Lip Stain is rated 3.0699 out of 5 by 386.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great lip stain but ... I was so excited to try these lip stains that I bought one in each color! I love every hue ... They have great color pay off and last almost all day (through at least 2 meals) without having to reapply or touch up. HOWEVER, one of the lip stains I received arrived dry and unusable upon arrival straight out of the package. e.l.f. was quick to send a replacement. However, even when useable, I only got an average of 3 uses out of each lip stain, which I think is ridiculous!This product truly works, but considering how little use I got out of each lip stain, it's not really worth it! Such a shame, too, because this is such a great product. But, I think it needs a new redesign to hold more product AND to keep the product it has from drying out!
Date published: 2014-09-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay but doesn't last It works great and stays on for a long time. However, the pen itself dries out really quickly (mine did after a couple uses).
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting rich color I have a tendency to lick my lips, and therefore remove any color from gloss or lipstick. This stain is perfect for me since it lasts for hours. Sometimes I use it under a gloss if I don't want the matte, but it's great on its own. I use cherry bomb and hot tamale, and both are true to the colors you see online.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pigment! I was expecting to have to layer this product. I didn't! It went on with brilliant color the second I applied the pen. I bought Crimson Crush. It is a very deep red similar to NYX snow white actually. The only con is that there is a learning curve with applying it. I made a few booboos the first time and had a terrible time getting it off the parts of my lip that I didn't want it. But hey, that means it has good staying power! Putting chap stick over the tint helps make the product not so drying.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This lip stain isn't necessarily hard to use, but it doesn't apply well. The tip isn't very soft and it doesn't always apply evenly.
Date published: 2014-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The main pen I use has decent pigment, and goes great under a clear gloss, but my mom has gotten either dried out pens or no pigmentation. When they're colorful, it's nearly permanent and won't come off! These seem a bit like roulette - you don't know what you'll get. 
Date published: 2014-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth $2! I bought fuchsia fusion while shopping for darker fall shades, and this was perfect! I did a swatch on my hand right after purchasing and it wouldn't come off after washing my hands AND rubbing an alcohol wipe on it (maybe it's too good?). For $2, I couldn't be any happier with the product!Tips: -The product comes off a LITTLE bit uneven on my lips, so I'll go over with a matt lipstick or gloss 10/15 minutes after putting it on and it looks AMAZING (make sure you let it dry before adding on products). -After putting it on, do not smear your lips together. Letting it dry on it's own will have much better results.
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, just needs practice I bought this in Berry Blush and the first time I used it, it didn't go on evenly. Then I put a clear gloss over it and it worked great and extended the life of it. I do recommend it.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from work @ it!!! I brough 2 lip stains just because the first time I used it. It was great the 2 the product did not want to come out. Than I researched them and read to store the product downward. The 3 time was better. If you want the matte look yes it does settle in our lip crease. If you don't want the creasing use lip gloss. But you will have to reapply. So in my opinion for the price this product is GREAT. I just purchased every color!!!!
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Lip Stain! I honestly LOVE this lip stain. I first got the Crimson Crush lip stain and it went on as a vibrant, richly pigmented red, and was perfectly even and colorful after two layers. It lasts FOREVER. It's great for just about any and every occasion. I loved it so much I got it in Pink Petal, which is a lovely pink shade that goes perfectly with my favorite tinted lip balm. Then, I got it in Nude Nectar, which is a gorgeous natural light red-brown colour. So happy with this product! However, I do recommend applying a lip balm after application, as it can dry out your lips.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a good product smh I bought this a few months back and I didn't like it then. There was very little to no product on the felt tip. It was watery which made my lips peel. Overall just a very bad product. I wouldn't recommend it. I do like all the other elf products I've purchased thus far
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for. :( I bought a 3 pack with Hot Tomate, Fuchsia Fusion, and Crimson Crush from Target.  FF and CC tint nicely and last a surprisingly long time for a cheap brand!  But you will need to apply a gloss or moisturizing Chapstick after because this product is not moisturizing. I had to through away HT away right out of the box because it was dry and would not work. :( Not really impressed with my first Elf purchase, I don't think I will be buying another product even if the price is good.
Date published: 2014-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Color pay off is awesome I have this in PINK PETAL. When I first got it and swatched it on the back of my hand I didn't like it. When I applied 2-3 times on the lips the color pay off is awesome! I added some lip gloss to give it a nice glossy look and love it!
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay for the price. Tends to settle in every fine line/ crack of your lips.Brush is kind of hard...bristles are a bit rough and makes it hard to apply color.Feels like you're using a hard marker to paint them.With that being said- color lasts...and lasts...and lasts.I even rubbed them hard with my hands and no color rub off. So thats a plus...I do not have much experience with brush tip lip stains so may try again a few times to see if i can get it to look nice (minimize chapping etc.)
Date published: 2014-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from cheap i bought the berry blush and pink petal and they might as well not bother with the different color packaging because it made my lips the same color. just a shade darker w a reddish tint. it also settles in every fine line chap stick doesn't really help either. would not recommend should have read the reviews but it's cheap makeup so what can u expect
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful This product is very nice to layer, gives good color, and looks great with lipgloss; but it does have a rather unpleasant smell that some people will not be able to look over. Having said that, it stays on for an adequate amount of time, and it feels as if you don't have anything on your lips at all. Helpful tip: apply lip balm after use, it helps moisturize your lips and helps the color last!
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love lip stain i bought crimson cruch, pink petal, hot tamale and fuchsia and i love all of them... i dont know if dry fast or not but at the moment are awsome
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! Bought this product in crimson crush and loved it so much went back the next day and got every color. (:
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ridiculous Get a magic marker and rub it just on parts of your lip. That's pretty much it. Dry, uneven, wears off leaving a line around your mouth...and after a week open it smelled spoiled. Why oh why did I buy more than one? I love liquid lipstick and hypergloss but this Essential product is a dud.
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the $0.99 I bought this because I wanted a new summer lip stain that would last throughout the day! This doesn't really last long at all and it is super drying! Not comfortable to put on either, and the color looks very uneven! Usually love elf products but in my opinion, the lip stain is not even worth the $0.99 I paid for it!
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lip Stain I just started using this product. I love it. It lasts a long time and is a great price. Thank you elf :)
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from uggh the smell I loved the color but omg the smell!! It really smells weird and I could not get over that and threw it away :(
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it, but I'm not much for lip stains I liked it. Think the quality is great! The price is great! My colors are lovely and can intensified with more product. 
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HORRIBLE!! I bought 2 the other day and they are horrible. The berry one worked ok but the light pink one didn't work at all!! Barely came out so I threw it out. I'll never buy another one.
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Learn how to use it and you will LOVE it too!!! I'll start by saying I am light skinned/Olive complexion and I bought the fusia one from Walmart. I am skeptical when it comes to colors only because I have full features as opposed to having defined ones. (I've been told I resemble Jessica Alba if that matters at all.) Certain colors will make me look like I have huge balloon lips. That being said, I LOVE THIS COLOR. Yes if you use the tip part, you're going to be coloring your lips forever. However if you turn it on its side, you will get the most use of out the product. Very easy to use. Mine didn't have a smell at all (I read reviews with this complaint). Also, it doesn't dry too fast so you are able to rub your lips together or whatever. But once it dries it is there to stay. BUT nothing a wet cloth can't rub off. It does have like a matte/dry look to it depending on your lips so I used a little CHAPSTICK to make it look like a normal lipstick. Mine looked more dry than matte. I ate food and it was still there so I def recommend if you are going out and you don't have to keep reapplying, or worry about getting it on anything or anyone ;)I ended up doing like a "smokey" brown eye so it kind of gave the look of a 20's flapperish but in a sexy sultry way
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst elf product I love elf, and I have found a use for anything I've bought. Except this. I've tried it on freshly exfoliated lips and it still just sticks to dry areas and edges, and nothing else. It finally fills in after multiple coats, and then wears right off the smooth areas in minutes. Plus, smells like spray paint. Actually, I think spray paint smells better. I've tried it on perfectly clean dry lips, moisturized lips, etc. I bought three colors on sale and tossed them after a month of non use.
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Color, Not so Great Product I've been looking for a deep red, matte lip color for ages. I found this product in Hot Tamale at my local Target and was thrilled. As a singer, my lips need to be very prominent on stage, so I was ecstatic when lined my lips and saw the deep red. But as I started filling in my lips, I saw that the coverage was very uneven, and it looked very patchy after I completely filled in my lips. I ended up have to do several layers on small spots of my lips just to get it to look even. The product also flaked off after only 2 hours of wearing it. The next time I tried to wear it, I discovered that the applicator was empty after just one use!  I will definitely not be buying this product again because of the poor quality, even though I love the color.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish it lasted Longer I love these lip stains. But when you use daily, it only lasts maybe a week. I will definitely be buying it again for my wedding. But probably won't use on a daily basis anymore. I tried it out three times and each pen only lasted a week :( But it does work and lasts a very long time on your lips.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love love i brought two of the lip stains nude nectar and pink petals I love them so much im gonna get the rest offline thanks to target for having some of these items on the floor only thing is you need a glossy gloss to put over your lips and the color will def pop no more lipsticks for me thank you elf so much for making these lip stains ima throw away all of my lipsticks now lol
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Great I bought Berry Blush from Target. This lip stain is very dry, which is to be expected from a lip stain, but the product itself is drying up. I haven't even had this for a month yet! I keep the cap on at all times unless I'm using it, and it's still gotten very dry to the point that it flakes slightly when I try to apply it to my lips. I use lip balm, and my lips are not naturally dry or sensitive. This product just wasn't very good, in my opinion, and right from the beginning I didn't like the packaging or the marker-like look of it.
Date published: 2014-07-10