Essential Lip Stain is rated 3.0177 out of 5 by 565.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hate it... I LOVE ELF products but I absolutely hated this. I bought this from a local walmart and was so excited to try it, I opened the package and I thought wow this looks like a marker, I literally felt like I was coloring on my lips with a marker. The color wasn't bad at first but a couple minutes later the color darkened and was just terrible!
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stuff I bought 3 different shades of this stuff about 8 months ago, and they're great. All 3 still work (haven't dried out). I will say that they do seem to dry darker, so the color isn't 100% true.The color usually lasts about 5-6 hrs on me.
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nude nectar I have uneven lips, i got this because it looked close to my natural lip color so i could make them look more even, 5 stars cause it did what i wanted it to. Used to use it every day still love it and all, check swatches to match it the color on the screen looks pretty different to me at least.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to! I have most of these lip stains and I love them all! Granted, its not like other lip stains... this is like drawing on your lips with a marker. But it works! And the color lasts all day. They also work well with other colors. I usually top off my stain with a layer of clear gloss or lipstick.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dries out very fast I was not very happy with this product. I love e.l.f., however this lip stain dried out after only a couple of uses. It is now very difficult to get any color out of it :(
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stays On for a little bit I bought this product about a month ago and I would say is okay. I wasn't super impressed by it but the color is pretty and it's definitely buildable.
Date published: 2015-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this because it's so easy to build on the color, and it stays on fairly well but it's a good idea to reapply when it wears off the color want. I just got it and so far I'm really liking it. There's no taste or smell and it honestly feels like a marker, but it is a little drying. Overall though, really nice for some color without being as high maintenance as lipstick.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality and Dries Out Quickly I bought this product and really had high hopes. When I first put on the product it worked perfectly. Then, by the next use it was dried out, and not worth using. Occasionally, if I don't use it for awhile it will work pretty well on half my lips then it will dry out again. It kinda works like a Crayola Marker.
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from only got a single use It was dried out and only got one single use. It really was like a marker
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This is my "go to" lip product. I use it every day. It stays on almost all day and I only need to apply a lip gloss to keep my lips hydrated. Love that I don't have to reapply several times a day and the color stays nice!
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lip stain for the cost! I bought this lip stain for 2 reasons. 1, you cant beat the price! 2, I don't like reapplying or having to worry about a lip product all day long. This lip stain is true to color and long wearing. I applied it first thing in the morning (8:30ish), worked a 10 hour day, drank my tea, ate lunch and the color was still on when I went to take my makeup off later that night (7:30pm). It did fade throughout my day, but you still knew I had color on my lips. I got multiple compliments on the color throughout the day as well. I will be repurchasing and trying others!
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Gem at the drugstore I have found ELF lip stain! Such great pigmentation! Now, you should know there is a learning curve with this one. AT first, you will be surprised because it stays right where you put it. You can't juts smooth it around your lips. But once you get used to how you apply it, it will look beautiful and stay strong for up to about eight hours. If you eat or drink something, you may want to apply a little bit more to the inner part of your lips, though. All in all, for $2, this a GREAT DEAL!
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE LIP STAIN I'VE ALWAYS WANTED!!! This is literally the best darn $2 I have EVER spent on make-up in my 25 years of make-up purchases, and now I own multiples of all the colors in case they stop making them. I have had one application last me a full EIGHT HOURS. ***BUT YOU HAVE TO USE IT RIGHT*** Yes, it looks and feels exactly like a magic marker: and like a marker, you HAVE TO STORE IT TIP DOWN to keep the applicator tip moist and BE SURE TO CAP IT TIGHTLY.For best results: exfoliate your lips and dry them really well. Apply the stain in two sweeps per lip, and let dry before sweeping again to build color. THEN APPLY ANY GLOSS/CHAPSTICK TO SEAL. This stuff is not waterproof, so even after it's dry, if you lick your lips or drink/eat, it'll come off. BUT . . . if you seal it with chapstick or some other gloss (I use Bonne Belle LipSmackers!), it will beautifully last HOURS, even all day if you're careful when you eat. Having said that, I frequently reapply after lunch for a fresher look.I confidently wear a red lip 5 days a week now because of this product, and women ask me ALL the time about what I'm wearing.
Date published: 2015-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Stain Well and Smells Weird I bought 2 different shades of this and was disappointed by both. To begin with, they weren't very pigmented and went on in a very, very light coat. You could barely see any color difference between your natural lips and with the stain on. The color wears away easily, and definitely doesn't stain. The applicator is like a marker tip, and the color seemed to run out very quickly. Probably lasted about a week. After a week, it started smelling weird (I'm guessing since the marker like-tip starts the absorb saliva/bacteria from applying it on your lips directly, but I could be wrong). I discovered that my friend had tried the same lip stain, and she experienced the same problems I did. I just gave up on the product and bought a different brand
Date published: 2015-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent lip stain, but leaves lips feeling dry I bought the petal pink, and when used alone, my lips feel dry and cracked even though they don't really appear that way. I recommend using with with a gloss or balm on top, or similar to a lip liner under lipstick so when they lip stick begins to fade, it's less noticeable. I will likely give another color a try--Fuchsia Fusion--since I've been into fuchsia hues on my lips this summer.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these as they go on so easily yes....I've bought this product many times. Love it
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Colors I bought Pink, Berry, Crimson and Fuchsia. The pigmentation is fantastic but they are super drying and they smell weird.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does not wear off AT ALL. I just bought this and I LOVE it! So does my husband. He hates it when I wear lipsticks because he does not like it when they come off on him. This goes no where. You definitely need a steady hand to apply it. I saw someone mention uneven color..I used the tip of the marker to line my lips, and the side for filling in the color. No unevenness for me. Also, great matte finish, but I wanted a glossy look. So, I put gloss on top, and it did not mess up the stain. LOVE LOVE LOVE
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Lip Stain I've Used! This is a lip stain! It's not meant to be glossy or moisturizing, it's meant to stick and stain your lips. This lip stain doesn't get stuck in the lip creases or crumbles off your lips. This will stay for hours. I highly recommend using a clear lip balm or lipstick to get moisture. I'll be buying every color of this and will be using it everyday. I absolutely love this!
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible if i could give a negative star i would. i just bought this lip stain 20mins ago in cvs and i was excited. And got greatly disappointed as soon as i applied it it didn't even work IT WAS VERY VERY DRY IT FELT LIKE WHEN YOU HAVE A MARKER AND YOU RUN OUT OF INK I WANT MY MONEY BACK IM SOOOO MAD AND I WANTED TO TRY THIS PRDUCT MYSELF TO SEE IF THESE REVIEWS WERE TRUE AND THE WERE
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a flop I love e.l.f. products, but this thing was a major let down. The color was pretty, but if I wanted an exfoliator for my lips - I would have bought one. If it had a gram of moisture in it at any point it evaporated long before I received it. Do not recommend this at all.
Date published: 2015-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed... I bought several of these with high hopes, but they were quickly dashed. The felt tip was very dry on all of the colors, and it went on very unevenly. Literally like using a felt tip marker on your lips. The colors were really off as well. All around, a bust.
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I need to play around with this a bit more. I just recently purchased this lip stain and it isn't bad, the color is just a tad different on my lips than it looks from the packaging. It's also kind of an uneven application, but it's still very pretty!
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from meh.. I am a black woman with Fair skin, I bought crimson crush and nude nectar and neither look like the color represented on the packaging, not even close.I bought this thinking it would be a little more product in it. I get that it was $2, but jeez. After using it twice I returned it to CVS because there was nothing left.The only upside is it lasted a good while, about 6 hours and for me fast dryignis a good thing.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lip stain color off. I had previously bought 2 different shades of the lip stain. I liked the lighter shade, and ordered 2 more of it, only to discover that it is much darker than the one I had reviously received....disappointed.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a Fan I wanted to give these a try since they were so cheap, but I'm honestly not a fan of these. I bought it in the Petal Pink color and I tried it, and it looks like my lips are bleeding. I love ELF products, I love their lipsticks, their glosses and their matte sticks, but this is one product I will stay away from when it comes to purchasing again. Way too dark, and the colors are not what they appear to be on they website or packaging.
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dried too fast Great at first, but within the first week, it dried out.
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Dry Though I'm a fan of the color, it takes several applications to even show up. The brush is very dry to begin with, making me think it won't last very long. And the application is uneven, making you have to put on several coats, which dries your lips out a lot. However, the pigmentation really does stain and is long-lasting once you've gotten the hang of the application.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from patchy and drying I have never used a felt lip pen before, but I figured I'd give this a try. The pen was drying and came out very patchy, took 3 layers to fill in. I tried exfoliating my lips, applying this and then covering with a hydrating gloss but it did not help.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I have this in Nude Nectar and Crimson Crush and I love them both. I am a sucker for lip stains and I absolutely love this one. I use Crimson Crush as a liner and a base when I am doing a red lip and it holds for hours and keeps my lipstick from bleeding into the lines around my mouth. I am ordering two new colors and more of the Nude Nectar and I can't wait until they come in.
Date published: 2015-08-02