HD Mattifying Cream Foundation is rated 3.7143 out of 5 by 133.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good color match, terrible for my combo skin I have relatively smooth skin, minus some rosacea that is cared for and at a minimum of redness. This was not good. The color matched me, and I am very pale, it just looked splotchy when I applied it. I have been using cream to powder foundations for years, and I though this would be okay. It wasn't right for me. 
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from light coverage I have dark circles under my eyes and my eyelids tend to look purple. I have been experimenting with different ways to conceal this area without emphasizing it. I have really great skin on my face and do not need foundation elsewhere except just a tiny bit to even out redness in my chin. Right now, this seems to be the most natural looking way to cover these area. I first apply ELF Mineral Primer and another light primer with brighteners; without the primer the application is too heavy. It works well applied with my fingers or with a stippling brush then blended with my fingers. Although there is still a little darkness visible through the makeup, concealers and other products I've tried look heavy and emphasize small wrinkles, aging me. This works with the overall youthful look of my skin to even out the color without looking too made up.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I had bought this online without looking at the reviews first, which was a bad idea. After I had made my order I had decided to come look at the reviews and had found that they were horrible. I ignored them because of the simple fact that im not very picky when it comes to makeup and that makeup products work differently with everyone. When I tried it out for the first time, I absolutely hated it, and this is coming from a person who doesn't have high standards when it comes to makeup. You could tell that it as oily even before you put it on your face, after about 30 minutes on my skin it looked as if it was melting off, and my face is VERY dry. I also ordered this in ivory and it made me look like a ghost, and im one of the lightest shades out there. Thank god that i got this half off for $3
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits me perfectly i bought this and other foundations, tinted moisturizers and concealers while looking for the one for me that didn't make my face look ghostly when a picture is taken with flash. i tried it on my face and it blended in so well. i couldn't tell where it started from where my face began. i will most certainly buy again! 
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product I got this foundation and it was my first cream foundation, and I love it!!!It goes from medium to full coverage. It stays for hours.The only thing is that is a little bit greasy but you put on loose powder and its perfect. Totally recommend this product. 
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my exact shade My color is coco I was happy to see that elf is starting to make darker shades. The foundation goes on smooth. It actually works better than a lot of my high end foundations. Also in order to use this foundation you have to use a good primer that works well with your skin. I would say this a medium to light coverage foundation however you can build it in to a full coverage. I also feel like this can double as a concealer , it blends seamlessly to me. To make it last throughout the days i just used a setting spray , it also does not oxidize to noticeably which is a plus. I do makeup freelance makeup from time to time and this is worth putting in my kit.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this in porcelain shade. I am usually the lightest shade but this is a little lighter than my skin tone. That is ok but I didn't like the way it emphasized all my lines (which aren't that noticeable without makeup). I tried it twice once with my fingers and once with a brush. I also applied translucent setting power over it. The coverage was pretty good. It might work for a teenager.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just ok I didn't like the way this foundation smelled. It has a funky smell. I also have dry skin and even after setting it with powder about an hour after wearing it I looked shiny! The color cocoa was a good color match for me though.
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better as a concealer, or for contouring When I received my Mattifying Cream Foundation, I was surprised to find the color was 2 shades lighter than pictured - it's difficult to find an accurate shade of foundation without seeing the actual product. It's not a true cream-to-powder, nor is it truly matte. It goes on thinly and takes a while to bond to the skin, even using ELF's brushes, primers and setting powders. Freckles will show through and you'll have a satin finish.However, I've used it as a concealer under my eyes, and even as a contour for the "triangle" zone below the eyes down to the cheekbone, and it blended well with my other foundation. I might order a darker shade and try some contouring. If you're looking for very light, liquid coverage in a non-spill form, this could work for you, remember the swatches run dark.Note: My product came with the inner pan holding the cream broken off the hinge, it doesn't affect closing the container.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome foundation For me, I didn't need any setting powder with this foundation which is really good because it cuts my prep time in half.. This foundation gave me a natural and flawless look.Oh and a little goes a long way. I will be purchasing again. 
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good most of the time I really like this foundation when my skin is moisturized and not dry.  It goes on quickly and smoothly a lot of the time.  But, when my skin is dry you can just see the make up sitting on top of my face, which doesn't look great.  Probably due to the cream to powder kind of finish. But, if you don't have dry skin, I'd definitely recommend this
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than Sephora! I recently received this product in the mail. I was extremely doubtful, considering all the hateful reviews.  I took a risk, because my normal go-to foundation was almost out.  My normal foundation is a sephora brand in which I purchased for $26 after christmas.  I'm surprised to say that this $6 foundation is the BEST I've ever purchased.  I'm way more please with this than sephora's.  The coverage is extraordinary. 100% recommended. 
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage and color match I have only used this twice but I love it. Great coverage and dries to a nice, matte finish. I ordered in Almond and the match is very good. 
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really oily It's really oily and barely covers, fades really fast. 
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent value I have dry skin and this foundation just glides on and looks fabulous..Buffs out with a stipple brush beautifully. And the price is right. Very pleased with all of ELF's foundations.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! Just bought this foundation and I absolutely love it. First, I've never had a foundation that matched my skin tone so perfectly. Also, it goes on incredibly smooth and provides great coverage. Definitely part of my everyday routine now.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely I've been using a higher end foundation by Tarte the Amazonian Clay one and I loved that stuff, but recently I squeezed my last drop out of my tube and I figured it is time to venture out and find another foundation. I decided to get porcelain and sand. I am glad I got both of the colors because porcelain is too light and sand is too dark, but once you mix them together it gives me the color I need. These go on smoothly and they're not sticky. My skin can also breathe and it feels like I am not wearing any foundation at all. This foundation reminds me of my beloved Tarte foundation. $40 vs $12 (two foundations to get my shade) isn't that bad of a deal, but I wish you got more in the little pan of the HD ELF foundation. That is the only con I have with this product. The pros are the nice mirror and the puff applicator when you lift up the foundation part. I won't use the puff since it uses too much of the product and you're already not getting a lot in this foundation anyways, but it is a nice when you are out and you need to touch up your makeup and you don't have a brush. I love this foundation and I am actually placing another order, so I can have a back up. Also, I want to add this is a medium to heavy coverage foundation. I don't have skin problems like I use to (teenage acne), but I do have some redness around my nose and this foundation covered it up nicely. 
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible i bought this because i love their oil free liquid foundation and thought that it would be similar but i was wrong i got the same color that i normally get the liquid foundation in and the colors were off and also the product seemed to cake onto my face...i like a natural look so i apply very little makeup but it looked so bad when i was done with it...i threw the product away because it was that bad and the coverage is very heavy
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This is a perfect foundation for me and I expect the majority of other women out there. It's easy to apply (and you don't need a lot). I use a stipple brush and just dab it in then blend. Add powder or no depending. My shade in the winter months is buff and summer months caramel.
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great foundation all around!!! Been using this product for sometime and I'm coming back to buy more. I have sensitive skin and large pores and using this leaves a smooth porcelain finish to my face. It doesn't clog the pores either and it glides easy when applying. Great all around. Lasts all day and best if you apply with a mineral powder lightly to set. I'm light Asian/Latin and I use Sand. What an absolute gem! I love it!
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Merle Norman! I love this makeup, it doesn't rub off like Merle Norman does on the phone. It goes on smooth and is shine free. I don't need powder at all. I absolutely love it!
Date published: 2014-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome just wish daughter would not steal it I bought this for myself and love it. my only complaint is my daughter loves it too, therefore she keeps stealing mine. LOL No seriously this is a great product and we both love it.
Date published: 2014-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps me matte almost all day I love that this is so easy to apply and keeps me shine free throughout the day. this is one of my favorite elf products.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Colors run darker than shown Great foundation, but the colors on the computer are a little off. I ordered 'Buff' b/c usually a beige or lighter goes w/ my skins tones. This color was really dark compared to other biegie foundations. I have ordered the next shade down. I really like the way the creamy texture feels on my skin, & with the primer underneath it, the skin make up looks very professional. To tone down the color I used my E.L.F. Body Glow. Here I am wearing all ELF products minus the eye shadows. The lighting in the Kitchen is way to bright. But here's an idea of the foundation.
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from allergic reaction :( I got this product the other week and was disappointed. Granted, I have sensitive combination skin with dry patches. After having it on for 5 minutes My eyes started to itch really bad so I washed it off and had swollen eyes the rest of the night. So if you have very sensitive skin I would steer clear of this product. It was a nice silky texture but just wasn't for me.
Date published: 2014-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just Okay I really liked the full coverage and soft effect this foundation gave me, and I mixed the colors Buff and Sand for a perfect match. My problem with this product is that even with a oil free or matte primer, it seems to rub off and just vanish from my face in under an hour. I won't be repurchasing it again.
Date published: 2014-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goes on smoothly, evens skin tone. I really love this mattifying foundation. Normally I use BB cream or tinted moisturizer but it makes my face shiny. This is the perfect balance for that. The sponge is soft and applies the foundation lightly. It makes my face look "matte", just as advertised. It may take awhile to set. I used the definition powder on top and noticed some foundation came off on the powder puff. Overall, it makes my face look smooth and even, like a picture. The shine is gone and my pores appear smaller. The color blends perfectly even though I didn't use it over my whole face. It's a remarkable product.
Date published: 2014-02-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too creamy I just bought this today and I was really hoping to like this considering the price and all the other reviews i saw on here. Well i was very disappointed. I am hispanic and so i have a darker skin tone and so i bought the color "buff". It makes my face look like i have dark spots all over and it does not turn to powder at all but stays creamy the whole time. Makes ur face feel very heavy and is not a good applicator at all. I am going to attempt to return this product and if not just going to throw it away. Only good thing was i didn't spend a fortune on it.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst foundation I ever tried. It's slimy and melts right off. I can't get it to set... primer, powder, spray... and it still migrates around my face, especially into pores and wrinkles. What a mess.
Date published: 2014-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! I just got this product in the mail and I LOVE it.  I have a hard time matching foundations with my skin tone.  I ordered this in porcelain and I was nervous it was going to be orange.  For some reason on my skin most foundation shows up orange.  This went on and blended in perfectly.  This was the exact color I needed and I couldn't be happier.  I also purchased the large stippling brush and applied the foundation with it and it went on amazingly.  It has great coverage.  I don't even feel like I have foundation on. 
Date published: 2014-04-14