Essential Lip Stain is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 691.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this product!! Today is the first day I use this, and I love it! I love the color and it last for hours.I will definitely buy more.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not even worth two dollars As soon as I put it on my lips, it felt like thin water. It went on very sheer and patchy. As it dried, it looked like my lips were bleeding from how patchy it was. It was also very dry and chalky. However, it did come off very easily when I wiped it with a wet washcloth.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome unique product w/ a small learning curve This is the only lip color product I've ever used that truly stays put, never bleeds outside my lips or looks messy, and the color stays true for many hours of wear. It's odorless and textureless-- totally MLBB. I love the precision of the pointed tip for application and how there's no chance of it melting or smushing or making a mess in my purse. This comes with me everywhere.A lot of the poor ratings here mention "too little product" or "could only use it a couple times"-- I thought I had this issue too when I first started using the product. But that issue was resolved once I realized this stuff must be applied to *completely bare, dry lips.* If there's even a hint of balm or lipstick or oily product on your lips pre-application, it will seal up the 'pores' on the marker from which the color is dispensed, effectively ruining it, and it will seem like the thing dried up or is prematurely empty. It probably isn't! You just have to be very protective of the marker tips. I like to layer with it but you must always take care to apply this lip stain BEFORE anything else. I'm honey-blonde, blue eyed, medium-yellow skinned and the color Nude Nectar is extremely flattering on me and is my everyday go-to. As another reviewer mentioned, it is indeed a darker 'nude' than most. Crimson Crush is a deep classic red that would look good on nearly anyone I think. Berry Blush applies as a rich brownish-berry that looks beautiful on dark skin tones or pale girls seeking a dramatic look. I find them all very wearable because the coverage is initially sheer but very buildable. There used to be a bright coral color called Hot Tamale that I loved, too, and I hope it returns!For $2 you should give these a try, especially if you've spent a lifetime frustrated with every other formulation and brand of lipstick smudging everywhere as I have. It's a really special product and there's nothing else like it on the market.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just okay... - Darker Skin tone I was really disappointed with this product, it's beautiful and really enhances the lips, but it stains too deeply on the part of the lip between the dry and wetter area - making it look like your lip has peeled away!
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like these lip markers I purchased at a local retailer and it's the right red I was looking for. It looks like people wither love these or hate em but I love it and I put clear gloss over the top
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Worth Any Money I bought this a couple months ago and it was a complete waste of money. It goes on nice and looks nice for exactly 2 minutes and then its drying and doesn't go on evenly. The color doesn't match the bottle. There are other elf lip products that are way better
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You can do better Mine came basically dried out, there was very little color pay off and it was very patchy and hard to apply. I also found despite having minimal color, it felt very drying to the lips. Try their lipsticks if you want good color, this product is not worth it.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not really worth buying This was sort of an impulse buy for me. I'm usually on the lookout for new nude lip colors to try and when I spotted Nude Nectar on my local grocery store's ELF shelf, I figured it couldn't hurt to give it a try. I had never used a lip stain before (frankly, I'd never heard of such a thing), so it was a bit of a cosmetic experiment for me.I'm not sure how this product compares to other lip stains, but it was a strange makeup experience. My biggest problem with this product was the color was nowhere near nude. It started out as a shade of brown and I learned very quickly that if you go over your lips with this product several times like you would with lip gloss or lipstick, you wind up with a progressively darker color. In my attempt to apply an even coat, I wound up with a deep blood red color on my lips. If I was going for a more dramatic or vampy look, then that would have been great, but I was hoping for a more subtle and natural color.Another strange thing about this lip stain is it does not come off with makeup remover, water, soap and water or just plain wiping your lips off. But you know what does take it off? Saliva. Don't even think about licking your lips while this stuff is on because it will come right off. It's kind of sticky when you first apply it and while I did like that it dried pretty quickly, the drying also kind of makes you forget you're wearing it and you can wind up easily removing it by accident.Don't let this taint your opinion of the entire brand, though. I adore ELF as a whole and love most of the products they have to offer, but the Essential Lip Stain was just plain not a good cosmetic item. If you want nude lip colors, check out the matte lipsticks on this site.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly What I Wanted! I bought this at a local retailer and loved it. For a lip color to work for me I want it to last all night and not feel heavy. The stain goes on well, but is drying. I keep chapstick on my lips anyways so this was fine. I ate, drank, and even kissed without this stain coming off! I love it!
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the only thing so far this is the only thing so far that I am not a fan of. it was like a marker and made my lips look cartoonish. I like the balms better!
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just No! I got this in petal pink and it was simply awful. It felt and looked like I coloured in my lips with a marker. It was very drying, which I expected, it is a very cheap lip stain after all. The colour went on very blotchy. I was able to make it look passable by adding a lip gloss over top, but that defeated the point of wearing a stain. I notice elf has a lip stain in one of the other lines that I might try instead, I am a little hesitant since this one was so bad. Do not buy this one!!
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no no and more no bought this once at my university book store just to give my lips a touch of color. let me just be frank and say that this is basically like taking a crayola marker to your lips and coloring them in; the tip is very stiff and very little product even comes out. and when it does, it's hard to make it even and ensure you don't go out of your natural lip line. i didn't like this at all; probably my least favorite thing from elf
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I never wear lipstick, but I love this! I can not wear lipstick. I have never found lipstick I like - it never looks right; it never lasts. I have tried everything. I bought this in Nude Nectar on a whim since it was so affordable, and I am so happy that I did! I can know actually wear lipstick! I have dark red hair, a light olive complexion without freckles, and green eyes - this shade is perfect with my hair and skin tone. I like to layer a gloss over this lip stain, and it really does last. I will probably buy about 100 of these so I will never run out. I am so happy that I can actually have color on my lips!
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am new to makeup and found E.L.F. and fell in love. It's great because it's so affordable and I can try all sorts of things without having to pay too much or feel like I wasted a ton of money if I don't like it. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THESE STAINS! I really love that you can just put them on and they last all day. I have worn one all day, through eating and it stayed. I love the colors! I have all 4 of them and they are the best! They are easy to apply because you can use the point to go around the edges of your lips and then fill it in with the side.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from long lasting I'm always so iffy about lip colors- I can never find a shade that looks good on me. I'm SO glad I decided to get this on a whim. The Crimson Crush is such a nice shade! And it lasts crazy long.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like This Alot Bought this a couple times and prefer the lighter colors. They don't last as long as some other brands but the Price Is Right!
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice color, but a little drying I bought this lip stain in Crimson Crush. It was very vivid and long-lasting, but it did leave my lips dry!
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pink Petal Best I have purchased this lip stain since it first came out its wonderful I apply chapstick then the lip stain it stays for very long time wonderful
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. Buying more tomorrow :) I bought this today in Crimson Crush and then I bought the matte lip color, I'm not sure what color it was either rich red or wine but I like to apply a stain before the matte for a real long lasting color and this definately did the trick, I ate, drank and even smoked, ssh, and none of it came off, lasted the entire day without needing to be touched up. Considering I spent like $4 on both I will definately be stock piling. If you didn't feel the stain was enough try the matte lip color on top, awesome long lasting lip color. I love it. (& yes it does dry ... Its a stain, not a lipstick or gloss)
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like the idea Maybe it's just me, but both lip stains I purchased neither one seems to go on evenly or smoothlÿ. I really like the idea and when it goes on in places it looks really good. I even exfoliated prior to application and had the same result. I'll keep working with it and look for some suggestions from others.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I can still somewhat use it This product worked for a little bit with another color on top, but the color was weird(berry blush) and it was sticky. It dried out quickly too.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really long lasting This lip stain is nicely pigmented and doesn't smear. I got the nude nectar and really liked it. The only problem is when removing my lips had some remaining "stains" pieces and the color is kind of hard to tell when buying online but liked the color I got in the end. Overall really good value and lip stain quality.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buildable but streaky I like to pair this with the elf lip tint in Grapefruit, together they create a beautiful deep red and the lip balm tint helps to keep your lips from drying out. I find you have to apply two to three layers of this because it is very streaky, but the colour payoff is impeccable! The tip is very nice and pointed and long so you can get into the tiny corners and use the long side to cover larger areas. I would recommend this but only is you get the lip balm tint to go along with it to hydrate your lips. I have eaten and drank with this one and it didn't come off, even when I tried to use a makeup remover it still left some pigmentation!
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it but..... So I really like this lip stain! I love the color and it looks amazing but it doesn't go on very well (goes on choppy) and I noticed it doesn't last long either which is odd because it's a stain. But overall those are the only two issues I have so far and I have worn it twice. I love the color and it looks amazing!
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keep With Me All The Time I bought Nude Nectar and I am in loooooove with the color. It's like red and nude at the same time? Amazing. I haven't had any issues with drying out. It's not as long lasting as I want a stain to be, which is the con for me. But honestly, I will get this again in a heartbeat.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worthless Bought it in two colors. Went on nicely, pleasant coverage. But after just one use each, it completely dried out. No more stain in the marker at all. Luckily it's cheap, but I'm never buying this product again and I don't recommend this to anyone. Waste of money.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ok... I have a pink one and i wonder if it came damage or it doesnt work becuz only like 2 times only it worked and then nothing oh well
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Learning curve but great I have had mine for a long long time. I wear it a lot. And it hasn't dried out. I just do a quick swipe to give my face some color in the morning. It lasts a long time as long as I don't forget that I have it on and apply chapstick. It did take a bit of getting used to applying. I have found that layering thin quick swipes is the way to go. Don't try to outline. It is drying but all long lasting lip products seem to be.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth it The lip stain was a total not worth the wait nor purchase. It wasn't worth it. The stain goes on light and doesn't make a statement. It absorbs quickly.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stain lasts pretty long for the price I have these in the colors crimson crush and nude nectar. They look gorgeous on the lips, and the stain lasts about 2-3 hours without touch ups.
Date published: 2016-12-30