HD Mattifying Cream Foundation is rated 3.8419 out of 5 by 291.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hinge broke after a few uses. Can't take product in purse as hinge broke so it is messy.
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good foundation This foundation works really well. I'm sort of oily but this foundation doesn't make me look all greasy. I would recommend this product especially for the price
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beware of colors Caramel was not my shade. On my medium skin tone it made me look like Casper the Ghost. My suggestion is to go with a darker shade in foundations. However I did like the way the foundation went on and had staying power.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT! I BOUGTH THIS IM LOVE!!!!!!!SO PRACTIC, EASY USES,
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mislabeled? There is absolutely nothing "mattifying" about this foundation. Nothing! Quite the contrary, it's quite oily.
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best foundation i've ever used I bought this a while ago in Sand which was a good shade for summer for me but my skin has lightened up a lot and I need the next shade down. BUT i absolutely LOVE this foundation. It gives me FULL coverage. I don't even need concealer. I've tried other mattifying foundations and they just make me feel dry and flat. This one still allows you to see definition in my face in all the right places without looking oily. I'm literally in love.
Date published: 2015-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Im a light skinned black girl and I use the color caramel to highlight. It works great for me. Although I thought it was meant more for (not black girls) but it actually fit me. The only thing is it gets a little oily throughout the day but a sponge can fix that.
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS FOUNDATION! This is by far the best foundation I have ever used. One of my pet peeves is a shiny/oily face. I love the matte look! I will never use another foundation as long as I have HD Mattifying Cream Foundation! If I could give it 10 stars I would.
Date published: 2015-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got the shade Buff... My skin is very pricey with foundation the only other foundations I can use is Kat Von D(very similar but $35) or Bobbi Brown but there very pricey! So when I saw this I loved the price and was a little worried because I've tried foundations and make up from the drug store and they all was make me break out! I've tried other elf products and I loved them too. They only thing is I did you the only primer that has worked for me is the Kat Von D primer, I found it to only work for me and the foundation looks better with it. I will definitely buy more shades and use it on my clients!
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I am a 70+ year old woman, I have spent more money trying to find a foundation that works for me than I care to admit. My last purchase alone was $47. The worst part is none of the products performed as advertised. I have many wrinkles and the make-up would just sit on the surface and only emphasize my problem.Then, low and behold my daughter suggested I try E.L.F. and guess what, it is the best make-up I have ever used. It goes on smoothly and hides imperfections. I have recommended this product to all my friends.So if any of you reading this have friends or family with my problem, please do them a favor and suggest they try this mattifying foundation.Kudos to E.L.F.
Date published: 2015-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually works! It gives amazing coverage and stays in place! I bought the buff shade because I self tan and it matches my neck perfectly. I do recommend applying powder over it. If your skin is prone to being oily you're going to want to keep powder or oil blotting sheets with you. Going to buy it again once I'm out. For the price, it's so worth it
Date published: 2015-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall happy with this product I found this product to have a true color to my skin. The coverage is AH-MAZING! I dont even need concealer with this, and thats saying alot because i have alot of redness and acne scars. The product isnt too heavy and it doesnt feel like im wearing alot on my skin. Doesnt make me break out. However, I cant touch my face at all or the product will come off so I think maybe ill need t o use a makeup setting spray with this. Also, the mattifying is not as great as i though it would be. I follow this up with the hd translucent powder. Overall, pretty happy with this product and its great for those of us with oily and acne-prone skin.
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wanted to love this product. The cream foundation went on great. But the color was to orange for my skin tone. I was so disappointed because it's the closet foundation I found to my complexion. I'm a chocolate girl and it's very difficult to find foundations in my shade. I tried the acne fighting and found it to chalky and too light. And the flawless foundations were altogether to light. But I'll keep trying.
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I have been buying drug store $14-15 foundations but they do not compare to this! This foundation blends beautifully into the skin when you use a buffing brush. Love it, this is my new favorite foundation and the price is amazing
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Build able coverage The coverage for this foundation is build-able, but I wish it was just a little thinner. you know? something that feels soft on the face.It is really easy to put on too much if you arent careful, what I do is apply in all my red areas (or just on the t-zone) with an angled concealer brush and then I blend it out with a damp beauty blender. Afterward you just dab the beauty blender into the product to get any spots you feel you missed.Overall I love this product and will definitely buy again. The only reason it's not five stars is because like all of ELF's other products, the color doesnt perfectly match. Because you can blend it out its easier to make it work and I love that it dries to a powder but nothing is better than having a color that matches your neck and chest seamlessly. Everything I've encountered with Elf products is really yellow based and anything cooler on the yellow spectrum is going to be VERY white. But hey, at least not everything is pink based.
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from for the price its great! i would compare this to the mac version but a fraction of the price... looks so good for a few hours but starts to get spotty.... i used rimmell stay matte primer underneath as well....the color match is perfect and im NW35 in MAC
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic foundation I needed a mattifying foundation for the camera. I have very oily skin. I love this foundation. It actually keeps the oil at bay. My only complaint is the smell. It's not very pleasing. I use the angled foundation brush to apply. Make sure you blend very well.
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage, doesn't break me out! I usually use mineral powder foundation because liquid foundations tend to make my oily skin worse or else it slides right off my face halfway through the day. I was concerned this stuff would make my face worse and break me out but not at all. It gives better coverage than any mineral powder makeup I have ever used and it does dry to a nice matte. I also use it with primer, concealer and a matte powder over it but honestly, it has great coverage without all that stuff. I would suggest using the matte powder for touch ups during the day if you have oily skin like me. Very smooth, not cakey at all. I have light skin and I bought the Sand, it patches perfect!
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff This has great coverage and the mattifying effect is nice. I have sensitive skin but so far, no breakouts since using it. I'm quite light colored, and the Sand color is perfect.
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth finish I love how smooth my complexion looks after apply the Shade buff-HD Matifying Cream Foundation. I have oily skin with big pores & acne scars. Covers well.
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great when used with blending brush I've been using this for several weeks now with the E.L.F. Blending brush and it works like a dream. I have normal/combination skin and I've not gotten better wear or looks from any other makeup (including high-end products). I use mine after moisturizer, and a light coat of Smashbox oil-free primer. The trick to this is only using a very small amount. I dab my brush in lightly and brush across my face until The finish is smoothe and flawless. Too much product ends up looking cakey, pale, and artificial.
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good foundation for good price! So, I bought this looking for an inexpensive option to a good coverage foundation. I'm glad that I did. I read many reviews that said colors are much lighter than pictured so I purchased one that was a little dark but would still match if it came in the color showed. The color I recieved matched very closely to the pictures online. Great coverage and smooth application. It did melt off by the end of the day the first time I used it, but I set it with the HD finishing powder and it was much better. I have an oily tzone and this foundation did not make my face look even more oily which was a surprise. I will have to purchase a lighter shade for the winter. But overall it's a good foundation for the price.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best foundation! I love love love this foundations! Amazing coverage and lasts forever
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not matte at all :-( I am always on the lookout for mattifying products because I have oily skin. This stuff is a total grease-bomb. It had little oily drops on the surface when I opened it, and goes on MEGA shiny. Even after setting it with powder, if I even consider touching my face, this stuff slides around. I gave it 3 stars because it's pretty good in the winter when my skin is drier. Would be perfect for dry skin types! Just market it as a cream foundation instead of mattifying.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, isn't for everyone I do like this foundation, I've hit the pan on my unit, but that's probably because it was one of the first foundations I've bought (I've had it for a long time). I have normal skin, maybe a little more on the oily side, and this foundation is still too cakey for me. I feel like you'd have to have pretty oily skin for this to work well. Again, this isn't a bad foundation, it just isn't ideal for MY skin. It is matte, and gives great coverage, but I've had better luck with just a regular foundation with the elf matte powder. However a good primer will probably go a long way with this.Definitely don't get this if you have dry skin, the sponge it comes with it trash, and I guess that's it. Good value and coverage, might repurchase but unlikely
Date published: 2015-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the product...just need a better color match I've used this in Buff and then tried the next color up, Caramel. Buff is too washed out on me and Caramel is too orange. It does tone down after applying but would like a better match. This product goes on easily and would be a great buy. Just need more color choices.
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Coverage is pretty good, although porcelain is just a bit dark for my complexion. Still a good product for the summer time to give me a bit of a tan look. It applies nicely and stays matte. This would be my go-to drug store brand foundation if they expanded their color options.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for MUAs! This foundation had me a little worried, but I'm very impressed, as usual. The size is also great.I've never been the person to use the sponge, but the sponge provided used with a bouncy stipple-like motion works amazingly! I have four shades in my kit!
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! This stuff is fantastic! I've spent 6-7 times more, for foundations that don't even compare. Easy to apply, build-able, natural looking, long lasting, very little transferring, dries down to a nice (semi) matte finish. I use either a brush, or Beauty Blender, and it always comes out fine. THANK YOU, e.l.f.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product, used differently. I use this as my contour color when I am doing a contoured face. I have very, very, very, very pale skin and while it doesn't work on me as a foundation, it DOES make an amazing contour. I use a concealer brush to apply it in the locations I want and I use the e.l.f. Brightening concealer as the highlight, and then I blend my BB into it. It is amazingly natural.
Date published: 2015-07-11