HD Mattifying Cream Foundation is rated 3.8626865671641792 out of 5 by 335.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This foundation is smooth and creamy and dries within a few minutes to a fine, soft finish that looks very natural. With this foundation, I had a very even-looking skin tone and lost a bit of pinkness in my skin which really made my blush pop. It lasted for hours on my oily skin, but it didn't migrate into any creases or valleys on my face. It's creamy enough that somewhat dry skin would also work well with this product. If your skin is somewhat rough or occasionally flaky, I would probably skip this product for a liquid as I think the powder finish wouldn't be flattering to skin that needs a more moisturizing product. But this worked very well for me! A light application of this product is all you need for a natural, fresh face. I just lightly swirled the included sponge pad in the foundation to load the product, dabbed my face on my cheeks, forehead, and chin, and blended until it was even. I couldn't feel it on my face throughout the day, but occasional mirror checks showed me that my foundation was still in place. The sponge is enclosed in a separate compartment underneath the foundation so it isn't constantly swirling around in the product. The compact is fairly heavy duty and sturdy, giving this the appearance of a much more expensive product. It's also paraben-free (as of now), and it didn't irritate my eyes or skin and didn't break me out. If I could give this a sixth star, I would.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Made my skin look extremely oily I bought this because it said it was mattifying but it's the complete opposite. I have oily skin but I can usually control it pretty well with finishing powder. But when I put this on, it made my face SO oily, I've never seen it so oily before. And it didn't really soak into my skin, it kind of just sat on top of my skin so anytime I accidentally bumped my face the foundation would come right off. I was so disappointed with this product because I like elf products. I threw it away that same day because I did not want to have to deal with that again.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this foundation! I like the texture and it applies and blends nicely. Covers what I want to cover but it doesn't feel like I'm buried in foundation. I get a matte finish when applied, I use it with a primer and it works well. Very pleased with this formula!
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from e.l.f. HD Mattifying Cream Foundation {IN COCO} Beautiful finish and it blends well with my skin however, I don't believe this is really "matte" as it is creamy with my Combination Skin. It's a great purchase I must admit but I need to ask for Beauty Advice: should I use a really great Primer to ease the shine?
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage and feel! I spritz some revitalizing most on it and then applied and omg it went on sooooo beautifully! I have combination skin and an oily t zone and this stuff leveled out my face texture! AMAZING!
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Value I ordered this and got the lightest color, which matches well for me. However, I don't think it's mattifying. If I don't use a mineral makeup over top it definitely doesn't stay and my face is extremely shiny/oily. But, with the mineral makeup over top it does ok.
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too orange Bought this a month-ish ago, got porcelain as I'm quite pale with pink undertones.. You'd think I'd bought the darkest one, its SO orange! And thats porcelain! Please give us something with pink undertones, Elf!
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Try their other foundations I used this after the powder foundation was unavailable. This one applies very uneven and will not blend. It is shiny. I tried to do a single layer over my face and it looked really bad. I thought this would apply easily, as I've tried other brands in the same type of format, but I tried the sponge that came with it plus I also tried applying it with a brush or a beauty blender. It was like it was too thick and wouldn't even out. Maybe I will risk it and try a different ELF foundation. I don't understand how this has so many positive reviews...On the plus(?) side, it came off with just wet tissue.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great texture! The coverage is pretty good, and matches my skin perfectly. It is actually matte.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I've been buying this product for a good while now, I switched over from more expensive brands that worked practically the same. I use the color Sand, I have light skin. It works really well, lasts for the majority of the day, and I have VERY long days. I do notice that the coverage lasts longer when paired with elf's primer, also it can get a bit oily (not for everyone but I work in hot temperatures), but I quickly fixed that with elf's mattifying powder, haven't have that problem since. I actually get compliments on how well my makeup holds up throughout my work day. One con I have about it is that I find that the case breaks kind of easily, not a huge problem and it tends to happen just when I'm ready to buy a new one anyways. Again, it lasts me all day and I rarely even have to touch up between getting off from work and going to class. I'm very happy with this product and the value is just so great!
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised 1st purchased almost 2 months ago. Wasn't sure if I liked it. Thought it would be too oily. Put it aside, trying to use up my $38 IT CC. Tried it again and realized it appears oily but once applied w/sponge it blends nicely, isn't oily, didn't settle into my over-60 face. Sponge w/compact makes application quick and clean! Very glad I gave it another chance! Won't be buying IT CC again. Good product and great price!
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sweet rediscovered treasure okay, so I bought this in the shade Buff almost a year ago. I've used it 2 times and I wasn't impressed, mostly because I thought the shade was too dark for me. I was going through my makeup again because I noticed all my foundations weren't fitting me well (it's summer) so I decided to try this again and omg I fell in love. I used a flat top kabuki brush and buffed it in and paired it with the ELF HD loose powder in corrective yellow to set. it is medium to full coverage, it lasted throughout the day in 80 degree weather with 70% humidity. at the end of the day I did notice some shine on my nose but not a lot like I usually would have but bare in mind that my T zone is oily. this will be my go to foundation for the rest of the summer.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the foundation, hate the container. I love this foundation! It goes on smoothly and lasts all day. It doesn't rub off onto clothes and surfaces. 100% coverage, no concealer needed. My only issue is that the pin that holds the compact together ALWAYS breaks .
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As good as chanel The color choices look limited but it blends so well not your skin it doesn't matter. The color I ordered looked darker than I wanted but was perfect. Good coverage, natural, love it
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the finished look! Bought this product recently and love it. I had been using the mineral powder but wanted something that didn't highlight flaws after a day on the go. This product works great with my skin. Goes on smooth, and lasts all day.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend! This foundation makes my face so even and not shiny at all. Cheap and easy to apply.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It makes my skin look blotchy and flaky Has anyone else found what looks like "water drops" on their foundation when they first opened it? Mine looked completely wet which made me hesitant to try it but I convinced myself that it was nothing bad or serious so I tried it and it made my skin look blotchy and dry even though I have combination skin. I am returning this product.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love!!! I am hooked on this stuff! Has amazing staying power...I feel flawless when I wear it. And super quick to apply and blends well. I don't even feel greasy after a long hot summer day! Amazing! My only con would be that for some reason it drys out my under eye...so have to stop using it ever once in a while for a bit so I try to avoid that area when I apply now. Not sure if it's just my skin or something with the formula that causes it...no other foundation I've used ever does that. Oh well still love it!
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost as good as my previous cream to powder I used to use a cream to powder foundation made by a famous but not cruelty free company. It was the only foundation that worked for me. I tried various other types of foundation, but they were just not the same. Then a twitter friend recommended the ELF version. I am very happy with the texture and coverage of the foundation. The one thing I would say is the porcelain shade is slightly darker than I would like. In the old brand, the lightest shade, also called porcelain was perfect for me and had neutral undertones.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product, I bought many products to my friends
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Elf's HD line Been ordering this product for a few years now. Glides on, great coverage, great finish, and I never break out even when I use it daily. Excellent quality and good quantity for less money!
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The truth about this product It does not do what it says it does. Not Mattifying at all and not full coverage. However... It gives you a natural glowy look. Looks like your skin but better look. I have dry skin and i love it. If you have oily skin you definetly need to add powder or setting powder. It's perfect for an every day look. I use my real techniques buffing brush and I find it works better than the sponge it comes with.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price Very blendable, and great coverage, but after a long day at work, i got a bit blotchy and shiny. Great for ordinary use though.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Foundation, ONLY FOUNDATION I have never tried a foundation because I have always had problems with my skin. Whether it was too dry or too oily I never thought that I would be able to wear a foundation without it causing my skin to be too oily or break out.I have to say this is MAGIC. It goes on like a foundation/cream but within a minute it is already MATTE and looking like a powder. After applying the foundation I finish it off with the E.L.F. skin balancing mineral pearls (which by the way if you do not have, YOU NEED; I replaced my bare minerals powder with this powder and it only costs $8 and works better then any other powder ever!)Anyways this foundation hides my acne when I have it, but still makes my face look matte and natural without having that "oh my god cake face look." Even when I am breaking out extra the layering factor is easy with this foundation. I LOVE IT!I am never going back to using just powder. I use this with the Hydrating Primer, then the HD mattyifying foundation, then the mineral pearls skin balancing powder, and it lasts ALL DAY without having to touch up. I will never switch. E.L.F. PLEASE NEVER DISCONTINUE THIS.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing coverage! This is the only foundation I want to use, the color is a perfect match, it covers up all my scarring and discoloration, it's easy to put on, it doesn't irritate my skin. Thank you for an amazing product!
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works I started using two weeks ago and it works good so far but I'm waiting for summer to see how will do...
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Coverage, Cheap Packaging I love this foundation. I've received many compliments on my skin ever since I began using it. It offers excellent, all day coverage. I wish they had more color choices. I have to mix my foundation with a lighter color in order to achieve my desired tone. The only negative review is that the plastic is cheap and the compact literally falls apart after a couple weeks of use. I've even attempted to provide a small pouch to keep it closed and in place, but the latch holding it together always falls apart leaving me to have to tape it together or secure it together by other means.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this pruduct! It have worked so great for me and it really does give you a matte look
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not good for my skin This product definitely has good, buildable coverage, I just have larger pores and normal-dry skin so it made my face look cakey. Do not get his if you have dry skin. But otherwise, go for it.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the best I bought this a few months back and I was really wanting something that would go on matte. However, this product DOES NOT go on matte or dry out to matte at all! I have combination skin and even on the normal to dry skin patches of my face, this did not look matte at all. It appears oily and makes your face overly dewy and if you're like me and don't like the dewy look, stay away from this!!! You will look oily! I tried so hard to work with this for a long time but I gave up. I had to keep reapplying powder to mattify this. The only thing that I will say is that the packaging is not bad at all and the big mirror is really nice. They're just wasted on this formula.
Date published: 2016-01-17