Makeup Lock & Seal is rated 4.3254 out of 5 by 169.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Product - Poor Packaging I used this to lock in my eye brows. I have blonde eye brows and color my hair black. This prevents me from rubbing them off. It works amazing and the only time it fell short is in a down pour of rain but what product could make it. My only complaint is often I find my bottles partially empty or leaking when they arrive. This doesn't detour me from buying it but I do get annoyed when I have to over order knowing this is the case.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm! This stuff really works! My eyeshadow stays on all day. Normally it goes into the creases after a few hours but not anymore. It stays on just the way I first put it on until I take it off. I put a drop on my fingertip and lightly dab it onto my eyelid. I find it works best that way for me and uses less of the product.
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great I bought this just to try it because during my work day, if I clean I tend to sweat my make up off and by the end of the day I am a very not so hot mess. This morning around 7 a.m. I used some with my eye shadow. It is now 2 p.m. and my eye shadow hasn't melted or faded what so ever! My gold is brighter and I don't look like a mess.One bad thing though, is the little brush that comes with it. When I first tried the product, the brush's ink stained my face however it was easy to remove.Overall, BEST PURCHASE EVER
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes makeup bolder This made my eyeshadow really pop. I swatched a shadow using this next to one without. The swatch with this product is so much shinier and more pigmented.
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is FABULOUS!! I used to us a similar product from a famous mineral make up line but they stopped selling it. I found this and never leave home with out using it.!!
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really worked on my lipstick lasted all night I received this in my beauty bundle and was skeptical. It looked complicated to use and had leaked a little in the package. I was going out for the night and always ahve trouble with my lipstick fading. I used the jumbo lip gloss stick in movie star and the tinted lip balm in berry over it. I then applied the makeup lock and set. It felt weird and a little drying but when I looked in the mirror my lips looked great. We then went and had dinner and drinks. After being out for 4 hours and eating and drinking I noticed almost no lipstick on my napkin and none on my glass. I checked in the mirror and my lips looked the same as they did when we left the house. I wont wear this everyday but for special occasions I am sold. I am not sure I would use this on my eyes but for lips it was awesome.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Amazing I bought this product on a whim recently and I didn't think I would like it very much. I watched a few youtube tutorials and they didn't really show that the Lock & Seal actually worked, but when I got it and actually used it I fell in love, I can sleep in my makeup with the Lock & Seal, and the Setting Spray on and wake up with it all still intact. No matter what weather or anything I'm doing my makeup stays in place unless I forcible take it off.
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GreatmStuff This is a great product that helps you to get longer wear from your eyeliner and eye shadow. Goes on easily and helps everything stay put for longer wear.
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays Put! I have been in mourning ever since Benefit discontinued SheLac which I used religiously to set my eyebrows. This product is my beloved reincarnated!!! Now I don't have to worry about sweating or blotting off!! Less to no touchups too. Thank you for giving my eyebrows life again!
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for eyeliner!! I use this to seal my liquid eyeliner. Love love love it! My winged eyeliner lasts all day without budging!! I just apply my eyeliner like normal (on my top lid) & once it's dry I pat this on top of it & bam! Water proof, sweat proof & budge proof!!
Date published: 2015-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor packaging The product was sticky and spilled all over my box and brush set. I never got to try it because there was nothing left in the bottle. Very poor packaging. And now I'm out of a product (which isn't that big of deal it's $3) but also the set of brushes I bought which I can't get to become unsticky and very stiff. Don't get me wrong, I love elf and own almost everything but this product is just not worth the hassle. I posted pictures from the night I got the packing. I'll probably add the brushes later if I can get a good enough photo to show their damage.
Date published: 2015-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great makeup tool Love this product but the shipment needs to be better. I ordered 2 of these and received them at half a bottle due to the liquid spilling during shipment.
Date published: 2015-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for creating eyeliner with eyeshadow! I bought this to use with eyeshadow to make my own custom eyeliner colors. I dip my eyeliner brush in the Lock & Seal and then into whichever color I want to line my eye with and it goes on perfectly and stays all day! It creates a crisp line without any powder fallout from the shadow!
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another $3 Awesome Product!! I saw this on a youtube review by a makeup artist. It is Amazing! Just a dot will do you!Another Amazing product from Elf! 1 out of 30 products I've purchased are truly Amazing!!!!!, especially at $3 n few above!!!! God, I love these products!!!!Brush is also Great!
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect I saw in one of the reviews it could make your make up run and I can see how that's possible if you use too much, but I didn't have that issue. Lightly dab it on your brows, and tips of your eye line and it won't budge all day. Absolute must have. It is a little heavy, like a lighter hair spray texture, but if you only use it in the key spots on your face you don't feel it. Love this stuff and a great price.
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! This works great. I just wish it came in bigger bottles.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money I purchased this product about a month ago, and I was really excited to find a product that can hold my makeup in place, leaving me highly disappointed when I gave it a try. To use the product, you squirt little amounts from the bottle, into the small bowl provided, and you dip the small brush (also provided) into the liquid and apply to makeup for a secure "Lock & Seal". When I applied it to my eyeliner, as the liner was fully dry, all it did was make my makeup drip. Same with my eyebrows. No girl wants dripping eyebrows, and to look like they're crying all day, not really the kind of lock and seal I was hoping for, nasty.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You CANNOT pass this up! A must have. For me it's super important to have pigment and have a good quality product that does what it says. I was skeptical because of the price and I like more high end products. This product does exactly what it says. I did a swatch test on my hand (because that's a body part that you tend to move a lot) so I thought that if It can sustain my test it, then it's worth it. This is basically a EVERYTHING primer. if you're a girl that loves your eyeshadows to pop you have to have this. I love makeup and I don't know what I would do without it.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally , a product that keeps me from rubbing my eyebrows off. I have waterproof eyebrows when I use lock n seal.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from eyeshadow lasts I ordered this with reservations and couldn't be happier! it makes your eyeshadow look awesome and lasts all day and night!
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bottle problem So unfortunate! I just received this product. I've read so many reviews with the same problem.. I was removing the bottle, brush, and the small container and everything seemed so sticky! & then I noticed the lock & seal product was leaking! More than half of the bottle was empty & even when I tried closing the bottle; there would be a small gap that prevented the bottle from being fully closed, allowing the liquid to easily leak out again.. I think the bottle packaging was the problem. Other than that, the product would have been amazing. Unfortunately, we only get a small amount of the lock & seal, and because of the leakage, I got an even tinier amount! I'll just put the rest to good use... But I'm so disappointed in the packaging of this product :( it's nearly empty already! Even though it was only $3, I still didn't get my money's worth..
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't get a chance to use I opened my lock and seal today after getting my package a few weeks ago, but the brush was missing and the cap was loose so it leaked.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LOVE This Product, but DO NOT ORDER IT ONLINE. DO NOT ORDER ONLINE, THE PRODUCT LEAKS.I ordered the Lock & Seal during the Cyber Monday sale. When it arrived, all of the product had leaked out off the drop bottle and soaked/warped the packaging of everything else in my box.. That was a bit of a bummer, because most of it was purchased to make a starter basket for my sister-in-law. I contacted customer service, and they offered to replace the Lock & Seal, as well as ship out the "free gift" (a kabuki brush) I was supposed to get with my Cyber Monday purchase that was left out of the box. When the replacement package arrived, the Lock & Seal had leaked out in the mailer, again. I was a bit irritated that it had leaked again (&that they failed to include the kabuki brush, AGAIN). However, I did appreciate that they offered to replace it for me. I didn't want to wait around for another shipment that may or may not show up, so I didn't contact customer service again. Instead, I went to Target and bought my own.Now the product itself, I love the E.L.F. lock&seal. I use it daily. Typically, I use it with Color Tattoo Improper Copper loose pigment, and it gives it an INCREDIBLE, opaque metallic look. It does great making shadows buildable. However, it's a bit too good if you're looking to blend multiple colors.. It's SMUDGEPROOF, so it's hard to use this with the shadows if you want to do a smokey eye. I live in San Diego, and ride a bicycle, 8 miles a day round trip to get to and from work. This stuff keeps my shadow in place from the minute I walk out the door until I get home. No touch ups,
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Really like e.l.f products. Prices are great. Very fast shipping.
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brows on flex ALL day My fiance bought me this and some other products for Christmas.he knows im a E.I.F lover .and let me say this is probably my fav our of all the years ive been using there products. At first I wasnt sure how to use the product.I aplyed it before I did my eyebrows and my eye brows didnt last all day .so the nexts day I aplyed before I did my eyebrows and than after and man oh man my eyebrows still was on flex .
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EYE SHADOW HIGHLY PIGMENTED! Life changer I just want to say that I take back my poor review on this, now that I actually know how to use it, it is a MUST HAVE. Though the packaging could use work, sometimes it leaks. So, I realized after watching a video that I wasn't using this product properly.. I assumed it was a primer. So I was putting it beneath make up as a primer. Instead you should pour some liquid into the clear cap they give you and wet the brush w/ the liquid then put some eye shadow onto that SAME brush w/ the liquid and put it on your eyes. Let me tell you, my eye shadow was SO HIGHLY PIGMENTED. The blacks that I use was such a deep dark black, it also turned my mineral eye shadow into something else. A gorgeous shimmering light beautiful shade, it brings out the colors of even the cheapest eye shadows. I can't wait to try it on lipstick and my brows. I am buying more mineral eye shadow just bc this lock and seal brought out colors I didn't know existed. <33 I will stock up on this stuff till the day I die. JUST BE SURE YOU'RE USING IT CORRECTLY! Look up a Youtube video on it if you have to.I can't believe all this time I was using it wrong! Lol I feel like a goof
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I just don't get all the hype... Okay, I know I'm not using the product wrong. I seriously just don't get all the hype about this product. I've also used it with the baked eye-shadows and, I still don't understand. Number 1- I feel like it actually "waters down" the pigmentation, and it doesn't "pop" as much as everyone says it does. Number 2- Once you put it on, you can't "undo" it and it start to build up on your eye- crease and NOT in a good way. It also feels heavy and kind of rough. It just doesn't seem to blend into the makeup or work as well with the eye shadows like everyone claims it does. I'm going to try using it will my foundation and concealer, since I unfortunately purchased 2 of these (thinking it was going to be the "holy grail" of elf products) like people made it out to be. Hopefully it works out well with my foundation (even though I don't really wear alot of foundation in the first place.) Total disappointment. Take my advice, not worth the hype that people make it out to be. At least you get a free makeup brush with it.
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Came broken twice I bought makeup lock and seal and it came broken twice. Efl replaced it the first time which was very generous but I had high expectations for this product and now I'm disappointed it came broken again..
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i am impressed with elf i just purchased this lock and seal but when it arrived it had opened and spilled. i sent an email informing them of the mishap and they sent me a replacement the same day.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I purchased this online a few weeks ago and I absolutely love it! It is great for wetting your eyeshadow brushes for baked eyeshadows (hence baked eyeshadows need to be wet in order for them to wear properly) and it made them POP beautifully with color and it went on very smoothly and stayed in place all day. I will definitely be repurchasin this over MAC's fixplus.
Date published: 2014-12-03