HD Mattifying Cream Foundation is rated 3.7322 out of 5 by 183.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LIKE THIS IT IS EASY TO APPLY. IS A LITTLE OILY BOUGHT THIS A BIT AGO. I LIKE THE EASE OF APPLYING THIS. I DID BUY THE CREAM ALSO. I PREFER THIS. IT IS SO EASY. I CAN PUT IT ON FAST AND HEAD TO WORK.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love, love, LOVE! This is a great foundation with excellent coverage for people who have dry, combination skin. I love how with this foundation you can build onto it and your face wont look cakey. I also love the cream texture of it, it makes it so much easier to apply. I stocked up for myself and bought some for my sisters and mom to try!
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Applies on skin easily, but can be super greasy. Best applicator is finger
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Acne-Prone Skin! This makeup goes on light, but can build to a flawless look. My skin is very sensitive to makeup. Since I've learned that I am sensitive to Gluten, I was ecstatic to learn that E.L.F.'s makeup line is Gluten-Free!! Since I've been using E.L.F. products, my skin has reacted positively (without occassional breakouts)!I am not a makeup artist and only wear makeup mostly during the work week and special occasions. I am so excited that I've finally found an affordable makeup brand to use to get that "Polished Look".Thanks E.L.F.
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from my go to foundation! I love the coverage on this foundation! i bought it in sand, and it is true to color. I love that it does dry matt (but only if you use a little!!) a little goes a long way with this product! if you pack it on it doesn't dry matt and leaves your skin very oily. It does have enough coverage so if you use a little you still will have the desired look you want.
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Camper i mean customer :-) Okay so basically my skins changing alot lately so i figured it was time to search for new makeup, and let me tell you, i came to the right place. This product is so affordable, and at first i was a little skeptical of that but the quality and coverage is great even through bad breakouts.
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but... Love, love, love ... Except! I would have given this a five star, except either the makeup itself or the sponge applicator wreaks! Nasty plastic/ chemical smell for hours after application, disgusting! Which is totally disappointing since the coverage is anazing!
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for to even even out my skin tone and lasts all day
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Matches Pretty Well I bought this product about three weeks ago, I just used it for the #elfmakeovercontest because I wanted to challenge myself to use 100% elf products. Long story short, I am a dark skinned beauty, and the coco color was a tad off, but can be worked with if used with other products. It is much lighter in person and has yellow undertone.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another great product I normally dnt like foundation, but I decided to try this out and I love it , very cream , great coverage !!!!
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Almond Undertone FAIL Once again e.l.f., you got it wrong with the undertone for darker skin. The VAST majority of people who would wear a shade like "Almond" DO NOT HAVE PINK UNDERTONES! So then WHY do you keep making shades like this???? It only makes us look ashen. The formula would be great if the shade weren't so bad. The other fail is with the packaging which fell apart quickly. It was a waste of money. If you need help in formulating shades, feel free to contact me. I am a former Custom Blend Specialist so I know what I'm talking about...
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice foundation...light coverage I like this foundation and that it comes in a compact for on-the-go touch ups. The coverage is light, though, and I need a heavier coverage. I couldn't use it as my primary foundation, but for touch ups, it's great!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!! I love this! It makes my skin look flawless, without looking too oily. It blends in nicely, and is an overall great foundation
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this!! It gives me so great and natural coverice!! I love this protuct! My favorite!! I'm going to buy much more protucts from e.l.f!
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good coverage, but runs lighter Overall, I find this foundation to be pretty good, but not as even in coverage as the cream Flawless Foundation. I also noted that this color runs a shade brighter, though I'm unsure if it's based on how this behaves compared to the cream pump Flawless foundation. I suggest going for the next step up if you usually use porcelain. I have Asian heritage, therefore I ran into a problem. With Flawless Foundation, I get the exact color I want. Using Porcelain as this mattifying cream, I look like a China doll. While my hand matched my face, my face is usually a bit more tan. Using my bronzer pallet (also ELF) may change this, but I haven't experimented yet.When I spread this on my face, dabbing instead of pat & smear makes it look too packed on. I don't suggest dabbing to get the coverage you desire. If anything, don't pack it on like you would a cream foundation. Start light and layer it on.I also tried this in combination with the poreless primer. Go very light with that primer, or avoid it entirely. The usual mineral primer is less hydrating, but gives a nice smooth finish. I feel that the poreless primer keeps this foundation from properly drying and going to matte form.If you want a matte finish, use this product. But play around with it before donning this and going out. I'd bought this in hopes of using it to freshen up while out, so I'll see how things go. If I contour properly, I'm sure I can make this work.
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Amazing Color! But definitely NOT matte. I have pretty oily skin in general and I was hoping that when I bought this product, it would be "mattifying" like it promised. Unfortunately it just didn't hold up. The color I picked up was perfect for my skin but the oil still shows through, even with a setting powder. I will not be buying this foundation again. 
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love e.l.f.!  Great quality at a low price! This foundation covers my rosacea well.
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for on the go I really like this its good for on the go days but not long wear gets greasy after 5-6 hours of wear also not matte :(
Date published: 2014-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! I just love this foundation I have spares now I love it so much.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Depends on Application I bought this in Porcelain on a 50% off sale so it was only $3.00.. can't go wrong with that! When I first put it on I used E.L.F's Mineral Infused Primer and then put this foundation on with a regular foundation brush and it was leaving brush strokes on my face and not blending very well. It stayed pretty creamy instead of turning into a powered texture. I put E.L.F.'s Mineral Pressed Powder over top to dry it up a bit and it seemed to cover up the streaking and the greasy parts but it was cakey.The second time I put this on I used the sponge it comes with and let me tell you it is 100x better this way! Silly me for trying to do it otherwise haha! The sponge made it blend smoothly, no streaking, and it actually settled as a powder this time go figure!I have oily fair skin, this shade is the tiniest bit too dark but nothing that can't be fixed with Transleuscent Powder. I would recommend still using a powder over top because it doesn't quite get the powder finish all over. I prefer the acne fighting foundation from E.L.F. over this product.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not good for anyone with even mildly oily skin! I really wanted to like this product. The first time I bought it, it was a shade too dark so once I started to run out I ordered a shade lighter and it matched my skin perfectly but now I'm noticing that after a couple hours of wearing it (even with the HD powder and finishing spray on top) I start to get shiny in my t-zone and by the end of the day my whole face has a slightly more than dewy look. This is NOT MATTE! It looks sort of matte when you first put it on but after that you better keep some translucent powder in your purse! I would recommend this only for people that do not have oily skin. Other than that, the coverage is decent but I was a little sad about how much product came in the package. It didn't seem like very much to me, especially since it's about the same price as drugstore brands.
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I REALLY LIKE THIS PRODUCT This foundation is creamy and makes your face feel smooth, and I love the sponge that's included. Whats makes this product so wonderful is the easy application. If your in a rush for time you can apply 1,2,3. The color I purchased was coco. I got coco in the flawless finish so I wanted to stick with that tone. It really gives me a natural look, like I am not wearing anything which can be a good and bad thing it blends so well into my skin you really can't tell I have foundation on. I gave it a 4 star because the make-up comes off so easily. I have to be really careful if I hug someone because the make-up is ready to rub off with the slightest touch. The lock and seal or mist doesn't even help with this issue. Overall, great product I will make another purchase but may try a shade lighter hopefully it's not too light but just right.
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I liked it. but can't use it.. I really like the texture and it feels so smooth. But I can't really use it.. I wanted to use it so bad and tried few times but it's too dry for my skin. I live in dry area and even though it's summer, still too dry..The color is bit closer to pink undertone. Not yellow undertone. Wish they make some yellow undertone foundation.
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Coverage I am a caramel toned complexion and so I ordered the caramel. It was very light so I suggest that if you are my complexion to order almond or even coco. I didn't mind getting the wrong shade since I bought it during the half off sale.  I will order one of the other shades soon. I gave only 4 stars because the color swatch online is deceptive. I hope elf fixes this error. The same is true of the BB cream, the swatch is not the true shade so order at least one shade darker.
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really oily! And the colors are way lighter than they look! Does not match my skin at all!
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had to experiment a bit It has taken a few tries to make this foundation work for me, but now I'm pretty pleased with it. I'd suggest using it over moisturizer and a good primer, with a light hand to keep it from getting cakey over trouble spots. It isn't really "mattifying," but that's okay with me... matte isn't always as flattering as many people think it will be anyway. A little bit of powder in the t-zone, and I'm set.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome foundation Ladies and some men lol,  this is a great foundation. But to remind you all that buying this alone isn't going to make all your skin ailments go away. You must use moisturizer on your face and you must prime your face with a cream to hold a foundation for long periods of time. I use avveno facial moisturizer with M.a.C bb cream and then place this foundation on my skin. Once I run out of the Mac and avveno bottles I will stick with e.l.fs brands. More so cause keeping product that long cause of big bottles seems unsanitary to me. But it cost a lot and I will use them up. But to continue on my face looks gorgeous like a movie star adding in e.l.fs corrector colors after priming to be honest, then this foundation. But accept what you can't change and know everyone is beautiful xoxo sophiamaria
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Greasy! I bought this a month ago. It does offer good coverage, however it's very greasy and caused me to breakout in zits. I have not had a single zit in the last year and as soon as I started using this product I got bombarded with them. Also only stays mattified for an hour or so. If you do purchase this product do not expect to wear it all over. 
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coverage! I got this product in three different colors; Buff, caramel, and coco. Buff is a bit too light and caramel is a bit too dark. Not a big deal though. I wore them both depending on what season it was. I used coco as a cream contour color. The coverage is amazing. I have minor acne scars on my cheeks and it covered it up very nicely. The only qualms I have against this product is that they are too pink/red for me. I have a yellow undertone and it looks goofy having a pinkish face. I really have to correct the tone with powder and concealer with this product. My other problem is that it's really oily! Not mattifying at all! I was disappointed with that, but it's okay because I just used the HD powder all over my face!I would definitely repurchase this... I just wish it wasn't so pink!
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cream Foundation For Dry Skin I really like this cream foundation.  I use the color Porcelain in the Flawless Finish Foundation and use the same shade in this one too. For reference, I have fair to light skin with yellow undertones with a tendency towards dryness and sensitivity, and many products easily irritate my skin.  I found this cream foundation to be very light and soothing to my sensitive, dry skin.  I make sure to cleanse and moisturize adequately before using this or any foundation. If you have dry skin like me, a spritz of Evian water before applying moisturizer will seal in the moisture and allow the skin to absorb it quickly. I avoid dry patches by using this method of moisturizing and my moisturizer absorbs quickly with this method. Like Merlz and IrishCountryGirl26 said in their reviews previously to mine, you must first make sure to apply a primer before using this foundation.  Since I use primer religiously and have both the ybf primer and the Elf Hydrating Primer, I apply either first.  Second, definitely a little goes a long way with this foundation and you need only use a small amount for your whole face, which means the product will last a lot longer. Third, since this a medium to full coverage foundation, it's too easy to over-apply and end up with a caked mess on your face.  The best method of application, again kudos to Merlz and IrishCountryGirl26 for letting us know what works best, is to use the Elf Stipple Brush (the full size version) or any other stipple brush that you may already own to lightly tap the product onto the bristles and then dab lightly all over skin.  This will insure even application without cakiness. Then, to set the product (and you really need powder to set this foundation), use the Elf HD powder with the Elf Flat Top Brush and lightly press the brush all over your fact wherever you applied this foundation.  This gives you the coveted airbrushed look that everyone is talking about. If you buff the powder too much, it will disturb the foundation application and cause blotchiness.  That's why patting the powder on is so important with this type of foundation.The foundation lasts all day with the above method with maybe one touchup after about 4-6 hours on my nose, but very lightly with powder.  I have't had any streakiness, fading or blotchiness and the foundation really covers any redness and evens out my skin tone. I don't know how this foundation would wear on someone with oily skin as I have read that generally cream foundations are not recommended for this skin type. I no longer have oily skin since my skin has become drier as I approach perimenopause.  The upside is that I no longer have breakouts but my skin is much drier and requires special attention to stay ahead of the dryness.Hope this helps!  I really love this foundation and see myself repurchasing it when I run out.
Date published: 2014-07-05