Lip Stain is rated 3.0461 out of 5 by 477.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just Average I purchased one of the true red and one dark red lip stains and absolutely loved it! They worked well for about 5 uses, then seemed to dry out and lose their pigmentation. The true red one also developed an odd smell after only a month or two of having it. They are nice as a quick purchase for a one time event or something like that, but not worth it for everyday use in my opinion. Essentially you get what you paid for.
Date published: 2015-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! I bought this product at the store and I love it so much. It is very drying but I just add my favorite chapstick on it and it's perfect!
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My only lip product! Love it! I hate sticky glosses and lipsticks so this is perfect for me. It doesn't dry my lips out, but I always put on chapstick afterwards. Its just enough color to look pretty but not thick and gross like lipstick.
Date published: 2015-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts and lasts! I bought this in Nude Nectar and am absolutely thrilled with it. Unlike others, I absolutely love the marker applicator. The product applies easily and stays on all day. It is a bit drying but I use a balm over it and that works just fine.
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from One use only I bought this and it worked great and looked awesone...the first time I wore it. It immediately stopped coloring my lips.
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty colors, bad application It's literally a Sharpie for your lips. I felt like I was coloring on my mouth with a magic marker. Does not moisturize at all but, the colors are nice and very long lasting. Make sure you use a lip balm with these.
Date published: 2015-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from pretty good It's pretty but you have to put on a lip balm underneath and keep applying it throughout the day but it's pretty good
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not to great It is hard to get it even on all of your lips - red
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Meh I don't really like lipstains in pen formats because of the patchiness, but this one performed a little above average.
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could be better I purchased this in Nude Nectar thinking it would be a pinky/nude shade.. it's basically red. It looks more like the color Hot Tamale on the site. This is okay, but a little disappointing since it's close a color I already have. Wanted something different.The applicator is smaller and more pointy than other brands of lip stain I've owned. For this reason, it's easier to apply to the bottom lip than the top (because of the angle) .. when applying to my top lip it sort of feels like I'm jabbing myself with a pen. Overall this product is okay, but not something I'd recommend.
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome :D I just received this today in the shade Nude Nectar and I have to say I am impressed. This is the very first lip stain I have ever used and I love. For the pictures, the swatch on my hand, the left thin line is one swipe of the pen. The line on the right is 6 quick consecutive strokes. The picture of it on is only my bottom lip, and after one coat. I am quite impressed with the colour. It dries quickly and does not feel sticky. I don'y even notice it is there. I will update this review on how it wears.
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Highlighter ? Mine came basically dried out. I felt like i was putting a highlighter on my lips and had to apply many times before getting the desired color.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible! Would give this zero stars if I could. Very dry, hardly any product comes out an in fact made my lips cracked and dry!! Stick to elf balm or gloss!!
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I go the colour crimson crush last month and so far I am happy with it. It dries my lips out even after using a lip exfoliator and using chapstick under and on top of it. The colour does not look good on me because it is way too strong for my fair skin tone, but I am sure it would look good on others. So far the only product of e.l.f's that I am unhappy with
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Where's the product?!? I thought the rosy color was very pretty. Unfortunately, there wasn't much product in the tube! I used it about 4 times, and then it was gone!
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ok I got the light pink color. It was a nice color and all but it made my lips look dried out even if I put chapstick over the stain. The stain also dried out after I had it for a short period of time and I had only used it 4 times tops.
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from great color, short life I bought this a couple weeks ago and I used it maybe once or twice and then it dried out. I was pretty disappointed but I suppose the color is actually very pretty and pigmented. I got the color nude nectar and I think this color is PERFECT...too bad I only got to use it a few times...but other than that I think this color is fine for a normal day or a special occasion!
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ew Everything wrong with this product is that it feels like you're rubbing a marker on your lips, it dries out quickly, and the color doesn't even last that long.
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Lip Stain I LOVE LOVE LOVE all the elf lip stains. They are bright, and go on so easily.I have 5 colours. They really do last a long time....like on my lips and they last a long time.....like don't run out as quickly as some stains I have used. Buy them! They are great!
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price. I had ordered two lip stains from this line in Fuschia Fusion and Nude Nectar and the pictures are very close to the true color. The 'stain' part of this product does exactly what its title says it would. However- the process of applying the lip stain feels like I'm applying Crayola marker on my lips. Great product for the price.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good! At first... I guess... I bought this at Target and I got 2 uses out of it, then the color just faded. The pigmentation was awesome! I've never seen a lip stain do this and it was strange... also it didn't really want to apply... like I felt I was drawing with a dried-out marker on my lips, pressing so hard to get the color out. True, it is only $2 but I didn't realize I'd only get 2 uses out of two dollars... I guess that's a good value, but still.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from streaky I just got this last night because it was on sale so I thought I'd try this out. It has good pigmentation but the tip of the brush is very hard which makes it difficult to apply. I got the color berry blush and I love it but it goes on very streaky and it doesn't look good :(
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting Found my new lip treatment. I am impressed. Most lipsticks just do not make it on me, as they are gone within the hour. Not so with this.. I put it on in the morning and it was all day color. Dark when you first put it on .. yet fades evenly as the day wears on
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly! (Advanced user, tons of tips!!) I had bought this in the Hot Tamale shade. In my photo, you all can see that this can layer to a very vivid shade. The key to getting the most color out of any lip stain is to layer it, letting each coat dry completely before adding the next. If any of you remember working with water colors as a child, working with lip stains is almost the same. I think I had gone to 6 layers in total, but I wanted to be sure my upper and lower lips matched; my top lip is a bit darker than my lower lip.With that said, I enjoy how this lip stain coats. In order to get the most out of the lip brush, I held it to the side and used it like I would a water color paint brush (I'm also an artist, so it's what I do naturally). I can get an even coating if I do short, quick strokes. I like the outside first, then fill it in, much the way I work with a lip crayon. If you own a very bright/light shade, it'll be difficult to see, so get right up close to the mirror if you need to. Draw the shape you want on your upper lip carefully, much like you would a lip liner, but keep the side of the brush flush against the edge you want to give, then swoop to the top as you reach the peaks of the cupid's bow. It lets you get the most even shape & coat that way. Using the very tip alone won't give you much color, in the same way that using the tip of a liner paint brush gives you a very thin line.Some tips/tricks: If you mess up, this lip stain can come off with water. When I clean up a mistake, I take a q-tip and dampen it just barely, so that it will soak up the stain. Brush toward your lip, not away, and do it carefully. Otherwise, you'll stain the surrounding area like lifting a ketchup stain on a white shirt. You can clean up with concealer later as well. As I've said before, be sure that each layer of the lip stain dries completely. If it's lightly damp, you'll squish the previous layer(s) around. It's very similar to waiting on nail polish dry.Also, if you want this lip stain to be food-proof (or kiss proof!) use Lipcote or a similar lipstick sealant. It's like a top coat for your lip cosmetics. Lipcote has boasted that ELF matte lip balms work great, but using it with this lipstain is amazing. In my photo, I have 1 coat of Lipcote on. I didn't need translucent powder with this. In fact, in a previous test, that ruined it. With having about 6 layers of the lip stain, plus 1 coat of Lipcote, it does feel like my lips are painted with some kind of waterproof coating, or like those "all day" lipsticks that dry on and feel like paint. However, it's very light after it settles (Lipcote included) and actually feels soft.I have eaten with this lip stain before. Prior to this photo, I've tested it out. I've eaten with it, drank coffee with it, though I can't remember if I've had greasy or oily foods. That breaks the Lipcote barrier, so I did try to be careful. I've also slept in this lip stain + Lipcote. It didn't even come off when brushing my teeth. If you're wanting a lip solution that won't budge, knowing you'll have a busy few days, this may be your go-to method. At best you may need to touch it up. How to remove it? Scrub it off with a makeup remover, wipes or otherwise. I suggest cold cream or something oily (like EVOO or even Vitamin E oil). It takes about 5 minutes to clean off because it's a stain that's settled into the skin, and with Lipcote -- it's crazy. I even had a light pinkish stain in the end, but it wore off after a few hours.** Lip care method ** Just to offer best results, here's what I do. I use Blistex Medicated Lip Oinment, and I exfoliate with a simple damp washcloth in the morning and before I apply anything on my lips, be it lipstick or lip stain. Letting my lips barely dry before applying lip stain allows me to retain just that hint of moisture, so that my lips aren't terribly dried out. I fight dry lips often, and this is what helps me. If you have similar lip issues, hopefully that will help you.Overall, I love this and may buy it in one a Mauve color for days I don't really want to look overly dressy. Being a 40s/vintage lover, I do think this is great for days I want red lips, but still want to remain somewhat casual. With this I can adjust how red I want it to go. It takes me about 5-7 minutes to get it at the most vivid, though I'm sure I could go darker, or even layer it with another (maybe darker?) shade to make for something worthy of formal attire. I may invest in a full set just to play around and see what I can do!
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too frustrating. I have tried everything under the sun and can't get these to go on evenly. Maybe if I could get it apart and dip a lip brush, but my weakling self can't get it apart. Too bad. Pretty color. (I got the pink) maybe my lips are just too dry or my product has dried up. I will order one more and see how it goes.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from All dried up :( I purchase this but it was completely dried up. Very pretty colors, but unfortunately I was never able to use it.
Date published: 2015-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So little product!!! But it's so good... This is the only makeup product I have ever had an emotional reaction to. Let me explain: it's perfect, stains the lips just the right color, lasts a good amount of time, with no messy residue. I would use this product and nothing else, ever, if I could. But each lip stain includes SO LITTLE PRODUCT. Like, maybe 4 applications, and then the container is empty. It's so wasteful, so much plastic with so little product. I would gladly pay $15 (are you listening, ELF?) for one of those little markers that is actually full of product, so I wouldn't have to buy one of these things every 3 days. I wish I could refill it like an ink cartridge!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful colors! I have three of these and love them! My only problems are is that they dont actually stain my lips and that you have to be very careful with your application because it layers very well and can look streaky because of that.
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not good at all I just got my ELF order and I tried this product. It is extremely drying to the lips and it doesn't matter how many coats of lip balm you put on first. I do not recommend it
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pass on this product. I love lip stains but not this one. The marker tip is rough and unpleasant to put on. The formula massively dried out my lips, even for a lip stain (which can be fairly drying anyhow), and it didn't even last long at all. I will say that while it was on, the colour was pretty and pigmented. Too bad it didn't last!
Date published: 2015-01-07