Essential Lip Stain is rated 3.004694835680751 out of 5 by 639.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smelled like Puke I really wanted to like this, and I did for about two days. It worked great and I put it under my liquid lipstick so that if my lipstick rubbed off the color was still there. After about two days it dried out for the most part, but I could get it to work if I tried hard enough. After a week and a half I went to use it and I couldn't, it smelled like throw up, and I had to throw it away. I have no idea what caused the smell, but I don't think I will be buying it again.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from mixed feelings I loved this lip stain when I first purchased it (berry blush) it stayed put, it looked great (I also exfoliated my lips and put chapstick on before I applied the stain to prevent dryness and patches) My only and biggest problem is it DRIES OUT QUICKLY. The first satin I bought lasted one day, the next lasted for a week. The price is great so I'm not too angry but it is frustrating that a crayola marker lasts longer
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dries out I have purchased three of them all of them dry out within a week and they just don't go on smooth enough. Your lips feel dry
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not true to color This lip stain certainly isn't anything to write home about, it's not the worst but it's not the best. It's rather patchy so you have to apply a couple layers to get a somewhat even application. It also is not true to color at all, the color of the tube or the swatches on line are not even close.
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great colors-poor formula I love the idea of these stains and the colors are good. Unfortunately, they dry out in a month or less.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! In my personal opinion, this is the best brand(that I've tried) for lip stain! It actually stains!!! It stays on through gloss, dinner, and water! It's a little rough to the touch but the outcome is worth it! Loved it!
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from smelled like something died in my tube I bought this and used it only once because of the unholy smell coming from the tube. It smelled like old cheese and dead flesh, I am not kidding. I actually kept it around for a few weeks to mess with people... "hey does this smell weird to you?" and I'd make them sniff it - I legit lost a few friends, probably shouldn't make people gag for fun but somehow I thought I might get my money's worth if I managed to at least get a few laughs out of it. Worked okay, maybe I got a bad batch - a shockingly bad batch that blew my mind with disgusting. Not gambling on this product again.
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Go To I absolutely LOVE this stuff! It takes some practice to apply, but once you learn how to do it without it streaking, it is great! Think of it like a water color marker for your lips, the more times you go over one spot, the darker the color gets . . . I use this in my daily routine and it is a great way to make yourself look ten times better with almost zero effort. But, if you want it to last a long time, I suggest adding a clear lip gloss/chapstick on top of it. My only complaint is that these dry out so darn fast!
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it!! when putting it on it worked like a charm, I loved the color and everything. I ended up eating a snack and the color was still on good. I then ate some dinner as the color almost completely came off. But i mean I kind of expected it. Overall it was great for the price!!
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from AWFUL!!!!! I bought this today because it was the only lip stain at the store and I'm extremely dissapointed. the color is horrible and goes on your lips splotchy. Its difficult to apply and doesn't look even and came off on my tongue. please save yourself and don't buy this.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I am disappointed. I bought this in Berry Blush and was excited to try it, but when I put it on my lips started to tingle (not in the way that a lip plumper does, but in a very uncomfortable and kind of painful way) and burn. The color was only moderately close to as advertised and looked faded from the second I put it on. It also smells like rubbing alcohol. I love e.l.f, but this product was a disappointment.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! I bought this about a month ago and I love it! The colors are beautiful and last so long and never wear off onto things!
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from :( I bought this two weeks ago, and it dried out on me on the second day. :(
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Obsessed So I first saw these at cvs. I wanted a stain because lipstick is too messy for me. I bought the nude and the berry. Omg, I am obsessed with the color of the berry. It's beautiful and dark just like I wanted. I just used the nude the other day. It's not nude at all but very red and stunning. I just bought three more berry ones and can't wait for the to come. I'll be getting more nude ones as well. They are especially amazing because I can put my Chapstick on top of them and the color doesn't come off. You can also make them as dark or as light as you want. Please don't ever stop making this product.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I was very disappointed with this product. It ran out after about 2 uses. A few weeks later I tried it again and it was applying, but there was a horrible smell.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love it, I usually hate all lipsticks and have a hard time getting them to stay but this is so far the best I have found. I usually top it with a lip gloss.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Worst Product Ever! I got this in color Nude Nectar a week ago. I got it at Old Navy for 4 CAD. I am so disappointed. It was a complete waste of money. I support elf for being Vegan & Cruelty Free (except for a few brushes) but a marker would do a far more descent job than this. It barley had enough color give for one application, it is dry and wears off easily. I wanted to do a touch up after half an hour and it was completely dry and gave no color.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of money first time I used it it dried out before i even finished my lips .waste of money
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soo bad they don't stain or stay on your lips, it kind of feels like a marker.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as well as higher priced brands I just finished a tube of much higher priced lip stain. I bought Elf to see how it stacked up against other brands. I think it is long wearing without drying out my lips. I do store it felt tip down so it just slides onto my lips. I let the stain dry for a few minutes before I apply Elf shimmer gloss. Together they are wonderful.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love this product I have used this product, particularly the berry blush lip stain, for about two years and I absolutely love it! I constantly get compliments on the color and it lasts quite a while. It is far much better than other more expensive lip stains & I plan on using it forever so please never discontinue it.
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from its a miss I have gotten 3 of these at different times, at different stores,,not one worked well. They were to dry and didnt color at all,,,or not much. I saw a reveiw where someone said to put it on your finger first, then apply it, That didnt' work either. Sorry elf,,love your products, but this one ia a BIG miss.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing with 1 exception I have bought 3 different color of this lip stain. I LOVE them all, with the exception of 1. I have bought, Pink Petal, Crimson Crush, and Nude Nectar. Pink Petal is great for just an everyday cute pink lip. It is MUCH lighter than the picture and tube makes it appear. Crimson Crush is great for a dramatic dark red lip. If you like the 40s kind of style this is PERFECT for you! and Nude Nectar, I really didn't love this one. The tube is very misleading on how it actually looks. It's ok, but nothing great. I personally just didn't like the color much. The stain of all 3 last for hours, but come off as soon as you eat or drink much of anything. But I will continue buying these for forever! Definitely worth the money!!
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value. Just need to synchronize the moistness of the product so that they are not dry when we get them out to use. I realize that these are susceptible to drying out but they should never have to be returned to the store after 1 or 2 uses.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stain I love this lip stain. I have it in 3 colors. It's long lasting and goes on super smooth
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very staining I bought this a few months ago, in Berry Blast and Pink Petal. At first, I was mildly impressed (I'd never used a lip stain before) but about two days after I'd started using it, the stain started lasting for like maybe an hour? The only reason I still use this product is the fact it feels very nice on my lips. If you need a bold color for a thirty minute event, sure, go ahead, but if you want a lipstain that will last for a party, this will be totally gone disappointingly quick. I may give it another shot, but I don't particularly plan to.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the product I was impressed with the color & length this stain would stay on my lips (as compared to other lip stains I had tried). However, I have discovered that they seem to run out on me quickly (the stain from the tube). In just a couple weeks, i would find myself looking for another one. I could justify this because it's cost was only $2.00. I can't find it in any of the stores around here, so I have to order it. The cheapest shipping I have found is $5.99. Making the total price 8 dollars. It's not worth that. I'm sorry to say, the whole tube does not last long enough to justify that price. Is there anyone that could suggest to me a cheaper way to get this, than to order online?
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible I bought this about a month ago from Walmart and was so dissapointed. When i opened the product it was dry. There was no color payoff and the applicator felt like sandpaper on my lips. Not worth the money
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good color but it seems as though there is not a ton of product. Only used once before it started to become more difficult to get enough pigment out. Now I use it as a base color and apply lipstick on top.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for every day! I got the NUDE NECTAR and it is exactly what I was looking for because of the texture ans shade. It gives me a brick red shade which is a little darker than my lips, so it looks very natural. I love it because you can't tell I have it on and it lasts a long time. for 2$ it is so worth it!!!
Date published: 2016-03-07