Essential Lip Stain is rated 3.0046 out of 5 by 650.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A little disappointed... I have trouble with most stains being quite dry and I have trouble putting it on evenly. This one unfortunately was not different and I've used better, but for a more expensive price. Overall, was kind of small, is pretty dry, and hard to spread evenly. Disappointed because I really like the colour.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use with care! There's definitely a learning curve with this product. I got "nude nectar," and when I first tried it out, I used too much. My lips were way too red for something labeled "nude." But I got the hang of it. The key is to make sure your lips are smooth before applying it. You don't necessarily need a full exfoliation, but just wipe them with a cloth before applying. I like using the tip first to trace the outline of my lips. Then I apply in short, even strokes to prevent bleeding. You need to apply it evenly to the bottom lip AND top lip because it doesn't "rub together" like lipstick. But it lasts 4 to 6 hours, through food (and kissing). It has a nice finish, so you don't need gloss on top. (And the product does wear off faster if you put gloss on top.)
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Drying. poor application I bought this a few weeks ago to hold me over while I waited for some liquid lipsticks to ship in the mail. It went on terribly (streaky and patchy) and even after many swipes was not opaque or even. It was also very drying and wiped off very easily. It dried up so quick that I only got to use it a few times.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed For $2 it isn't bad but was expecting a stain that would stay on my lips and last. Color did not stay. I have lipsticks that stay longer than this stain. Also the applicator was irritating to the lips.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the colors I have several of these and I love the colors and the staying power of the stain. I apply it in the morning and it will last me all day.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted I bought the Nude Nectar colored lip stain. It glides on with ease, the color is good, true to the packaging and it really lasts. You can use it either as a lip liner or fill in the entire lip. Great product.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Lasts I love lip stains. Unfortunately not all stains perform that well. This one is great! It lasts under a lip gloss without bleeding or fading.
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Completely dry when I opened it I bought this from a CVS near my house for three dollars. I was so excited to use it cause I was starting my lip stain collection. When I got home I automatically opened the package and when I tried it..... It was completely dried out. Not once did I get to use it. So dissapointed
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't stain, dries your lips, and little product The actual amount of product in the container is pathetic. I only got maybe 3 uses out of this before I could barely even see the color come out. The formula dries your lips out, but on the bright side the pigmentation is good. It's called a lip stain, but the formula does not leave an actual stain on your lips. After eating even a few potato chips, the color wears off.
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was a cool idea. Kind of like a magic marker for lips. Pretty colors but it didn't last as long on my lips as expected and the stick dried out like a magic marker does after a few uses. Their is an eyeliner you sell with this same concept and has the same problem.
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Lick Your Lips! Bought this product and thought it went on nicely, the color seemed true. But any time I licked my lips, the color would stain my tongue which would then stain my teeth. Never wore it again.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smelled like Puke I really wanted to like this, and I did for about two days. It worked great and I put it under my liquid lipstick so that if my lipstick rubbed off the color was still there. After about two days it dried out for the most part, but I could get it to work if I tried hard enough. After a week and a half I went to use it and I couldn't, it smelled like throw up, and I had to throw it away. I have no idea what caused the smell, but I don't think I will be buying it again.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from mixed feelings I loved this lip stain when I first purchased it (berry blush) it stayed put, it looked great (I also exfoliated my lips and put chapstick on before I applied the stain to prevent dryness and patches) My only and biggest problem is it DRIES OUT QUICKLY. The first satin I bought lasted one day, the next lasted for a week. The price is great so I'm not too angry but it is frustrating that a crayola marker lasts longer
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dries out I have purchased three of them all of them dry out within a week and they just don't go on smooth enough. Your lips feel dry
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not true to color This lip stain certainly isn't anything to write home about, it's not the worst but it's not the best. It's rather patchy so you have to apply a couple layers to get a somewhat even application. It also is not true to color at all, the color of the tube or the swatches on line are not even close.
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great colors-poor formula I love the idea of these stains and the colors are good. Unfortunately, they dry out in a month or less.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! In my personal opinion, this is the best brand(that I've tried) for lip stain! It actually stains!!! It stays on through gloss, dinner, and water! It's a little rough to the touch but the outcome is worth it! Loved it!
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from smelled like something died in my tube I bought this and used it only once because of the unholy smell coming from the tube. It smelled like old cheese and dead flesh, I am not kidding. I actually kept it around for a few weeks to mess with people... "hey does this smell weird to you?" and I'd make them sniff it - I legit lost a few friends, probably shouldn't make people gag for fun but somehow I thought I might get my money's worth if I managed to at least get a few laughs out of it. Worked okay, maybe I got a bad batch - a shockingly bad batch that blew my mind with disgusting. Not gambling on this product again.
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Go To I absolutely LOVE this stuff! It takes some practice to apply, but once you learn how to do it without it streaking, it is great! Think of it like a water color marker for your lips, the more times you go over one spot, the darker the color gets . . . I use this in my daily routine and it is a great way to make yourself look ten times better with almost zero effort. But, if you want it to last a long time, I suggest adding a clear lip gloss/chapstick on top of it. My only complaint is that these dry out so darn fast!
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it!! when putting it on it worked like a charm, I loved the color and everything. I ended up eating a snack and the color was still on good. I then ate some dinner as the color almost completely came off. But i mean I kind of expected it. Overall it was great for the price!!
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from AWFUL!!!!! I bought this today because it was the only lip stain at the store and I'm extremely dissapointed. the color is horrible and goes on your lips splotchy. Its difficult to apply and doesn't look even and came off on my tongue. please save yourself and don't buy this.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I am disappointed. I bought this in Berry Blush and was excited to try it, but when I put it on my lips started to tingle (not in the way that a lip plumper does, but in a very uncomfortable and kind of painful way) and burn. The color was only moderately close to as advertised and looked faded from the second I put it on. It also smells like rubbing alcohol. I love e.l.f, but this product was a disappointment.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! I bought this about a month ago and I love it! The colors are beautiful and last so long and never wear off onto things!
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from :( I bought this two weeks ago, and it dried out on me on the second day. :(
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Obsessed So I first saw these at cvs. I wanted a stain because lipstick is too messy for me. I bought the nude and the berry. Omg, I am obsessed with the color of the berry. It's beautiful and dark just like I wanted. I just used the nude the other day. It's not nude at all but very red and stunning. I just bought three more berry ones and can't wait for the to come. I'll be getting more nude ones as well. They are especially amazing because I can put my Chapstick on top of them and the color doesn't come off. You can also make them as dark or as light as you want. Please don't ever stop making this product.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I was very disappointed with this product. It ran out after about 2 uses. A few weeks later I tried it again and it was applying, but there was a horrible smell.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love it, I usually hate all lipsticks and have a hard time getting them to stay but this is so far the best I have found. I usually top it with a lip gloss.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Worst Product Ever! I got this in color Nude Nectar a week ago. I got it at Old Navy for 4 CAD. I am so disappointed. It was a complete waste of money. I support elf for being Vegan & Cruelty Free (except for a few brushes) but a marker would do a far more descent job than this. It barley had enough color give for one application, it is dry and wears off easily. I wanted to do a touch up after half an hour and it was completely dry and gave no color.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of money first time I used it it dried out before i even finished my lips .waste of money
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soo bad they don't stain or stay on your lips, it kind of feels like a marker.
Date published: 2016-05-02