Loose Eyeshadow is rated 2.7568 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of money I normally love elf products...but I got 5 of these...and get NO Color from ANY of them....so disappointing! 
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use it as a liner, not as an eyeshadow! Loooove the colors of these...very creamy formula but...not as an eyeshadow, the aplicator is way too small...instead I use it only as a liner on my upper lash line, but the best way is to USE IT as close as possible on your lower lash line...it makes your eyes POP POP POP! Since the applicator is rounded you dont need to smudge the color...and you will get a perfect smokey line every time! try it...you will love it :) (the blue is super vibrant). 
Date published: 2014-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Actually Like This But Description is Misleading I actually like this a lot but as the title has mentioned, the description for it was misleading. It says that it gives an "intense wash of color" and so a lot of customers are assuming that this would be a highly pigmented eyeshadow that pops. It *is* pigmented, but the colors are somewhat muted and don't really pop. But I like variety, so when I tried this out, I adjusted to it pretty quickly and appreciated it's softer wash of color and is kind of like applying a cream eyeshadow.It doesn't last very long without anything underneath, but I apply a primer or base and then apply it and it lasts for about 4 hours this way on me before reapplication. The color selection is pretty good as all the colors work well worn alone but also complement each other in combination. Application itself took some getting used to because of the springy sponge tip but not difficult to figure out.The only thing I didn't I like about this is the flimsy packaging. Other people have complained about this and I would have to chime in on this as well: The cap cracked on one of them and I wasn't even apply a whole lot of pressure. So I have to cautious to be extra gentle when loading the sponge tip. I like everything else about it.So overall, I think this is a great product and do recommend this to others. I hope e.l.f. will come out with more colors for this!
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor pigmentation I really really wanted to love these eyeshadows. I got them in Lilac and Pear, and I was really excited the second I ordered them. Then I got them, and I was pretty disappointed. Even a swatch on my hand with primer barely got any color. I'm pretty sad about it. I don't know if maybe the pigment is packed too tight in the container, or if it's dried up, but it barely shows.
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from awful This hardly deposits any eye shadow no matter what you do - it's either dried up inside the tube or just really, really cheap.  Don't waste your two dollars.
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great idea! I bought rock candy, pear and pancakes. Rick candy is the only one that has some issues showing up. I don't use eye primer so it creases on my lid. The caps cracked on all of them but I still use them! The eye shadow lasts forever! I love this idea! No mess and quick and easy for on the run.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like it I did not read the reviews before purchasing this product...and I am glad that I didn't.. I really like this product... I like a softer sheer color on my lids... more natural looking... and I can throw it in my purse for a touch up or to darken the color for the evening... If you push the applicator into the lid and turn it counterclockwise, you get lots of color to apply, and if not, just apply more than once if you want darker coverage...
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product! After reading the reviews, I still wanted to give it a try anyway. I figured even if it's a fail it's cheap enough. :c) I'm so glad I tried it! You do have to pick up shadow from the cap a few times during use, but it's definitely easy to you and the pigment is FANTASTIC!! I got the purple. I think I'm going to get the black today!
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from great idea, poor execution I have bought several, one worked, the other didn't. Thinking this was just a fluke I bought several more on a half off sale, and the same thing happened. They are very hit or miss. But, when they work they are awesome!
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't understand the hate I purchased this in pear despite the less than favorable reviews, and I'm glad I did! The applicator isn't bad at all, although it doesn't pick up much product (which may be a good thing). The shadow is sheer and provides buildable coverage. The shade was lovely without being too bold. Also, it was not at all messy like many loose shadows are.  
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT WHAT IT SAYS IT IS i bought this product without looking at any reviews and was very excited to try it out. Once i got it i noticed that not much product was coming out so i looked online to see if i was doing something wrong. After seeing all these reviews i decided to take my small conceler brush and try to loosen the product but when i did that i discovered that this is not a loose eyeshadow at all but rather a cream shadow. This is probably why the sponge doesnt bring up any product.
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great I use mine over eyeliner or under and it makes it stay longer and adds shine and sparkle, they are fun colors and I really them, my favorite is blue icing, its just gorgeous
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good Idea, Poor Execution I liked the idea of innovative product, but the packaging really makes it basically useless. Like everyone else, I had a hard time getting enough of the product on the small sponge to cover my lid and I am no novice. The sponge is pointy and uncomfortable on my eye. I don't like to be that harsh on my eye area, but there is no good way to apply the shadow. The only use I can see for these is as a shadow liner or inner corner highlight, but it's almost impossible and certainly impracticable to use as shadow all over the lid. The packaging is also really thin and cheap, so be careful when you twist the cap because it will crack. All in all a total fail.
Date published: 2014-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed in ELF I bought this about a month ago, and I was afraid, based on all the negatie reviews. Now, I look back, thinking the product was a defect, to see what everyone else says. I agree, the mechanism and practibility is horrible The sponge is on a spring, so when ever you take of the cap, it springs out. All the eyeshadow is tightly packed at the bottom of the cap, so you can't get any out. The sponge is so tiny, it just doesn't work putting it on.
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Innovative and unique I ordered this in Pear and I love it! It's so innovative, I really don't know why it has so many negative reviews. It's not the most pigmented eyeshadow ever and it does apply a little bit at a time but once you build it up, it is so shiny and really makes your eye pop. Now the color was a lot lighter in person than in the picture, so just imagine a lighter shade of whatever color you order to be what you'll actually get, but other than that it's really nice and I love the little applicator. Mess free, beautifully bright eyeshadow, love it! Can't wait to order more!
Date published: 2013-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wish I could say it was good! I really wish I could tell you that this is a great eye shadow, because most of elf's eye shadows are great! Unfortunately, however, I couldn't even get enough product out to decide whether or not the eye shadow was good. The eye shadow (which claims to be loose, but is actually packed very tightly into the cap) is impossible to get out. The cap unscrews and the sponge is on a long springy stick, so you can't put enough pressure to get the eye shadow out, and you can't get all the way to it because it's at the bottom of the cap. And once you do get a little out, the sponge is too tiny to apply it well at all! 
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Most definitely not a fan. After reading several mixed reviews on this product, I finally just decided to try this for myself and see what I thought. I did purchase these during a sitewide sale, and even at the low price I'm glad that did not pay full price for them.The only good thing I can say about them is that the colors are very beautiful and IF you can get enough product they are well pigmented. But I just had way too many issues with the container/applicator.To start, the sponge is very small and inconvenient to apply to the whole eyelid. It is also impossible to get an even application using it. I was having a lot of difficulty getting enough product even onto the sponge, and when I tried the "pencil sharpener" maneuver mentioned in another review, the portion containing the product started CRACKING. I was hoping it was just isolated and I received one faulty, but this began happening with several of them. I think if I were able to use my own brushes to apply it, I would not have so many issues with it, but they made it nearly impossible to get into it with a brush. Usually when I get a product I dislike, I can shrug it off since it was such a low price, but I can't even look at this one as a value since you get so little eyecolor. They make it look like you get a lot, but most of it is the applicator.I most definitely will not be repurchasing or recommending this product. Sorry ELF, this one is a fail.
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I wasn't going to give this a try based on some of the negative reviews, then reality kicked in and I realized....it's two bucks!  Seriously, there's not one thing of elf's that's NOT worth trying for the price!  Who cares if someone else hates it because it was messy or hard to apply or whatever?!  Hello girls!!!  It's the most inexpensive, yet, freakin' awesome cosmetic line out there!  If you don't like something, ohmigosh...you might be out a couple of bucks...I've wasted more money on a bad cup of coffee and I'm sure you have, too!   C'mon!  Give it a go if you're thinking you just might like to try it.  This item or any of the others.  I buy this stuff like mad for my nieces, co-workers and anyone else I can think of because it's, pretty much, all really great product at an incredibly low price.  Just enjoy :)  By the way, I bought the darkest shade in this loose eye shadow stick and use it as a smudgey eyeliner and absolutely love it.  Easy to apply, the sponge applicator loads well, as long as you screw it all the way back on (be careful not to screw too tight though or you'll crack the cover), stays on all day, yet comes off easy. . . .and I actually believe I bought this very expensive $2 (yes, I'm being a sarcastic saucy-pants!) shadow stick when it was on sale for 50 % off...Honestly, those who complain about any of these items maybe shouldn't be spending their time and/or money on this website.  I'm not wealthy, by any stretch of the imagination, I'm a single mom of two boys, one who has a traumatic brain injury, I'm a police officer and I work extremely hard for my paycheque, so believe me, I'm careful where I spend my money, but, I have never been able to find any cosmetic line that is this inexpensive, yet rivals the quality of any high priced line (like Lancome, Estee Lauder and Elizabeth Arden, which I've tried, usually when received as a gift).  Apology's for the long winded review, it's my first product review even though I've been purchasing for a couple of years now (and pretty sure I've tried every single item)...and I just had to get that rant off my chest.  Sent with nothing but good vibes and well wishes for all because life is just to short to complain about the little stuff :)
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works so great!!!!!!!! I dont know why it seems not working well on other people. But this product works very well on me. It is easy to apply and pigmented. I want to give 5 stars but the only reason why I gave 4 instead is I prefer matte. The shimmer makes my eyes look puff.
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS!!!! I bought this in rock candy, and pansy. I know a lot of other people don't like this but, I LOVE it! It is not too pigmented, but that is perfect for me. I own quite a bit of e.l.f products, but this is by far my favorite! I hope they make a few more colors though.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible I thought this looked so great and decided to try it. It was horrible to apply and then creased terribly. I am an avid ElF user and have never been this unhappy with a product. I threw it away after one use.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from i got all the colors what a waste! I got all the colors because it looked so awesome online and when I got them what a disappointment! There was no pigmentation at all! I tried everything to get the product of out the tube but NOTHING worked. This is one of those tragic misses! I usually love most of the elf products I get and I have almost the whole collection but this product gets two thumbs down!
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cool concept, poor execution There are a lot of things I like about this product. I think it's a really cool concept and these would be super easy to carry around while travelling to avoid bulky individual eyeshadows or palettes. I got three colours: pancakes, honey and lilac, and they are all beautiful and look really nice on. However, when they arrived, the pancakes one was broken. The cap was cracked and wouldn't screw on properly, so the product is now spilling out and is going to dry up fast. It is basically useless. I am noticing cracks in the honey one as well, and the lilac one doesn't even look like it has any product in it. Overall, I purchased more of these just because they are so convenient. Hopefully they won't be damaged or dried out this time. I have never really had a bad experience with elf packaging before so I am feeling optimistic. These are just made of cheap, flimsy plastic, though.
Date published: 2013-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good I got this in the color blue icing. I only bought one just to try it out and got it for half off so I got a pretty good deal. The color is a beautiful bright blue, it goes on smooth, and is very pigmented. I noticed many reviewers had issues with getting product on the brush... I am lucky because it went on easily for me (maybe some of the other colors have issues and I lucked out with the blue I got). I found if I just try to dip the little spring loaded smudger brush in the lid/shadow it does not pick up any product, but if I screw the lid all the way on each time it works perfectly. This might annoy some people, but I find it a lot less messy then most loose powder, and plan to get more colors.
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not too hard once you figure it out. The other reviews say that this is difficult to apply and that not a lot of product gets on the sponge but I don't really have that problem. I have the colors honey and pancakes and to apply them I don't dip the sponge in like the directions say. What I've found works best is place the sponge in so that it's pressed into the color and then twist the cap back and forth like you're sharpening a pencil or chalking a pool cue. Do this for a few seconds then pull the sponge out and you're ready to go. By using this method i was able to get the coverage I wanted and I did both my eyes with only 2-3 dips in each color and the entire process took me seven minutes tops. Also, be sure to rotate the sponge while you're applying because all sides of the sponge will have picked up an equal amount of color this way. This is a great product once you know how to use it, and I do plan on getting more colors. I hope this review will be able to help those that were having trouble with the application.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great product but terrible application I hate giving new products bad reviews because I feel like I'm discouraging e.l.f., haha. But the application of this is just ridiculous. Very little product gets on the sponge, and I have to apply over and over to get the coverage I want. As a last resort, I dug out a bit of the product from the cap and it's actually really good stuff, so smooth and silky that it's more like a mousse than a powder. Very pigmented but you'd never know that if you just use the applicator... I would love to see this in a pot or just with a bigger, easier applicator. Once you get enough onto your eyelid, the color is great. See below for a better idea of what size they are and a couple of swatches: Honey on the left, Peach Pie on the right (LOVE this color).
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it it doesn't work well have to keep reapplying to get any coverage at all. Very disappointed in this product.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this! I love this product! Not very much does come out, but it's so perfect for travel! I can just stick it in my purse and do touch up's whenever I want! It's so easy and perfect!! I will but again.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wanted this to work SOOO BADLY!!! I was so excited to see these and try them! But they were such a disappointment. I got nearly every color, save for 2 I think and each one isn't worth it! They are very thin, about the thinkness of and eyeliner pen or pencil. They are also only about 4 inches tall as well. I think these would be good if the packaging were different. They work by using a retractible, spring-loaded sponge tip. The lid screws on and the shadow is stored in the lid. As the lid screws on, the sponge brush goes in and picks up pigment that way. The only issue is that very little shadow actually gets on the brush. There are other companies with products like this out that do a MUCH better job of packaging it so that it works. If I were to use this as a main eyeshadow, I would spend 20 minutes trying to get enough product out to be useful and make enough color show up. Basically, don't waste your money until ELF can fix the packaging. They need to just put the shadow in a tube, like a lipgloss tube, and have the sponge tip go in as it would in a lipgloss tube. That way you can get more product out at a time. I would not recommend this until they fix it.
Date published: 2013-09-14