Essential Lip Stain is rated 3.0129 out of 5 by 622.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of money first time I used it it dried out before i even finished my lips .waste of money
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soo bad they don't stain or stay on your lips, it kind of feels like a marker.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as well as higher priced brands I just finished a tube of much higher priced lip stain. I bought Elf to see how it stacked up against other brands. I think it is long wearing without drying out my lips. I do store it felt tip down so it just slides onto my lips. I let the stain dry for a few minutes before I apply Elf shimmer gloss. Together they are wonderful.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love this product I have used this product, particularly the berry blush lip stain, for about two years and I absolutely love it! I constantly get compliments on the color and it lasts quite a while. It is far much better than other more expensive lip stains & I plan on using it forever so please never discontinue it.
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from its a miss I have gotten 3 of these at different times, at different stores,,not one worked well. They were to dry and didnt color at all,,,or not much. I saw a reveiw where someone said to put it on your finger first, then apply it, That didnt' work either. Sorry elf,,love your products, but this one ia a BIG miss.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing with 1 exception I have bought 3 different color of this lip stain. I LOVE them all, with the exception of 1. I have bought, Pink Petal, Crimson Crush, and Nude Nectar. Pink Petal is great for just an everyday cute pink lip. It is MUCH lighter than the picture and tube makes it appear. Crimson Crush is great for a dramatic dark red lip. If you like the 40s kind of style this is PERFECT for you! and Nude Nectar, I really didn't love this one. The tube is very misleading on how it actually looks. It's ok, but nothing great. I personally just didn't like the color much. The stain of all 3 last for hours, but come off as soon as you eat or drink much of anything. But I will continue buying these for forever! Definitely worth the money!!
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value. Just need to synchronize the moistness of the product so that they are not dry when we get them out to use. I realize that these are susceptible to drying out but they should never have to be returned to the store after 1 or 2 uses.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stain I love this lip stain. I have it in 3 colors. It's long lasting and goes on super smooth
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very staining I bought this a few months ago, in Berry Blast and Pink Petal. At first, I was mildly impressed (I'd never used a lip stain before) but about two days after I'd started using it, the stain started lasting for like maybe an hour? The only reason I still use this product is the fact it feels very nice on my lips. If you need a bold color for a thirty minute event, sure, go ahead, but if you want a lipstain that will last for a party, this will be totally gone disappointingly quick. I may give it another shot, but I don't particularly plan to.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the product I was impressed with the color & length this stain would stay on my lips (as compared to other lip stains I had tried). However, I have discovered that they seem to run out on me quickly (the stain from the tube). In just a couple weeks, i would find myself looking for another one. I could justify this because it's cost was only $2.00. I can't find it in any of the stores around here, so I have to order it. The cheapest shipping I have found is $5.99. Making the total price 8 dollars. It's not worth that. I'm sorry to say, the whole tube does not last long enough to justify that price. Is there anyone that could suggest to me a cheaper way to get this, than to order online?
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible I bought this about a month ago from Walmart and was so dissapointed. When i opened the product it was dry. There was no color payoff and the applicator felt like sandpaper on my lips. Not worth the money
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good color but it seems as though there is not a ton of product. Only used once before it started to become more difficult to get enough pigment out. Now I use it as a base color and apply lipstick on top.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for every day! I got the NUDE NECTAR and it is exactly what I was looking for because of the texture ans shade. It gives me a brick red shade which is a little darker than my lips, so it looks very natural. I love it because you can't tell I have it on and it lasts a long time. for 2$ it is so worth it!!!
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORST PRODUCT EVER I bought this product a week ago and used it once and after that it doesn't work, it just tried up.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love,love,it! I am in my 60's and have the vertical lip lines....I have used pencils and when I found your stain I didn't expect any results... but much to my surprise I feel in love with it and use it everyday....can't be without it.....it stays all day and helps with the bleeding....my color is the "BERRY BLUSH". problem...I can no longer find my shade....are you discontinuing the BERRY....please say no....I will keep checking my stores (Wal Mart and Target) seems to be the only place I can find it!
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good colour, very bad applicator. I have this in two different shades. The stain itself is great. It's super pigmented and lasts a while. The applicator is horrible. The marker tip is uncomfortably hard. The first application went on okay. It was awkward, and hard to get the colour on without overlapping and making it splotchy, but I made it work. But, it seems to be worse and worse every time I use it. Less colour comes out, so I'm rubbing it back and forth over my lips, which is uncomfortable and rough. I've only used them maybe a half dozen times. There's still plenty of liquid left in the tube. I think a brush tip may be more effective for this product.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Worth It I got thrown off by the name of the product, which is Nude Nectar. This color is in no way nude; it's actually an odd red color which looked terrible on me (that's not the company's fault obviously). But applying this product reminded me of cheap markers on your lips and the "stain" stays for about fifteen minutes before it's completely wiped out. I guess you get what you paid for but I've come to realize that with elf, it's a hit or a miss.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from verry disappointed :( i looked at the review and purchased it but not happy at all with the product. It seems like one time use only. color is not good at all.
Date published: 2016-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no, no, no, no, no! I just bought nude nectar today. It showed it was supposed to me a natural pink tone. Well, it's not. This is a brownish, amber color. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love! If you exfoliate your lips before applying this lipstain, I promise you will have much better results! It works great and I like to use these to intensify a matching lipstick :)
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts long, BUT PREP YOUR lips! I bought elf lip stain because I'm obsessed with lip stain.. I can say I was very impressed in how long it lasted. I put some lip balm on and then kinda blotted it a little and then I put this stuff on and it lasts for a pretty long time!
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You must prep your lips!! This stuff is great!! If you prep your lips and use the right gloss, this stain will last all day! Exfoliate your lips then apply some gloss until you are ready to apply the stain. I always apply my primer, foundation and then set my lips with some light powder, then the stain. I use Nude Nectar and start light and build. Once I've completed my makeup I apply Elf Liquid Lipstick in Ruby Slipper or Pink Lemonade. I have never had a problem with it not lasting at least 6 hours, including snacking/light meals or more, coffee drinking and working retail.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Darker Then Expected, Still Great. I bought this product just recently in Crimson Crush and it works really well and is super pigmented, the only thing that was a little different is that this color is really dark. Especially on me I have very light skin (The lightest foundation they sell turns me orange) but it's definitely darker than expected. I still love this product it looks great, but if you're not into dark lip products don't buy this product in Crimson Crush.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price Provides kiss proof, transfer proof, natural looking color for the price of just two bucks. Very similar to the benefit stain product.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works great, barely any product I used a "non-slippery" lip balm (Nivea, I think) so that it wouldn't dry out my lips (it will if you don't do this, trust me). The color was exactly as it looked on the outside (Berry). I put it on once before going out eating and drinking, and it stayed on for hours. I love it. The only reason for the sub-par rating is that I only got a couple of uses out of it. It may be the lip balm dilutes the mixture; unfortunately, that isn't a step I can really skip without my lips being dry and chapped.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to lip product I have two of these that I have been using for over 4 months, and they are both still going strong. These are my favorite go to lip products for every day wear. I take the tip of the marker and lightly make small marks on my lips and go back over with my finger to blend it in. I can build up several layers to get a darker color if I want. I then add a light balm to soften my lips. I also store mine in a container with the tips down so they don't dry out as fast. They last a full work day, even through eating and drinking.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I bought this today. I couldn't wait to come home and try out my new lip stain. I loved the color. However, it chapped my lips to the point of burning, and sores on my lips. I have never had anything like that happen with any lip product before. I have been using non stop lip balm for hours. The lip stain does what it says, I can't get it all off my lips, as it's still burning my skin
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not like other e.l.f. products I bought this in the red color with high hopes because I've always had good experiences with other e.l.f. products, but all the pigmentation settled into the crevices of my lips and on the the inside of my lips so I literally looked like a vampire who had just drank some blood. the stain would not stay around the outside of my lips so it wasn't even good as a lip liner. So disappointed!
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It doesnt paint that much It only last for the first 5 minutes , and it doesnt paint that much
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think this a musthave(especially as a lip liner) I used to use this by itself and then began to solely use it as a natural, all day lasting, never smearing, perfectly defined lip liner that always blends seamlessly into my lipstick and my skin. It helps keep my lipstick looking perfect and natural at the same time with people always focusing on how beautiful the lipstick is on me, not the smearing, imperfect outline, over-defined or too dark lipliner, or eventual over use of concealer. It has helped define the little tiny outer corners of my smile so well and the curves in the center of my lips. This is incredible. I use it every day. Please don't let the bad reviews ever make them discontinue it. I LOVE it. And be careful how permanent it is when applying as a lip liner! One drawback is one of these lasts me a month tops. For the price though, shrug.
Date published: 2016-01-06