Essential Lip Stain is rated 3.0169 out of 5 by 592.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING I bought this a few weeks ago and I cant stop using it. It is very easy to apply.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dont be fooled by nude nectar!!! I received this as a gift for Christmas and I thought the packaging was very cute and sleek but when I tried it the formula was just so uneven and patchy on my lips and the color was going into all of the lines and crevices of my mouth. Gross. Not to mention the nude nectar color that I received looks nothing like the swatch in the picture. Its bright red-orangey and not a sheer crimson-ish color like on the photo. Normally I would rave about almost every e.l.f. product, but frankly, I believe e.l.f. can do much better.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HORRIBLE IT DRIED OUT AFTER THE SECOND USE. DO NOT BUY IT UNLESS YOU ONLY WANT TO USE IT TWICE.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful shade, ok quality. I love all lip products, but stains are one of my favorite ways to go since they're pretty low-maintenance for a night out. I love the Berry shade of this stain and it's appropriate for basically any occasion, depending on how many layers you put on. The quality of the stain is good - I don't really have to worry about it disappearing through the night. However, it's tricky to apply since the sponge is pretty small. If you don't do quite a few coats really carefully, your lips will look splotchy. Definitely takes a few minutes to apply well, but it's a good product when you take the time. Plus, it's definitely worth the $2.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If I could give it 0 stars, I would I purchased this on Black Friday a few weeks ago and was really excited to try it out because the colors looked lovely--due to shipping delays, I didn't receive it until a few days ago. I had read other reviews that stated it dries out quickly, so I kind of expected that I wouldn't get a lot of use out of it. However, to my utter disbelief, when I opened it and tried to apply it for the very first time it was completely dry. I was only able to get a little bit of color on my lower lip and that's it--I've never been so disappointed with an elf purchase. I would not recommend this product whatsoever, unless you're looking to waste money.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE IT!! I bought this in "Nude Nectar" just to try it out. I love lip colors but lipsticks and glosses always felt too heavy for me. When I put this on it turned out to be a very pretty, darker red color. This surprised me at first because it didn't look so dark before applying it but then I realized that my lips are a darker pink as it is so the color will greatly depend on your natural lip color. The more layers you apply the darker and thicker it looks without that drowning in gloss feeling. I normally just let it dry and put a layer of chapstick or lip balm on after and I love it! I want to try every color!
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for coloring in pale lips I have super pale, sort of pinkish gray lips. I bought the Berry Blush and brush it over the center of my lips and then use my finger to lightly blend it to the outer corners. It helps give them a lovely, healthy pink look, without looking or feeling like I'm wearing something on my lips. I plan to buy a couple more tubes so I can always have one in my purse and one on my counter.
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Take a second look, you might love these! I agree with many of the reasons critics hate this product, BUT it still has a treasured spot in my make-up bag, my vanity drawer, and even the glove compartment in my car. I am extremely allergic to most traditional lipsticks. I also know that cosmetic companies sometimes sacrifice quality for lower pricing on ingredients such as wax, pigments and oils. Because there are fewer ingredients and preservatives in e.l.f. stain, there are fewer chances I'll have a reaction. For $2 per week, I get a base stain with all-day staying power, and still have money in my budget for the high end, all natural essential oils that keep my pout properly pampered. I also love the precision it offers as a lip liner. I hope they NEVER take this off the market! (Would hate to go back to the days when kool-aid powder was the best stain in town! ;)
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Trash I bought this today thinking it would at least show up a little, as i understand it is a lip stain not a lipstick. Maybe after the 8th layer, it began to show, Every single imperfection is outlines. Any cuts or dry skin are enhanced. I don't think ill every use it, maybe as a base coat if I'm using another lip stick. I also bought berry blush, thinking that maybe the darker color would appear more. I was wrong.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible! I got this in berry blush. The pigmentation was only average. It dried up after a week. It also makes your lips VERY dry. You'd have to put a layer of Vaseline or lip balm on top. It smells strongly of alcohol.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great light pink! I bought two colours. A light pink and the dark purple. I really enjoyed the light pink. Super pigmented, only con for this one is that if i pressed a little to hard it came out almost reddish. the purple one however was not that pigmented and patchy. It came out darker on certain parts on my lip. The brush on both of them stayed in tact and were stiff but not to hard. They didnt stay on for the whole day, but i drink and eat very often at school.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Proper application/storage This was my first stain I tried and I'm glad that I did. I purchased Pink Petal thinking that it was the bright pink that you see at the store, however it is more of a fuschia color (deeper, not as baby pink) as suggested. You definitely have to be careful while applying it due to the very fine point (any mistakes will show, especially if you don't line your lips precisely). The color kept on my lips for several hours, I have never worn this by itself due to the drying effect on my lips, so I put either lip balm or a gloss over it and the color wore beautifully. You will want to exfoliate your lips before applying because the stain will seep into the cracks and make it appear spotty or darker in some places. Other reviews have stated that they had issues with it drying up quickly, and I have never had this problem. I've had my stain for approximately 9 months to guess, and although it hasn't been used very much (maybe 3-4x in that time frame), the color was still there. I store my makeup in an upright position with a hanger that has a bunch of individual pockets on it for each item (the stain has been stored with the point facing down, so this has probably contributed to the color still being there and not drying out).
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a waste.. I bought this product two days ago in the color Berry Blush. I loved the color the first day then the product dried up and the marker won't produce anymore pigment.
Date published: 2015-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use stays on well... I've tried several lip stains. I've been using another brand that they've discontinued my color. I've replaced it with Nude Nectar which is a little darker than my natural lip color. I can apply it lightly for a day look or add more for a deeper color. I always use a clear lip balm on top I don't like the matte (dry) effect; but there are balms will remove lip stain(s). I do reapply later in the day but I've found I can freshen up the color with some more balm, still a lot better than any lipstick and less messy. As for the tip drying out, may I suggest shaking the stain like a marker, shake the pen downwards (with the cap on) when it's dry you can shake the stain inside down to the tip, but keep in mind that will give you more saturated color, so it may be darker than your used to. But it does solve the problem.
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great color, which doesn't last long on me... I tried a high end lip stain and was disappointed at how quickly the STAIN came off me. So I thought I'd try a more affordable stain. ELF was less sticky, and easy to apply. It lasted, or didn't last, as long as the high end stain, but for a fraction of the cost.I like it a lot more than the other stain. But I think calling it a "stain" is not accurate. Eating or drinking anything will take it off me.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crimson Crush, more like Blood Lust When I had applied Crimson Crush on my lips, it looked like I had DRY BLOOD ON MY LIPS!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not repurchasing... I bought this in pink petal not too long ago a was so excited to try it. I didn't use it very often and it dried out so quickly. I also found that it made my lips dry too. But I did like the color that it had before it dried out.
Date published: 2015-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worked for a little while I bought two colors of this product and they were OK at first, a little spotty though. After about a few days they were almost completely dried up even though they were completely capped the whole time they werent in use and I only used them like twice. I pulled out the tips and they were dried up all the way. :/ When they WERE working they were patchy and the color was just so difficult to apply.
Date published: 2015-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No Hassle Lip Color I am about to place my fourth order for these. If there is a better lip stain out there, I have not found it and I have paid a lot more for products that weren't nearly as good as this. Out of the 10+/- that I have ordered so far, two have dried out quickly so I just order extra and keep them in a ziplock until I am ready to open them. I love the natural look and long lasting color that never ends up on my teeth!
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely lovely I was hesitant because of the negative reviews, but I really don't know what they're talking about. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this product for multiple reasons:1. Unlike some other "stains" that are really a lip gloss, this is a liquid stain that fully dries flat and matte without any texture. It's just color.2. It is super pigmented, and goes on as dark or as light as you like. I used a couple of layers of "Berry Blush" to get a dark cranberry-plum ish lip, but could've done fewer coats for a lighter lip. I don't have any problems with fully filling in my lips like some other reviews did.3. This product takes long lasting to a whole new level. It survived a very long 8-hour tutoring shift at the university writing center where I work (this involves a ton of talking...) and two full meals and I never once had color on my napkin or glass, and I never once reapplied. It stayed super pigmented all day, and I received a bunch of compliments.4. It's very easy to use, and you can totally change the shape of your lips. It also cuts way down on application time - you don't need a separate lip liner.5. It's easier and less messy than lipstick, but with a little chapstick over it (I have super dry lips so this is a must) it looks just like a lipstick.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fades Fast I bought this in my last order and first issue they sent me the wrong color and second issue was it just does not go on or give any saturation of color.. I had to press the tip into my lips multiple times to get any hint of color.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My friend had a product like this that she bought in Korea, so when I found these, I was so excited. I bought both Pink Petal and Hot Tamale. When I first applied Pink Petal, it looked gorgeous, and so did Hot Tamale. However, it didn't last very long. Every time I have used them since, they work from leaving my house to getting to my destination (about a 10 minute bicycle ride), but then is faded by then, and you can't tell I put it on. They also dried out within 2 weeks. Really disappointing, considering how excited I was for them. Also, it dries out your lips after applying, despite applying chapstick before or after use. I wouldn't recommend, considering the short time frame of use, despite the price.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Caused irritation :( I recently purchased a liquid lipstick & this lip stain with high expectations.. But I was disappointed. I've never had any irritations or allergies from makeup products, but after removing the lipstain, it caused my bottom lip to be irritated & it looks red as if someone bit me. Lol but i love the liquid lipstick , i would consider calling it lipGLOSS since it's thick & sticky like it. Wouldn't recommend it, stick to Mac & Sephora. Sorry.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best lipstain EVER!!!! I bought this lipstain this week and I absolutely love it!!! So pigmented, such great color (crimson crush)! I definitely recommanded it...you have to buy it!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Feels how it looks.. I bought this to try a lip stain. It felt like a hard dried out marker. It rubs off easily like a crayola marker. The tip also comes off the marker easily creating a mess on your hands. As a MUA I wouldn't use this at all
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GREAT! ...The first use I really loved the colors offered in these lip stains and bought almost every one because of the price. Unfortunately, these just don't last. And I mean, you get about 5-10 uses out of them before they are dried up. Don't regret buying them because they did the job and the price was low but I don't think I'll get them again.
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's okay if its for a selfie This looks really good when you first put it on. It makes your lips darker without it looking like your wearing lipstick or lip gloss. However, it's not much of a stain. It flakes off really easily. So, this would be great if your having a selfie photo-shoot! Haha but for actual wear, no don't buy it.
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hate it... I LOVE ELF products but I absolutely hated this. I bought this from a local walmart and was so excited to try it, I opened the package and I thought wow this looks like a marker, I literally felt like I was coloring on my lips with a marker. The color wasn't bad at first but a couple minutes later the color darkened and was just terrible!
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stuff I bought 3 different shades of this stuff about 8 months ago, and they're great. All 3 still work (haven't dried out). I will say that they do seem to dry darker, so the color isn't 100% true.The color usually lasts about 5-6 hrs on me.
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nude nectar I have uneven lips, i got this because it looked close to my natural lip color so i could make them look more even, 5 stars cause it did what i wanted it to. Used to use it every day still love it and all, check swatches to match it the color on the screen looks pretty different to me at least.
Date published: 2015-10-16