HD Mattifying Cream Foundation is rated 3.7251 out of 5 by 171.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!! I love this! It makes my skin look flawless, without looking too oily. It blends in nicely, and is an overall great foundation
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this!! It gives me so great and natural coverice!! I love this protuct! My favorite!! I'm going to buy much more protucts from e.l.f!
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good coverage, but runs lighter Overall, I find this foundation to be pretty good, but not as even in coverage as the cream Flawless Foundation. I also noted that this color runs a shade brighter, though I'm unsure if it's based on how this behaves compared to the cream pump Flawless foundation. I suggest going for the next step up if you usually use porcelain. I have Asian heritage, therefore I ran into a problem. With Flawless Foundation, I get the exact color I want. Using Porcelain as this mattifying cream, I look like a China doll. While my hand matched my face, my face is usually a bit more tan. Using my bronzer pallet (also ELF) may change this, but I haven't experimented yet.When I spread this on my face, dabbing instead of pat & smear makes it look too packed on. I don't suggest dabbing to get the coverage you desire. If anything, don't pack it on like you would a cream foundation. Start light and layer it on.I also tried this in combination with the poreless primer. Go very light with that primer, or avoid it entirely. The usual mineral primer is less hydrating, but gives a nice smooth finish. I feel that the poreless primer keeps this foundation from properly drying and going to matte form.If you want a matte finish, use this product. But play around with it before donning this and going out. I'd bought this in hopes of using it to freshen up while out, so I'll see how things go. If I contour properly, I'm sure I can make this work.
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Amazing Color! But definitely NOT matte. I have pretty oily skin in general and I was hoping that when I bought this product, it would be "mattifying" like it promised. Unfortunately it just didn't hold up. The color I picked up was perfect for my skin but the oil still shows through, even with a setting powder. I will not be buying this foundation again. 
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love e.l.f.!  Great quality at a low price! This foundation covers my rosacea well.
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for on the go I really like this its good for on the go days but not long wear gets greasy after 5-6 hours of wear also not matte :(
Date published: 2014-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! I just love this foundation I have spares now I love it so much.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Depends on Application I bought this in Porcelain on a 50% off sale so it was only $3.00.. can't go wrong with that! When I first put it on I used E.L.F's Mineral Infused Primer and then put this foundation on with a regular foundation brush and it was leaving brush strokes on my face and not blending very well. It stayed pretty creamy instead of turning into a powered texture. I put E.L.F.'s Mineral Pressed Powder over top to dry it up a bit and it seemed to cover up the streaking and the greasy parts but it was cakey.The second time I put this on I used the sponge it comes with and let me tell you it is 100x better this way! Silly me for trying to do it otherwise haha! The sponge made it blend smoothly, no streaking, and it actually settled as a powder this time go figure!I have oily fair skin, this shade is the tiniest bit too dark but nothing that can't be fixed with Transleuscent Powder. I would recommend still using a powder over top because it doesn't quite get the powder finish all over. I prefer the acne fighting foundation from E.L.F. over this product.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not good for anyone with even mildly oily skin! I really wanted to like this product. The first time I bought it, it was a shade too dark so once I started to run out I ordered a shade lighter and it matched my skin perfectly but now I'm noticing that after a couple hours of wearing it (even with the HD powder and finishing spray on top) I start to get shiny in my t-zone and by the end of the day my whole face has a slightly more than dewy look. This is NOT MATTE! It looks sort of matte when you first put it on but after that you better keep some translucent powder in your purse! I would recommend this only for people that do not have oily skin. Other than that, the coverage is decent but I was a little sad about how much product came in the package. It didn't seem like very much to me, especially since it's about the same price as drugstore brands.
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I REALLY LIKE THIS PRODUCT This foundation is creamy and makes your face feel smooth, and I love the sponge that's included. Whats makes this product so wonderful is the easy application. If your in a rush for time you can apply 1,2,3. The color I purchased was coco. I got coco in the flawless finish so I wanted to stick with that tone. It really gives me a natural look, like I am not wearing anything which can be a good and bad thing it blends so well into my skin you really can't tell I have foundation on. I gave it a 4 star because the make-up comes off so easily. I have to be really careful if I hug someone because the make-up is ready to rub off with the slightest touch. The lock and seal or mist doesn't even help with this issue. Overall, great product I will make another purchase but may try a shade lighter hopefully it's not too light but just right.
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I liked it. but can't use it.. I really like the texture and it feels so smooth. But I can't really use it.. I wanted to use it so bad and tried few times but it's too dry for my skin. I live in dry area and even though it's summer, still too dry..The color is bit closer to pink undertone. Not yellow undertone. Wish they make some yellow undertone foundation.
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Coverage I am a caramel toned complexion and so I ordered the caramel. It was very light so I suggest that if you are my complexion to order almond or even coco. I didn't mind getting the wrong shade since I bought it during the half off sale.  I will order one of the other shades soon. I gave only 4 stars because the color swatch online is deceptive. I hope elf fixes this error. The same is true of the BB cream, the swatch is not the true shade so order at least one shade darker.
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really oily! And the colors are way lighter than they look! Does not match my skin at all!
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had to experiment a bit It has taken a few tries to make this foundation work for me, but now I'm pretty pleased with it. I'd suggest using it over moisturizer and a good primer, with a light hand to keep it from getting cakey over trouble spots. It isn't really "mattifying," but that's okay with me... matte isn't always as flattering as many people think it will be anyway. A little bit of powder in the t-zone, and I'm set.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome foundation Ladies and some men lol,  this is a great foundation. But to remind you all that buying this alone isn't going to make all your skin ailments go away. You must use moisturizer on your face and you must prime your face with a cream to hold a foundation for long periods of time. I use avveno facial moisturizer with M.a.C bb cream and then place this foundation on my skin. Once I run out of the Mac and avveno bottles I will stick with e.l.fs brands. More so cause keeping product that long cause of big bottles seems unsanitary to me. But it cost a lot and I will use them up. But to continue on my face looks gorgeous like a movie star adding in e.l.fs corrector colors after priming to be honest, then this foundation. But accept what you can't change and know everyone is beautiful xoxo sophiamaria
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Greasy! I bought this a month ago. It does offer good coverage, however it's very greasy and caused me to breakout in zits. I have not had a single zit in the last year and as soon as I started using this product I got bombarded with them. Also only stays mattified for an hour or so. If you do purchase this product do not expect to wear it all over. 
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coverage! I got this product in three different colors; Buff, caramel, and coco. Buff is a bit too light and caramel is a bit too dark. Not a big deal though. I wore them both depending on what season it was. I used coco as a cream contour color. The coverage is amazing. I have minor acne scars on my cheeks and it covered it up very nicely. The only qualms I have against this product is that they are too pink/red for me. I have a yellow undertone and it looks goofy having a pinkish face. I really have to correct the tone with powder and concealer with this product. My other problem is that it's really oily! Not mattifying at all! I was disappointed with that, but it's okay because I just used the HD powder all over my face!I would definitely repurchase this... I just wish it wasn't so pink!
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cream Foundation For Dry Skin I really like this cream foundation.  I use the color Porcelain in the Flawless Finish Foundation and use the same shade in this one too. For reference, I have fair to light skin with yellow undertones with a tendency towards dryness and sensitivity, and many products easily irritate my skin.  I found this cream foundation to be very light and soothing to my sensitive, dry skin.  I make sure to cleanse and moisturize adequately before using this or any foundation. If you have dry skin like me, a spritz of Evian water before applying moisturizer will seal in the moisture and allow the skin to absorb it quickly. I avoid dry patches by using this method of moisturizing and my moisturizer absorbs quickly with this method. Like Merlz and IrishCountryGirl26 said in their reviews previously to mine, you must first make sure to apply a primer before using this foundation.  Since I use primer religiously and have both the ybf primer and the Elf Hydrating Primer, I apply either first.  Second, definitely a little goes a long way with this foundation and you need only use a small amount for your whole face, which means the product will last a lot longer. Third, since this a medium to full coverage foundation, it's too easy to over-apply and end up with a caked mess on your face.  The best method of application, again kudos to Merlz and IrishCountryGirl26 for letting us know what works best, is to use the Elf Stipple Brush (the full size version) or any other stipple brush that you may already own to lightly tap the product onto the bristles and then dab lightly all over skin.  This will insure even application without cakiness. Then, to set the product (and you really need powder to set this foundation), use the Elf HD powder with the Elf Flat Top Brush and lightly press the brush all over your fact wherever you applied this foundation.  This gives you the coveted airbrushed look that everyone is talking about. If you buff the powder too much, it will disturb the foundation application and cause blotchiness.  That's why patting the powder on is so important with this type of foundation.The foundation lasts all day with the above method with maybe one touchup after about 4-6 hours on my nose, but very lightly with powder.  I have't had any streakiness, fading or blotchiness and the foundation really covers any redness and evens out my skin tone. I don't know how this foundation would wear on someone with oily skin as I have read that generally cream foundations are not recommended for this skin type. I no longer have oily skin since my skin has become drier as I approach perimenopause.  The upside is that I no longer have breakouts but my skin is much drier and requires special attention to stay ahead of the dryness.Hope this helps!  I really love this foundation and see myself repurchasing it when I run out.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure i bought this foundation in the color Porcelain, great color! im not sure if i like it or not. ii use Mattifying foundations all the time and i love them, this one makes me look Super dry. im not sure if its just me or the product. my face is not dry nor is it oily. so im not sure. im going to keep using it different ways to see if i really like it or not.  i love the sponge that comes with it, its super soft and feels almost like a beauty blender. I've used the sponge and a Stipple brush to apply but still turns out the same way. 
Date published: 2014-06-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not mattifying at all :( I bought porcelain and almond--as in my experience elf color swatches online are never even close to accurate. I figure I could blend and get the right shade, and even do some cream contouring. There is a really good amount of product for the money , and the packaging is very convenient. I found that  The formua blends very well, but is not matte by any stretch of the imagination.When applied it is a beautiful satin, dewey finish. Then within an hour it slides off of my face in a greasy mess. That was even after setting with a good powder.This could be great for someone with normal skin, but it's not good at all for oily skin. :/ 
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well, good coverage It covers well, in some areas you have to be a little careful not to thin it out. Blends well. Doesn't cause me to have as much acne as many other products do. 
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! I love this foundation!!  I use it with my Rimmel Stay Matte Primer and it works wonderful!! 
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great even coverage Shade blends well with skin & looks natural. I have very sensitive skin & I liked the way it feels on the skin. Lightweight yet builds coverage easily. Great foundation to use with brush or sponge.
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I've tried a few other foundations by elf before and I've got to say this one has become my absolute favorite. It's very light weight and it gives me the coverage I actually want and that I don't get from other foundations that I've tried in the past. Setting it with the studio pressed powder and/or the hd powder makes the finished look look fantastic!  Definitely my new holy grail foundation B)
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So so I ordered 2 of these in 2 different shades. GREAT product just one that ELF needs more shades in.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love it so much <3 i bought in sand at first i dont like a smell of product.but the foundation was very good coverage and blend easilyi prefer to use with a flat top foundation brush now this is the best foundation for me <3
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have just about finished my first compact of this foundation in sand and I can say I'm very pleased. I have pretty oily skin and even though this doesn't stay completely matte all day by itself I have found that if I add a powder foundation over it that is matte as well and then blend them with my kabuki brush I get an awesome airbrush finish that does last a long time. I'm a server, I work with a lot of greasy foods and working 8+ hr shifts its nice to find something that will keep me from turning into a disco ball. I just ordered the BB cream and the Flawless finish just to see how I like those.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not true to photo I bought several of the darkest colors  anticipating that maybe the colors shown are not as  they appear to be in person . None of the colors I bought matched. As a reference I am a NC50 or NW55 with a tan. My mother who is a NC35 maybe was a better match for  any of the  colors I bought. The darkest being a light tan for her. Items can not be returned to store location. I wish I was better about mailing things back. 
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So many uses I have combo skin to the extreme- crazy oily with bad dry spots. I got Porcelain and it is a tad light on me but still doable in winter. It's definitely very matte. It is buildable but you'd get a really powdery look with too much. The coverage is fantastic. A little goes a long way. I just tap my sponge in and that easily covers half my face. Do NOT use this with dry patches, as it sticks to them like crazy. I adore the packaging; so convenient to have the applicator right there. The sponge is amazing and I wish elf sold the sponges separately so you could replace it. This also has a major yellow tint, which is a big reason why it works so well for me. I really thought I would barely use this foundation but I find myself reaching for it more than my other foundations. It is SO EASY to apply and blend in; it takes HALF the time as my liquid application. I meant to order Sand for summer but accidentally got Buff, which is obviously way too dark. But here's why this foundation gets 5+ stars from me: Porcelain makes a perfect concealer and Buff makes a wonderful matte bronzer. So versatile and such a great price, considering the amount you get. I think this will dry out before I can use it all. A new staple in my collection for sure!
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So silky! I love this foundation! It's absolutely gorgeous and looks so smooth and silky on the skin no matter what skin type. It is completely matte and is build-able. It has medium coverage I'd say. The lightest color (porcelain) is still pretty dark! But I'm sure it will be wearable in summer when we all have our tans:)
Date published: 2014-04-17