Makeup Lock & Seal is rated 4.3386 out of 5 by 189.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from leaks from the bottle I am new to E.L.F products and this is my second order placed....I wanted ti try there lock and seal out..because I fill in my brows and have oily skin and the tip of my brow always off. But when I received it the bottle was almost empty...it leaked all over the inside of the package...and to make it worse the gift set I bought my daughter one of the polishes leaked out a was all over the inside of the package... I plan on sending an email about it...just wanted you guys to know before u ordered what to expect if you order these products. The gift set is the 23 pc cylinder.
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I just don't get all the hype... Okay, I know I'm not using the product wrong. I seriously just don't get all the hype about this product. I've also used it with the baked eye-shadows and, I still don't understand. Number 1- I feel like it actually "waters down" the pigmentation, and it doesn't "pop" as much as everyone says it does. Number 2- Once you put it on, you can't "undo" it and it start to build up on your eye- crease and NOT in a good way. It also feels heavy and kind of rough. It just doesn't seem to blend into the makeup or work as well with the eye shadows like everyone claims it does. I'm going to try using it will my foundation and concealer, since I unfortunately purchased 2 of these (thinking it was going to be the "holy grail" of elf products) like people made it out to be. Hopefully it works out well with my foundation (even though I don't really wear alot of foundation in the first place.) Total disappointment. Take my advice, not worth the hype that people make it out to be. At least you get a free makeup brush with it.
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Came broken twice I bought makeup lock and seal and it came broken twice. Efl replaced it the first time which was very generous but I had high expectations for this product and now I'm disappointed it came broken again..
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i am impressed with elf i just purchased this lock and seal but when it arrived it had opened and spilled. i sent an email informing them of the mishap and they sent me a replacement the same day.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Couldn't find good use for it I bought this for my eyebrows. It worked but it got a little shiny after several hours. I'm not sure it works well. I have kept the product and may go back to trying to use it. The packaging is the best part comes with a brush and small jar and is in a drip top container.
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works Elf, as usual, makes a Product that does what it says it does. This indeed helps makeup stay where you put it!
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bulletproof I use this when I want to make sure my eyebrows won't budge. I just brush it over my penciled and powdered brows and it keeps them from smudging all day. I love this stuff.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my eyeliner stay on my oily lids! I have very oily lids, so eyeliner smudges /very/ easily for me. However, with this, my gel liner stayed (and only faded just a little mostly around the corners of my eyes) from 8am to 2am!However, I must say that I'm not a big fan of the brush. I just put a drop of the seal on my ring finger and smeared it over the eyeliner, careful to not smudge the liner and not get the product in my eye. Application with a brush doesn't apply enough and is a downright waste of product.Also, if you pour the seal onto pressed eyeshadow and try to make an eyeliner, it won't work and the shadow will become completely hard.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I purchased this online a few weeks ago and I absolutely love it! It is great for wetting your eyeshadow brushes for baked eyeshadows (hence baked eyeshadows need to be wet in order for them to wear properly) and it made them POP beautifully with color and it went on very smoothly and stayed in place all day. I will definitely be repurchasin this over MAC's fixplus.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Empty :c I was sooo excited to try this out with some pigments, but when I got it in the mail it had leaked and was completely empty. So disappointed!!
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not recommend... I brought this product a while ago and I just haven't been able to bring myself to use it since the first time I tried it out on my hand. First of all, I ordered this product online with a bunch of other elf products, all of which I love, and this makeup lock and seal leaked out of its packaging and got everywhere! It was just a sticky mess all over my other products... Not only that, but it smelled like nail glue! I didn't want to knock it till I tried it so I swatched it on my hand with eye shadow and got the same result as I did with my control group! I have sensitive skin and do not want to put what feels and smells like fake nail glue on my face! Sorry elf, this one is a miss for me!
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good product. Horrible bottle! I just recieved this today, and echoing the problem of another reviewer. It had leaked inside the box and good amount was wasted :( I can't get the lid to seal properly and its quite sticky to deal with when its on the fingers. That, however, works in its benefit when I did manage to get it in the little mix pot. It amplified my eyeshadow, but I havent put it to the test in length that my eyeshadow will stay put. Will update in the future
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Product! Outstanding product, easy and fun to use, really makes your make up pop and stays put!
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great with cake liner!! I have the Laura Mercier cake tightline eyeliner, while I like it, it still transferred to my lower lash line. I just used it with water or eye drops because I read that that was the same as the activator you can buy from LM.Well...... then the elf makeup lock and seal entered my life and changed everything!!!!!! I use a drop or two in the cake eyeliner pan and WOW!! No transfer at all, stays all day!! Please don't discontinue this elf!! I need to stock up!It also works well to make any eyeshadow into a liner.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The name says it all... I initially bought this to set my pigments in place and give my eye shadow an extra something something. It works great for that and I love the packaging of it with the dropper bottle, inclusive brush, and little mixing container. I tried this out in setting my brows...and hunnie when I tell you this kept my brows from sliding, migrating, and going on epic journeys it surely did!
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle in a Bottle This stuff is AMAZING!!!! My local store just got this in stock and I literally did a happy dance when I saw it! I was so excited to final get it! I used it this weekend for the first time. I used this to set up eye liner & shadow. Let me tell you, this stuff works!! I danced all night long, came home and my makeup look just as I had put it on! That never happens to me! Usually makeup is worn off after a few hours. I don't apply it how it says to in the directions. I didn't like the way it looked. I just do my normal routine. When I am done, I put two little drops in container, and then use the brush to go over the makeup.
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I love this stuff! A little sticky at times and it dries quick so once you have your drops in the little bowl, but still amazing. I did an eyeshadow swatch using this vs. Mac fix + and dare I say this may be a dupe! Great stuff!
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad Bad experiance. Package came opened and all the liquid had leaked out.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for transforming eye shadows Now that I've worked through the "learning curve" with this product, I find myself reaching for it more often than I expected. It works well for transforming powder eye products into a waterproof liner-shadow. The dropper method can get a little bit messy, but with practice, I find it much better than the similar "liner sealer" product elf sells in a tube-and-wand format. I prefer the versatility of using my choice of brushes with this, and the product remaining in the bottle doesn't get contaminated with repeated use.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great staying power! This product really does what it says! I tried it out for my 30 year class reunion and it held up even in humidity! I did what I rarely do, and slept in my makeup and still looked fabulous when I woke up! I love this product!
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, but smells bad. I actually love this product! It just smells bad. Aside from that. my eyeshadow and lipstick stay pretty good!
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! This has some miracle ingredient! This is my eye makeup after $15 hours of wear after work. It still looks perfect. I used the day and night eyeshadow palette and the eyelid primer then out a layer of the lock and seal over top. I bought half off for $1.50, I will be buying more.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Patience & Practice Makes Perfect I've only used this a few times, but I'm in love with it already. At first it was a little difficult to deal with . . . but now I've found it's the best thing for straight glitter application.
Date published: 2014-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST HAVE I was on the market for something to keep my eyebrows in place. Since I have very thin brows, I use a lot of powder and eyebrow gel to draw them on. But they always managed to smudge if I scratched them or sweat too much; I hated having to be super careful while performing everyday tasks. So I bought this and PROBLEM SOLVED!I apply my brows like I normally do (NYX eyebrow gel and some BH cosmetics brow powder) and then I clean up with concealer, and then I use the brush included with the lock and seal to apply. I pour 2-3 drops into the little cap thingy and soak it into the brush, then I just pat the brush over my eyebrows (careful not to get it on my skin or else it puts this weird layer of shiny product that can flake off). Then I take a spoolie and comb it out to make sure it doesn't look to flat and they stay all day long! Even with swimming and sweating and sleeping. They don't budge. It's even hard to get off with my makeup remover wipes! Love love love this stuff. I will never stop purchasing.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An essential Apply this product before after eye lotion and before applying under eye coverup with powder. No more raccoon eyes, ever with non  water proof makeup. Only issue is the bottle: keep it upright otherwise it will leak. 
Date published: 2014-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I find this sooner? AMAZING! I had been looking for something that would keep my foundation from smearing. I read the reviews and noticed that most were using it for their eyeshadow or liner, but at the price, I figured why not? I played around with the number of drops I needed to mix with my foundation (it ended up being around six) and mixed it with the included brush in a small disposable cup (the little pot included with the product was way too small for my needs but probably perfect for shadow or liner). I then used the brush to initially apply my foundation (since a lot was actually in the brush), then blended well with my fingertips. It didn't make my foundation sticky at all. I just had to mix my foundation and the Lock & Seal very well.Holy moly! The end result was my foundation's staying power was *almost* as good as that of Revlon Colorstay (which I've been using for over 20 years now) and for the price, it's incredible! A definite must-have in my makeup bag!
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!! I buy a couple of these at a time and put then in a tiny spray bottle and after I complete my eye makeup I spray it on. I went into a chlorine pool and the make-up did not run or fade AT ALL.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It pops the color out! Bought in a local store on Curacao, bit more expensive $5. Totally worth it! Lock & seal above, middle just the mac eyeshadow, below with eyeprimer mineral! You can see how a dull color finally pops out!
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like it.. Not love It good at helping loose eyeshadow stay in place ... I don't use it daily ..it's good for the price
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My eyeshadow sticks like glue! I got this a week ago and I tried it with my Elf eye shadow.  The only problem was that I didn't realize that it would intensify my eye shadow so much!  I put it on a little too dark but it had already dried and rubbed a bit thinking I could lighten it a little but it wouldn't come off!  Practice with the colors you want and when you get it right, it will stay on!
Date published: 2014-09-05