HD Mattifying Cream Foundation is rated 3.7078 out of 5 by 154.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cream Foundation For Dry Skin I really like this cream foundation.  I use the color Porcelain in the Flawless Finish Foundation and use the same shade in this one too. For reference, I have fair to light skin with yellow undertones with a tendency towards dryness and sensitivity, and many products easily irritate my skin.  I found this cream foundation to be very light and soothing to my sensitive, dry skin.  I make sure to cleanse and moisturize adequately before using this or any foundation. If you have dry skin like me, a spritz of Evian water before applying moisturizer will seal in the moisture and allow the skin to absorb it quickly. I avoid dry patches by using this method of moisturizing and my moisturizer absorbs quickly with this method. Like Merlz and IrishCountryGirl26 said in their reviews previously to mine, you must first make sure to apply a primer before using this foundation.  Since I use primer religiously and have both the ybf primer and the Elf Hydrating Primer, I apply either first.  Second, definitely a little goes a long way with this foundation and you need only use a small amount for your whole face, which means the product will last a lot longer. Third, since this a medium to full coverage foundation, it's too easy to over-apply and end up with a caked mess on your face.  The best method of application, again kudos to Merlz and IrishCountryGirl26 for letting us know what works best, is to use the Elf Stipple Brush (the full size version) or any other stipple brush that you may already own to lightly tap the product onto the bristles and then dab lightly all over skin.  This will insure even application without cakiness. Then, to set the product (and you really need powder to set this foundation), use the Elf HD powder with the Elf Flat Top Brush and lightly press the brush all over your fact wherever you applied this foundation.  This gives you the coveted airbrushed look that everyone is talking about. If you buff the powder too much, it will disturb the foundation application and cause blotchiness.  That's why patting the powder on is so important with this type of foundation.The foundation lasts all day with the above method with maybe one touchup after about 4-6 hours on my nose, but very lightly with powder.  I have't had any streakiness, fading or blotchiness and the foundation really covers any redness and evens out my skin tone. I don't know how this foundation would wear on someone with oily skin as I have read that generally cream foundations are not recommended for this skin type. I no longer have oily skin since my skin has become drier as I approach perimenopause.  The upside is that I no longer have breakouts but my skin is much drier and requires special attention to stay ahead of the dryness.Hope this helps!  I really love this foundation and see myself repurchasing it when I run out.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure i bought this foundation in the color Porcelain, great color! im not sure if i like it or not. ii use Mattifying foundations all the time and i love them, this one makes me look Super dry. im not sure if its just me or the product. my face is not dry nor is it oily. so im not sure. im going to keep using it different ways to see if i really like it or not.  i love the sponge that comes with it, its super soft and feels almost like a beauty blender. I've used the sponge and a Stipple brush to apply but still turns out the same way. 
Date published: 2014-06-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not mattifying at all :( I bought porcelain and almond--as in my experience elf color swatches online are never even close to accurate. I figure I could blend and get the right shade, and even do some cream contouring. There is a really good amount of product for the money , and the packaging is very convenient. I found that  The formua blends very well, but is not matte by any stretch of the imagination.When applied it is a beautiful satin, dewey finish. Then within an hour it slides off of my face in a greasy mess. That was even after setting with a good powder.This could be great for someone with normal skin, but it's not good at all for oily skin. :/ 
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well, good coverage It covers well, in some areas you have to be a little careful not to thin it out. Blends well. Doesn't cause me to have as much acne as many other products do. 
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! I love this foundation!!  I use it with my Rimmel Stay Matte Primer and it works wonderful!! 
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great even coverage Shade blends well with skin & looks natural. I have very sensitive skin & I liked the way it feels on the skin. Lightweight yet builds coverage easily. Great foundation to use with brush or sponge.
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I've tried a few other foundations by elf before and I've got to say this one has become my absolute favorite. It's very light weight and it gives me the coverage I actually want and that I don't get from other foundations that I've tried in the past. Setting it with the studio pressed powder and/or the hd powder makes the finished look look fantastic!  Definitely my new holy grail foundation B)
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So so I ordered 2 of these in 2 different shades. GREAT product just one that ELF needs more shades in.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love it so much <3 i bought in sand at first i dont like a smell of product.but the foundation was very good coverage and blend easilyi prefer to use with a flat top foundation brush now this is the best foundation for me <3
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have just about finished my first compact of this foundation in sand and I can say I'm very pleased. I have pretty oily skin and even though this doesn't stay completely matte all day by itself I have found that if I add a powder foundation over it that is matte as well and then blend them with my kabuki brush I get an awesome airbrush finish that does last a long time. I'm a server, I work with a lot of greasy foods and working 8+ hr shifts its nice to find something that will keep me from turning into a disco ball. I just ordered the BB cream and the Flawless finish just to see how I like those.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not true to photo I bought several of the darkest colors  anticipating that maybe the colors shown are not as  they appear to be in person . None of the colors I bought matched. As a reference I am a NC50 or NW55 with a tan. My mother who is a NC35 maybe was a better match for  any of the  colors I bought. The darkest being a light tan for her. Items can not be returned to store location. I wish I was better about mailing things back. 
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So many uses I have combo skin to the extreme- crazy oily with bad dry spots. I got Porcelain and it is a tad light on me but still doable in winter. It's definitely very matte. It is buildable but you'd get a really powdery look with too much. The coverage is fantastic. A little goes a long way. I just tap my sponge in and that easily covers half my face. Do NOT use this with dry patches, as it sticks to them like crazy. I adore the packaging; so convenient to have the applicator right there. The sponge is amazing and I wish elf sold the sponges separately so you could replace it. This also has a major yellow tint, which is a big reason why it works so well for me. I really thought I would barely use this foundation but I find myself reaching for it more than my other foundations. It is SO EASY to apply and blend in; it takes HALF the time as my liquid application. I meant to order Sand for summer but accidentally got Buff, which is obviously way too dark. But here's why this foundation gets 5+ stars from me: Porcelain makes a perfect concealer and Buff makes a wonderful matte bronzer. So versatile and such a great price, considering the amount you get. I think this will dry out before I can use it all. A new staple in my collection for sure!
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So silky! I love this foundation! It's absolutely gorgeous and looks so smooth and silky on the skin no matter what skin type. It is completely matte and is build-able. It has medium coverage I'd say. The lightest color (porcelain) is still pretty dark! But I'm sure it will be wearable in summer when we all have our tans:)
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Shine-Control, Melts off face. I was very happy with the amount of product that comes for such an affordable price, and the coverage provided over my acne scars with one swipe of the included makeup sponge.  However the products seemed to melt off of my face an hour into the day.  It smeared onto the neckline of my shirt as I was putting it on, and comes off onto my fingers easily with any touch of my face.  Also, for a "mattifying" cream my face was the shiniest I've seen it in a while.  Great price, but would not buy again.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just Okay, Emphasizes Pores I bought this to keep in my purse for touchups. The container is convenient and I like the sponge and the size of the mirror. However, the actual foundation isn't great. It is matte and it does provide a lot of coverage, but it doesn't go on smooth and emphasizes pores. It is a little difficult to blend. I suggest using very little product on the sponge and patting lightly where you need coverage. I wouldn't recommend it all over your face. I have the color Sand, it's a touch light for my fair skin, but a pretty good match.
Date published: 2014-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Super excited, but then super disappointed! I bought this originally in sand, I have a medium tone, so I thought it would be the right shade, nope, too dark. So I bought it in porcelain, I looked awful. Sand was too orange, and I looked like a ghost in the porcelain. I usually never have a hard time finding a near perfect shade. I have normal skin type as well, not oily or dry and this made my face feel gross and very oily. You could see the make up also. I used it in my normal makeup routine, using this instead of my usual foundation and it just did not look natural (not the color even, the texture). I was really excited to use this, but was extremely disappointed. 
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from When you use it right... I just bought 4 different colors of this product (freelance MUA) to add to my current foundations. Since I only had various liquid foundations, I thought this cream would be a good addition. When I tried them on myself I was a bit disappointed at the texture because it was so thick and seemed hard to blend over a large area. But then I thought why not use it as a concealer? All 4 have been amazing concealers on every skin tone I've used them on. The have high coverage that can be built up as needed and work great for contouring! Its definitely not a matte finish but with the right sequence of foundation, this, and powder it covers great and has serious staying power.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A NO NO for Dry Skin So I bought this from the Elf store in NYC. In the store it matched my skin perfectly on a test spot on my face. When I got home and put it on my entire face (I used the Elf Hydrating Primer) with the Elf essential foundation brush I looked orange and it felt like it was melting off my face. I washed it off about 4 hours later. I tried another couple of times and followed the same steps and followed with a beauty blender, still orange, still rubbing off easily.  Trying yet again, face freshly washed, moisturizer, hydrating primer let it absorb, another face primer let that absorb.  This time I used the sponge that was included and pressed the makeup on my face.  This technique seems to work the best. So if you have DRY SKIN DON'T BUY IT unless you want to work to make it look good.  If you have normal to oily skin like the description says you should be good.  If you do get it try using the sponge and pressing it on and follow with a beauty blender or kabuki brush.I do like the finished look but once this foundation is gone I will not be buying again.
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Weird Texture, Wrong Shade I absolutely hated this product! It was very thick and was a horrible shade of yellow. It was quite creamy, but it coated my skin in the worst way.
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat the quality or the price I love this foundation. Each time I wear it, I get compliments. Paired with the mineral primer, this foundation helps to achieve a very smooth complexion. Plus you can't beat the price.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased! I bought this like a week ago and the product is amaze balls. The color is perfect and it is not super oily. The product is very moisturizing too! The only thing I would change is make it a little bit more covering and pigmented. 
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good color match, terrible for my combo skin I have relatively smooth skin, minus some rosacea that is cared for and at a minimum of redness. This was not good. The color matched me, and I am very pale, it just looked splotchy when I applied it. I have been using cream to powder foundations for years, and I though this would be okay. It wasn't right for me. 
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from light coverage I have dark circles under my eyes and my eyelids tend to look purple. I have been experimenting with different ways to conceal this area without emphasizing it. I have really great skin on my face and do not need foundation elsewhere except just a tiny bit to even out redness in my chin. Right now, this seems to be the most natural looking way to cover these area. I first apply ELF Mineral Primer and another light primer with brighteners; without the primer the application is too heavy. It works well applied with my fingers or with a stippling brush then blended with my fingers. Although there is still a little darkness visible through the makeup, concealers and other products I've tried look heavy and emphasize small wrinkles, aging me. This works with the overall youthful look of my skin to even out the color without looking too made up.
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I had bought this online without looking at the reviews first, which was a bad idea. After I had made my order I had decided to come look at the reviews and had found that they were horrible. I ignored them because of the simple fact that im not very picky when it comes to makeup and that makeup products work differently with everyone. When I tried it out for the first time, I absolutely hated it, and this is coming from a person who doesn't have high standards when it comes to makeup. You could tell that it as oily even before you put it on your face, after about 30 minutes on my skin it looked as if it was melting off, and my face is VERY dry. I also ordered this in ivory and it made me look like a ghost, and im one of the lightest shades out there. Thank god that i got this half off for $3
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits me perfectly i bought this and other foundations, tinted moisturizers and concealers while looking for the one for me that didn't make my face look ghostly when a picture is taken with flash. i tried it on my face and it blended in so well. i couldn't tell where it started from where my face began. i will most certainly buy again! 
Date published: 2014-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product I got this foundation and it was my first cream foundation, and I love it!!!It goes from medium to full coverage. It stays for hours.The only thing is that is a little bit greasy but you put on loose powder and its perfect. Totally recommend this product. 
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my exact shade My color is coco I was happy to see that elf is starting to make darker shades. The foundation goes on smooth. It actually works better than a lot of my high end foundations. Also in order to use this foundation you have to use a good primer that works well with your skin. I would say this a medium to light coverage foundation however you can build it in to a full coverage. I also feel like this can double as a concealer , it blends seamlessly to me. To make it last throughout the days i just used a setting spray , it also does not oxidize to noticeably which is a plus. I do makeup freelance makeup from time to time and this is worth putting in my kit.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this in porcelain shade. I am usually the lightest shade but this is a little lighter than my skin tone. That is ok but I didn't like the way it emphasized all my lines (which aren't that noticeable without makeup). I tried it twice once with my fingers and once with a brush. I also applied translucent setting power over it. The coverage was pretty good. It might work for a teenager.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just ok I didn't like the way this foundation smelled. It has a funky smell. I also have dry skin and even after setting it with powder about an hour after wearing it I looked shiny! The color cocoa was a good color match for me though.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better as a concealer, or for contouring When I received my Mattifying Cream Foundation, I was surprised to find the color was 2 shades lighter than pictured - it's difficult to find an accurate shade of foundation without seeing the actual product. It's not a true cream-to-powder, nor is it truly matte. It goes on thinly and takes a while to bond to the skin, even using ELF's brushes, primers and setting powders. Freckles will show through and you'll have a satin finish.However, I've used it as a concealer under my eyes, and even as a contour for the "triangle" zone below the eyes down to the cheekbone, and it blended well with my other foundation. I might order a darker shade and try some contouring. If you're looking for very light, liquid coverage in a non-spill form, this could work for you, remember the swatches run dark.Note: My product came with the inner pan holding the cream broken off the hinge, it doesn't affect closing the container.
Date published: 2014-03-07