first then my foundation and build from there. I love this!! Great price, great product I have big brand names in my collection but always go back the this.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible I bought this at target and it made my face dry and made my foundation look really bad. I absolutely hate this product. Not even worth 6$
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not good for acne I bought this last month and I used it only twice but the next morning my skin would break out like crazy. After the first time, I didn't think anything of it but after the second time, I won't be using it again. Any suggestions for oily/acne prone skin?
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beauty Bargain I love this stuff. It works great for my combination skin as I smooth it over the dry areas of my face (such as my nose) and it does not interfere with the oily areas. The texture is really nice...very lightweight and more like a serum than a lotion. It blends in nicely and leaes you feeling moisturized.
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells gross, bad feeling on skin I bought this item a month ago, and also got one for free with purchase... I ended throwing them both out. They smelled gross. Disgusting, worse smell ever!. It didn't feel nice on my skin.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre Primer I've gone through a whole bottle of this and for the price it does get the job done but not the most effectively. I would definetly recommend this for only dry skin types because for people who have normal or oily skin I think it would be to heavy underneath foundation and concealer. I personally have oily skin and after an hour or so my makeup would look very caky.
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this primer I got this primer to see if what I have been reading review wise was true, oh boy this stuff is fantastic. And so affordable, most all my makeup is all ELF except for my CC cream from IT cosmetics.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Alright Just bought this product and it is a little greasy and I wouldn't buy this product again, however, I do use it on a daily basis because it really helps with putting on my foundation.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is amazing! I bought this product on a whim a few weeks ago & i use it nightly after washing my face & i have noticed a difference in how soft & smooth my face is, my pores aren't so noticeable & my makeup stays on for hours! Would recommend this product to anyone with dry skin or even anyone looking for a great moisturizer!
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I didn't like it. I bought this primer to see if I liked it better than my normal $34 primer. I was hoping that since I love all of the other ELF products I've ever purchased, I might get lucky and be able to save some money. No such luck. The primer is greasy. I feel like it doesn't soak in well and I can feel it on my face even after putting on my powder. It also seems like I have to use a decent amount because it doesn't go very far.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smells so bad I bought this online and it smells sooo bad. I still use it because it works on my eyelids and under my eyes where my acne isn't . It smells like construction
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A key to my foundation routine I got this as a freebie from one of my last orders. I don't suffer from incredibly dry skin, so I wasn't sure how much use I'd get out of this. But it turns out to be a very important product in my foundation routine! Recently I got a serum foundation from BareMinerals that made my face look ashy and cakey, or would slide around on my face with any of the other primers I had. I was just about to throw away a very pricey foundation before I gave it a shot with this. OMG they work like magic together. I wouldn't be able to wear my new foundation without this product!
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from weird product I do not like this primer. It has a really strange smell and a greasy texture. You get hardly any product with this; the bottle is pretty deceiving. It's name is "Hydrating Face Primer", but it does not hydrate mine at all. Would not purchase again.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it says! I have very dry skin so I needed something to help with that. This works well!
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not much in it. I used this for about 2 weeks when it was already empty. I took the the top off to see what was going on and the bottle which holds the primer was small. I had bought 2 of them so I opened the second bottle to see exactly how much I actually had in the bottle. The one that was supposed to be full was half full so I had to buy 2 bottles in order to get one full bottle. I only used it once a day so it wasn't because I used it too often and I only put on a very little bit because when you pump it once there is enough for both sides of my face or it would feel waxy. I rubbed it between my fingers first to see how it felt first so I would know how much I would need. If you have oily skin it would make you break out. Dry skin you would need more but mine is more normal I realized after trying it. In the pros and cons your choice is greasy or non greasy but it is more waxy than oily.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love but EXTREMELY deceiving packaging I bought this a week ago. I only use 1 pump every other day - it's already gone. I thought the pump was broken so I opened it up & realized it's empty!?!? How so quick? There is only about a tablespoon of product. Very very disappointed - it seems like a good bargain until you realize you receive about $1 worth of product. -_- WILL NEVER BUY AGAIN!
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very greasy and causes breakouts This is the worst face primer I have ever used. It's very greasy and stays greasy the whole time I'm wearing it.I don't get really bad acne breakouts, but this really set my skin off. My face went from clear to major acne breakout in a matter of minutes.I never should have switched from my too faced primer to this.Lesson learned.This should be renamed to "Acne in a Bottle".
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Good I bought this at my school bookstore, because I have recently run out of my Smashbox Hydrating Primer. As this is only $6, I was so excited to see if it would be a good replacement for the Smashbox primer which is approximately $35 more. Disappointingly, these two products do not compare at all. Upon putting the product on my fingers, I realized it had a weird smell. I know how to cover up bad scented make up, so I did not worry too much. But, once I put it on my face things just went down hill. I could feel it sitting on my face and it did not blend into my pores at all. It let it set for a few minutes, but it still did not really sink in. A pro would be that it did hydrate - but too much. Trying to stay positive, I proceeded to apply my e.l.f. foundation (a favorite). My foundation would not go over this product AT ALL. Three layers- no difference. It was very disappointing, as I love e.l.f. and I would expect their products to work well with each other. Also, my Smashbox primer lasted 8 months, and I could not see this tiny amount of product lasting more than a month.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Strong Bad smell I got the product because I have extremely dry skin so I thought it would help. The primer did someone help with making my skin not dry but from time to time my foundation ends up cakey. It also has a really strong almost rancid smell that does not go away time I put my foundation and concealer on. I will not be repurchasing that product due to that smell.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells rancid Every time I tried to use this, it had a horrible rancid smell. I ended up throwing it away.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ehhh I bought this and it felt so super greasy on my skin. I have normal to oily skin, but it even felt greasy when I put it on my hand and rub it in. Don't like it.
Date published: 2016-10-24