Lip Stain is rated 3.0549 out of 5 by 419.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Scent Ruins Product I had bought this lip stain about two months ago and when first trying the product, the felt tip had been stiff and dry, but after a few uses it was a bit more opaque than what i wold consider sheer. The one thing about this product though is its scent. Despite the expectation for it to smell fruity and tempting to apply to your lips, it smells putrid! I can not begin to explain the scent and how it effects my wanting to wear this product. I have more than once been tempted to throw it away although I have no other color like it so it will stay in my small lip collection.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice color but no staying power This is hardly a stain. The colors are lovely and application is easy but it wears off quickly, and one needs to apply several times to get the expected shade. Forget about applying a gloss on top; it will make the "stain" wear off even faster. Sorry, e.l.f., you dropped the ball on this one. :(
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loved it at first! After a few uses, it seemed to have dried out:/ hesitant on purchasing again.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from too dry! i do not have dry lips at all and i purchased the reddest one and then after 15 min the color fades off and makes my lips look nasty and crusty. Hate this product :/ then i tried moisturizing my lips and still the same.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nude Nectar is... not so nude I just got this in the mail today and tried it and I'm already disappointed. I'm a junior in high school and thought it was time to start experimenting with makeup, and I saw e.l.f.'s 50% off sale and thought it was almost heaven-sent.The stain seems decent enough, judging from my limited experience, but I ordered Nude Nectar as an experimental, natural shade. The actual color comes out to the color of the tube, not the swatch shown, on my lips, especially after I try and build it up a bit. Not subtle whatsoever, and at this point, I don't particularly want to try bright red lips. May reorder in a different, more natural color, and if I do, will go by the tube color, not the swatch.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ehhh Recently purchased Nude Nectar. Was very orange, even on paper, not nude at all. The stain wouldn't apply evenly and made my lips feel very dry and sticky. For only $2 it wasn't a huge waste, and I may try a different shade, but the nude could do with improvement.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great color (when it works... which it doesn't) Worked a total of two times. Was rough on my lips, hurt to put on, needed multiple coats to get color, had to remove the tip on multiple occasions to use the bottom half in order to get the color to work. Terrible product.It's a shame because the color is amazing.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good Usually I love elf products but I only got 2 uses out of this lip stain before it was dried out....
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dried out after three uses I would have liked to have kept this product, because the colour and the staying power were lovely, but it was dried out when I tried to use it on the fourth day. My position is this: it doesn't matter how inexpensive a product is- if it doesn't wrk for the intended purpose, it's not worth anything.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed... I purchased this in the nude nectar. I'm Filipino and my lips have a natural brownish tint so I'm a little scared of links and reds. I wanted something I could put under a lip balm and still have nice color. All though it was a lot darker than I thought, I was very thrilled! Beautiful color for medium olive skin. Unfortunately when I tried to use it again it was dried out. But for $2 I guess one use isn't too bad.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Color, Terrible Quality I only used nude nectar once and initally, I thought the color pigmentation and staying power were great. However, when I tried using it a second time, it was dried out and I wasn't able to acheive the original color.
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting, great color! I use the pink petal daily underneath a chapstick or rose salve and the color lasts all day and one tube usually lasts me a few months.
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the $$$$$$$ I was never into makeup, well shadows, blush, bronzers etc..... BUT I DO know my lipstick and I have to say this lip stain is really great. It's great pigmentation, doesn't bleed, holds color for a decent amount of time, doesn't dry the lips (but I recommend moisturizing ur lips prior to use) doesn't feel sticky, it feels like ur lips. I only have the one shade which is dark, but I can't wait to c how well the pigmentation is in the others!
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the Colors! I love the colors. Very rich and deep. (crimson) Also, like the nude color...very natural Like Kits96 said, these also dry my lips Very much. (ugh!) I use an ELF shimmer gloss over this stain. I find it flat, but i noticed a review that states to exfoliate my lips, so i will be trying that. But, especially in this dry winter, I will eventually (through out hte day) use a very good brand of "chapstick" over this stain. It keeps my lips moist, yet the deep rich color remains. At times, I seem to get "juicy" sticks that last long, other times, they seem to be "dry" & do not last long at all. Never had the experience of any odor from these stains...and several i have had for quite a while as i often change the colors i wear.
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have this lip stain in several colors and absolutely love it! I often use it under lipstick or with just chapstick! Have had them for several months and have not had them dry out.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't like I bought the berry shade thinking it would be the most pigmented because it appeared to be the darkest. It was terrible. It was dried out when I got it and what did come off of it was very watery and not pigmented at all.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing coolor I have this product in the shade Berry Blush. I've had it for months now and haven't experienced any dryness or bad smell. In fact the only problem I had when using this product was that you HAVE to moisturize first. I always forget to put on chapstick, but if you don't put any on before applying the stain, it can appear somewhat cracked and dry. It wears off after about 5 or 6 hours, but for how cheap it is, it's not a big deal to reapply. Just remember to close the cap all the way and it won't dry out.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from smelly Well, I got this product from the store. I didn't use them for two weeks, when I had the chance to use, I found out that they were dried out (I think). I applied it anyway, then I noticed the smell that I connot describe, also gave my lips a sense of burning. Of course I never used them again.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dries Out Bought this earlier this summer and after 2 wears the lip stain was completely dried out. Initially, I really liked that the color was extremely sheer and buildable, but in hindsight i realize that it required way too many coats of product before it would have any visible effect. Additionally, the stain really dried out my lips and i needed to use a sheer chapstick over the stain after applying. I was only able to wear it twice before I threw it out because the felt tip had dried out and there was no more product left.I like a lot of elf products, but I would not purchase this again.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE I love this lip stain so much! I have it in 2 different colors and I plan to buy more. They're very pigmented and last a long time! So much better than gooey lipstick that gets all over your teeth, plus you can lick your lips, eat, drink, whatever and not have to worry about the color wiping off! Only thing is the colors gets splotchy after a while so keep this on you to reapply or keep lipbalm on you to spread the color around so it evens out :)
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice color I find the color is a lot nicer in person then it is online. my problem with it is that it makes my lips dry and it wares off within a few hours
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Literally Stinks I love these stains. I've owned three but after a few weeks they start to smell rancid. I've even tried to wear them despite the smell but it carries on to my lips and it's terrible. Love them for the first week but in the trash the next.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lasts so long I picked this up to use as a lip stain for my daughter's halloween costume, and tried it myself, it is so pigmented and the color and texture is gorgeous. Lasted forever. I liked it so much I went back and bought all the other colors my Target had. And the texture is wonderful, goes on liquid and dries to lip texture. No stickiness. no patchiness, and no real wear even with eating. Lasted all day and all evening... LOVE it!
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sometimes smelly, sometimes not Don't really want to comment on shade, everyone is different. But the color itself is good. It doesn't fade to a weird look like some of the lower cost stains. The pen itself lasts as long as can be expected. Definitely not as long as drug store brands, but they're also 2-4x the price. I did have a couple of pens which were fine and loved, etc. Then I got one of the smelly ones. It was fine for about 2 weeks and then WHEW! I don't know what causes it, but wow does that stink like rotting fruit. It's made me hesitant to get another one since there's no store to do an exchange and at the price, it's not worth the shipping to attempt a return to the site.I have since found a discount drugstore brand that I like alright, but I wouldn't rule out buying this again.
Date published: 2014-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Berry blush I love the color, I am trying to step out of my comfort zone of lip colors.I have very fair skin, with pink undertones, but this color doesn't make me look strange like alot of reds that I have tried. This one is pretty bold, I bought the berry blush color. A great fall color. I would suggest a clear coat over the top.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good! I bought the triple set and unlike the other reviewers, i dont smell an odor at all and ive had them for months. pretty vibrant color, easy to use but like the title says they do STAIN. Be careful because once on it stays and at hard to get off.
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not impressed I have been a fan of E.L.F. products, for a while now -because they're affordable and nice-, but this Lip Stain really let me down. I bought it 3 weeks ago, and at first I loved it, it made my lips appear fuller and vibrant. But the charm didn't last. A couple weeks after buying it, it started smelling like rubbish, and I can't even use it anymore, it's disgusting.I would love if you could take the time to read my review and improve the quality of this product in particular, or just remove it from drugstores.Thank you.
Date published: 2014-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from bad I bought pink petal and the stain was beautiful but after 2 weeks it started smelling awful! horrible, don't recommend
Date published: 2014-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You're paying for quality I bought this excited about it being so cheap! Unfortunately, it was cheap. It smells weird, like crayons almost. I bought it in the lightest color and it did absolutely nothing to my lips. The color is not vibrant. I'm purchasing another color in hopes it works out better. I generally love E.L.F products, but for me this wasn't a great.
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loved It, But.... I bought this 1 months ago and it worked perfectly, wonderful, soft, and a beautiful shade. Then one day, I went to apply it, and it had a horrible order. It smelled like trash. I wiped some on my hand, and it barely showed up. It was sticky, smelled awful, and barely showed up. If you are just going to use it once, it is awesome, but if you intend to use for more then just a month, then I wouldn't buy it.
Date published: 2014-10-07