Baked Eyeshadow Palette is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 387.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Colors, But Takes Effort So, I bought this in California at a grocery store recently for $10. Not a bad deal, but I am slightly disappointed in it. To really get any kind of strong pigment and smoothness, you absolutely MUST wet each shadow and then rub (in a circular motion) on it. I'm attaching a picture of what each shadow looks like when swatched that way, with water and a finger. This is NOT a dry brush shadow. It can't even be picked up on the brush when I swirl hard and push down. Very disappointing, but the color payoff when it's used wet is well worth it. It does seem like I'll need to keep putting it on with my fingers, but maybe once I wear down the shadows I can use a brush. The wet shadow is amazingly creamy, smooth, and pigmented. The lightest colors (the ones near my elbow and my wrist) are pretty hard to see, even wet, but make good highlighters. I'm overall pretty please with the palette, and for $10 I don't feel like I wasted anything. Just beware and be warned that this is NOT a dry brush shadow. Wet fingers or wet, stiff brushes only!
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed but... I just recieved this as a gift for the holidays, and I was somewhat disppointed wth this product. I tried to swatch it, and it was as hard as a rock. Nothing was coming off, only if i dug into it with my nail.But, if you dip your brush in water and use it that way, it works great. That is the only reason why I have rated this product with 2 stars.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Way too hard I was so disappointed when I tried this palette.It is so hard to apply that I have to scratch the color with my nail to have some powder on my brush.Not pigmented at all. I love ELF, but this product is a NO NO! The only thing that makes me happy about this is that it was cheap, so I am not so sad to throwing it away.
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love elf but disappointed I really do love elf products. The products are absolutely amazing for the price given.. But I was very sadly disappointed in this specific one. I feel I basically wasted money since the eyeshadow doesn't even go on to my brush . I had to break the shadow up to use it at all .the description given was "silky" but it felt like dry hard dirt. The colours are absolutely beautiful it is just really sad that there is basically no pigment whatsoever. I will continue to buy elf products but I will not be purchasing this one again. Sorry :(
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No pigment at all with these. I have other eyeshadows that i love, but this product doesn't even show up on my eyes- even the darker colors just look shimmery.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I expected. I really, really, really love elf. For the price point and quality they can't be beat. (And they're cruelty free!) But the California pallet just did not do it for me. The shadows are difficult to build up even when applying them wet, seem rock hard and muddy up during blending. I haven't given up on it totally, but I don't see much use for this particular pallet.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lovely colours i bought this pallet while on holiday and it only cost me $10...was worth it. the colours are great and they blend really well. TIP!! if you wish the colours to go on darker then use a wet brush to apply these. they go on a lot stronger.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! These are even prettier in person! I was a little worried about how these would go on after reading some of the reviews but even as a beginner they're super easy to apply and blend. I will be trying all of these palettes!
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply beautiful! This palette gets bad reviews for no reason at all. I ordered the Texas, but recently also bought California and Seattle. Just use wet brushes and the effect will be mesmerizing- even applying dry for a subtle look works wonders. I haven't seen such beautiful colors or satin texture in a low-cost product, but this is simply perfect. I don't recommend using more than 3 colors at the same time, but for my palette, the colors work very well together 2 or 3 at a time. The pigments complement each other amazingly. I am honestly struggling to find flaws in this product other than it being small, just like pretty much all elf products, but a little goes a long way! I got this on sale during a 50% off promotion, and it is definitely worth it for 5 bucks. I have very light skin and the lighter colors work perfectly as naturals, and the white can be used as a highlighter. It should last a full day/night- I swatched it on my fingertips and the color was still there even after a few washes.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Pigmentation I got this as a free gift and am glad that I did! Not as easy to apply as some of the other eyeshadow, but I'm impressed with the pigmentation once I put it on. The colours aren't as vibrant as they look on the palette, but I like it. Favourite eyeshadow so far. Does not go on streaky, and the colours shimmer beautifully.
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Sparkle Received this as a free gift with my e.l.f order. I am generally not a fan of baked eyeshadows, however these are beautiful. Like other baked eyeshadows there is a thin protective layer that you need to work through before getting to the color, once you've broken through to the color these shadows are gorgeous. I've found that using a damp eyeshadow brush is the best way to apply and you can layer the color to create super dramatic looks or just highlight an everyday look. With an eyeshadow primer and setting spray the color lasts all day and into the evening.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not my favorite I got this free with a promo and the color are so pretty.. BUT the texture is like sand paper and its no pigmented what so ever.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 0/10 I have tried some good elf products, but this is not one of them. There is no pigment at all. I did try using a wet brush and that did not help.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks Arn't Everything I got this free with a promotion recently and loved the colors! Unfortunately the colors art as strong on your eye lids and you would like them to be! Im a huge fan of the baked eyeshadows but these didn't seem to have much color. You have to either apply a smudge pot color first or really pack on the shadow.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully Pigmented I struggled with this palette at first (wasn't aware I was supposed to wet my brush). The shadow didn't catch on my brush or finger. Then I gave it a little rub and it worked beautifully. It has such a bright shimmer to it which really illuminates the eyes. You can use one color casually or mix with others for a dramatic effect. The only downside is it can be a bit messy because it's so pigmented. Other than that, it's great!
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from last 4 are all black no difference between 4/5 shades on bottom all black.pink and silver wayyyyyyyyy to glittery, and everything no transfer unless it is fall out shimmer,
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad IF you use it right. USE A WET EYESHADOW BRUSH. Many of you are just using your fingers or a dry brush. Baked eyeshadow is much different. Use a wet brush and you won't be as disappointed. However, there is much better baked eyeshadows out there. I don't believe I will repurchase this, seeing as I hardly use it anyways.
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible I bought this at my local Walmart planned on using it for my wedding makeup but it is absolutely terrible it has no color payoff using the brush or my fingers I even thought well maybe if I scrape a little off it will work but no it don't II would be OK if it had a like color but literally when I rub my fingers over the shadows there is no color barley even any sparkle and my Walmart would not take it back and refund me
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor pigment I literally had to dig my nails to get some colour out of it :( I was looking forward to this but now its here, it's such a disappointment :(
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor pigment The pigment is terribly. Looks great when on your hand but on your eyes it's just dust.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing Coverage, Pretty Colors The colors in this palette were lovely. With a LOT of elbow grease and moisture I was able to get nice color from this set, but in the end it just isn't worth the fight. Some people seem to have good luck, and some don't. Perhaps the formula has changed. I tried multiple brushes as well. I wouldn't chance it.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No pigmentation!! Absolutely horrible! The eyeshadow has almost NO pigmentation, I've tried applying this product numerous times but have yet to see good results. I will literally drag my brush across the color 40 times and still get very little color. I wish I didn't open up the packaging so eagerly so I could have returned the product and get my money back. I would be satisfied if I could possibly get my money back or exchange the product some how. Until then I'm a very unhappy customer and won't be buying from this company ever again.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't stick to any brush I love the colors but it literally doesn't stick to any brush I use. In order to get any sort of pigment onto my eye I have to rub my finger across the color about 10-15 times before it shows up on my finger, then I can transfer it to my eye. I'm wondering if it needs to be broken in or if I got a bad batch? I see some reviews are awesome and other reviews like this one I'm giving now so maybe they had a whole bad batch? No idea. But the colors do look lovely once I can finally get it on my eye
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful I got the California pallet and the colors apply perfectly dry or wet, the colors are also very pigmented
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value I purchased this product to try something new. It's great!!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only Good For the Mirror I bought this palette and was pretty hopeful, as I've heard many good things on Youtube about e.l.f. baked shadows and highlighters. Getting the palette, all the shadows are hard as rocks. I understand the concept of a baked palette, but these eye shadows do not show up wet or dry. I've tried multiple brushes from 3 separate brands that work well for me otherwise, and my fingers to no avail. I can get streaks of lighter shades to show up, but even then I have more fallout than product left on my eyes. I adore the mirror and try to use it as often as possible to sooth the wound of it's $10 cost. I love e.l.f., I love what they do, but I could not be more disappointed in this palette.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no pigmentation This is the worst palette I have ever purchased. No matter how many times I try with it, I can never get ANY color to show up on my lids. Even if I wet my brush. I was so disappointed. Skip this one.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor excuse for a pallet Bought this and it is literally the WORST thing i have ever bought in my 24 years of living. The colors aren't pigmented, not even one. I tried to do a swatch on my arm of each color and none of them showed at all. Elf needs to step up their game and quit putting out trash. The packaging is nice but the eyeshadows are horrible
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use a wet brush This is the actually the best eyeshadow I've ever used. I was skeptical because of the reviews. But, once I lightly dipped my brush in water, I realized just how amazing and gorgeous these are. Once I apply it, it lasts throughout my entire workday and well into the evening, even without a primer. I've ordered and used all four pallets and this stuff lasts forever. My first one, which I use daily, with mostly browns, I have had for well over a year.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I loved the elf individual eye shadows I've owned in the past so I figured I might as well get the pallet. So disappointed. Not pigmented at all! Waste of money.
Date published: 2016-10-03