Primer Eyeshadow is rated 3.5667 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth it Umm, well it doesnt spread well, it will just stick to your finger and not even go on your eyelid, and it will spread a lot on one part of your eye and then another part will be empty! Mehhh
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great if you're in a hurry Yet another product I had high hope's for but if you're expecting something highly pigmented as pictured then its not the right product for you..Very shimmery, creases, and use as a brow highlighter.I ordered the color "Misty Mauve" and no color to it as pictured just a very light shimmering effect.. I even applied about 3 layer's of it and the color to me is more of a combo of light silvery,"pinkish purple" and I don't want my eyelid's looking so shiny..I'll go back to the matte mineral's which is much better and is highly pigmented.. I use it on my brow bone only but will end up giving to my 14 yr.old niece
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is fantastic - A must have I use a little under my eye shadow and it give my look a flawless finish. I have also just put a some on my lids with mascara when heading out the to do running around give a nice soft glow. I got the Sultry Satin after trying this I currently have the remaining colors on order. This is now a staple
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The key is in the application e.l.f. Essential Primer Eyeshadows are great, and I think other reviewers are giving them less than positive reviews possibly because of application technique. Unlike regular primers, which you can dot on and spread without too much care, you must pay close attention to how you apply these gorgeous colors. Use the applicator to dot the product over clean eyelids (with moisturizer if you use it, but no powder, foundation, etc) and then use a light touch (I use my ring finger, because brushes seem to 'steal' all the color away) while the product is STILL WET to distribute it evenly across the lid. You can use a little bit for a sheer wash of color, or a lot for the fullest color impact. (The silver and mauve are STUNNING.) Let the application dry for only a few seconds before you open your eyes. A second coat doesn't work well, and tends to remove some of the first application, so in that sense these are a little fussy, but not by much, and once you learn how to apply them, they are so worth the effort! I have extremely oily skin and eyelids, and even with the best primer, any eyeshadow will crease on my eyes. These primer eyeshadows however, do not. I've worn them for 12+ hours and they still look great. The best use for me is applying one of them smoothly across the lid, then using any other powder or cream shadow on the browbone, in the crease, and on the outer corner 'v', to create any eye look I want. Try these techniques, and hopefully you will love these as much as I do!
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aging? Forget about it! This olive skinned old lady tried the purplish-shade, and worried it was too glittery for a gramma-lady. But my new picture on facebook got loads of raves, and the daughter just says "wow". Go for it, ladies. It feels great, looks great, goes on like a dream, and lasts all day.
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product Everything is great about this product except for the color pay off. It is long lasting. I put it on, did a fashion show and then went out and mowed the grass. When I came back it it was still on and did not crease. The only complaint I have is that it is very shear. I tried to apply it twice but it did not increase the color.
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think it works! I use this each morning for my eye shadow and it seems to be doing it's job? Or my eye shadow is just really good at saying on. I don't have oily lids so it's hard to say. Worth a try I think.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hooded Eyes Beware I picked up the misty mauve & coco loco at TBS awhile back. I finally played around with them today. Honestly i don't really like them all that much. I tried them alone on my eyelid. If you have hooded eyes you MUST wait for the product to dry before you open your eye at all or it will transfer to hooded part :( We all know that shimmer should never go on that part so they are tricky. The misty mauve is a pretty color, perhaps better suited to spring/summer looks. It's like a frosted light purple. The coco loco is bronze.... literally looks like polished bronze. Normaly a bronzy tone would look good with my green/hazel eyes but this wasn't the case with this one, maybe the color was just too bold. Maybe would be better with a powder shadow overtop tone it down? Also the coco loco was a bit streaky. Probably better suited for the younger crowd LOL!
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sultry Satin Never used primer before but finally got tired of my eyeshadows creasing, flaking, fading, etc. Ordered this and I love it so far. I wasn't sure how to use it at first- to apply shadow while it's wet or wait until it dries so I had to play around with it a bit. For me, I find it works best if I wait until it's mostly dry and it does what I wanted it to do- holds my shadow in place. I think it could also be used as a shadow itself, as it has nice color and shimmer to it.
Date published: 2013-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic as an eyeshadow primer! i use this - in the Misty Mauve shade - as a tinted eyeshadow primer. and i love it! i use the wand to put a few dabs on my eyelid, load up my eyeshadow brush with whatever colour i want to wear, use a finger to gently spread the primer to where i want it, and then pat the eyshadow on while the primer is still wet. after that? nothing's gonna budge. even on my oily eyelids which go shiny in no time at all, and most eyeshadows will settle into the crease of my eyelid within a few hours. using my method and this stuff as primer, i've had my eyeshadow stay on and vibrant for well over 24 hours. if i concentrate, yes, i can feel it on my eyelids. but, then, i'm also used to wearing tons of mascara and/or false eyelashes so it's a familiar sensation to me and isn't a negative or anything unpleasant. this stuff is a fantastic value!
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Super cheap, and the perfect every day shade. I just glide it over my eyes, blend in with my finger, then add some champagne colored powdered shadow, and my eyeshadow is done for the day.
Date published: 2012-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from flaked off! I was very disapointed with this product. I love all my other products from elf. They sure are a bang for the buck but this one flaked right off me and was "smudgy" I guess you could say. I believe it was the way I am using the product though. I use this as an eye shadow base or primer and tried to apply my eye makeup on top and it flaked like crazy. It looked horrible. It ruined my eye make up that day. I tried to use it a few more times as not to give up so quickly but the same thing happened. I think if you use these alone it would work but I also put mine on top a layer of fountation and face powder, which is what I always do with my primers,(to enhance staying power). That also made it cakey, smudgey, and flake. If used alone I could see it really sticking but also making your eyelid tight, which is something I would not deal with. To get the staying power use the normal primer with shadow on top and finish with a setting spray over your entire face. That way you dont have to deal with the tightness or flaking. This is the first review I wrote for elf and its negative but I have bought many products from this company and with keep buying from them. I love elf!
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! I ordered this in sultry satin and i love it! its great to have in the summer to add quick subtle color to your lids, and it lasts all day long. It also works great as a base color for your other eyeshadow, and it helps keep it in place without creasing or smudging. It can get a little messy if you get to much on your lid, but overall its a great product! i was hoping it would be a good alternative to the other brand of primer eyeshadow i was using that was 4 times the price of this, and it definitely is!
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn't budge You put it on and it doesn't budge. Great color payoff!!
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Got my hopes up. I really got my hopes up when I first bought this product but was soon let down. It's hard to blend and very very sticky. The color payoff is also kind of shoty. Overall, it may be ok if you just want it for a primer but you CANNOT wear this on it's own you have to wear a shadow over it or your eyelids will stick all day.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff! I purchased in Champagne color and it works beautifully. There are tiny specks of glitter in the primer (TINY) that add a little something extra that I ended up liking. The primer really does what it is supposed to and works well with the pigmented shadow and keeps it on all day. I also wear this alone and it is pretty as well. Love!
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts and lasts I actually liked this a lot. This product does dry fast so if you want to blend it you have to work quickly. Once it's on it does. Not. Move. until you take it off. (which is suprisingly easy with just soap and water) Even on my oily skin it stayed on 10 + hours. I was very impressed! It was all ready mentioned that this eyeshawdow has a very shimmery, foil-like finish. Not only would it probably draw attention to wrinkles on a more mature person but so much shineyness is really more of a "young" look anyways.
Date published: 2012-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it To address other reviews: I got the sexy silver, and so far, I like it. I haven't had issues with blendability or flaking... I think part of the reason is that I have oily skin. The other thing is that because I'm treating them like a shadow PRIMER, I know that they aren't going to blend after they've dried; that's what primers do--they stay put. I put a thin layer on (I don't *paint* it on), I blend it, and that's it. Also, re the shimmer... if you're not *painting* them on, if you're blending them, you're not overwhelmed with shimmer. I'm 42, and I have very good skin (and I don't look my age--thank you, oily skin), and I haven't had a problem with a "crepe-y" look or settling into wrinkles (I don't really have any...).
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ok I have sultry satin and coco loco. the satin bearly shows up on me so its not good for me for the color it would be better to get the essential eyeshadow primer in golden it seems about the same and for less money. But the satin can also be used as a facial highlighter. the coco shows up much better and is a pretty brown. i plan on trying the other 2 colors.
Date published: 2012-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not my Favorite! This item is ok but, there is some bugs that need to be worked out. First it is messy and difficult to apply. When I use Eyeshadow I like it to last and not fade or crease into my eyes. It creases very quickly and wears off extreamly easily. Its itchy and unconfortable, the color is too light and need GLOBS for it show some pigment.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh... This product is just OK. The colors are pretty good but they don't last, they crease, the colors aren't pigmented when they go on, they are hard to blend, etc. I wouldn't bother buying this product.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad... As far as sponge-on eye shadows go. I only have two small complaints. It dries super fast, to the point that if you want it blended you'd better do it right away, and if you put on too much, it's like eyelid armor. With too thick a coat it dries really stiff, and you can actually feel it on your eyelid! >_< Otherwise, it doesn't budge throughout the day, I was kinda surprised. One word of warning, if you are older, or have crepe-y eyelids, the high-foil finish will just show off any wrinkles in your eyelids and around your eyes. I got the mauve and silver shades, and I am only 26 with smooth eyelids, and the texture of this made them look a bit wrinkled. :/
Date published: 2012-05-01