Mascara Primer is rated 4.4518 out of 5 by 228.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So tiny! This primer makes my mascara do everything it did before, but better. Unfortunately the bottle is incredibly tiny :(
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Confused at the rave reviews? I was really looking forward to this being a great primer because of all the wonderful reviews, so I'm bummed. I'm blessed with naturally long and dark lashes, so I'm very picky about how mascara makes my lashes look--don't like clumps, don't like when my lashes get stuck together, don't like when they look spidery and fake. So I thought this primer would be a great way to prep my lashes for mascara, hoping that it would make it easier to apply mascara to my lower lashes without any annoying fallout, and hoping that it would prime my top lashes well for a smooth and sleek application.Uh, that did not happen. Applying this primer is kind of difficult, because it's hard to tell if you're getting good coverage with it. the packaging is ELF's lovely, sleek black product, and the wand is fine and sturdy, which is good. But the formula feels wet and sticky going on, and although it does a good job leanthning my lashes noticeably, it leaves the tips of my lashes looking white even after it has dried. It also pulls my lashes together and makes them clumpy and spidery.When I try to apply mascara over it, it's even worse. The mascara doesn't seem to adhere well with a single coat, but any more than one coat and there is so much clumping of lashes that my eyes look like they're covered in insect legs. I can't get any coverage on the white tips that the primer leaves on my lashes. When I try to do my lower lashes, everything gets painfully stuck together. And yes, I waited a good while for the primer to dry--about 15 minutes, which is ridiculous. After all application is said and done and I've worn the product for a while, it dries out my mascara and I start to get dry, flaky fallout in and around my eyes. Painful. I tried the primer with multiple types of mascaras--waterproof, protein infused, market brands, etc. and the result is the same. Maybe I got a dud, but I wouldn't recommend and I normally LOVE ELF products.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does get lashs ready for mascara It looks a bit odd to see white lashes, but it does just as they promise, gets the lashes ready for mascara..
Date published: 2015-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BOMB!!! This stuff is the bomb dot com!! You MUST invest in this stuff! Especially for those of us few that put mascara on our bottom lashes - you know how every time you apply mascara to the bottom you will mess up and get the mascara everywhere??? Not when you apply this stuff! It is an absolute 'wonder product' for a 'no mistake' mascara application! GET IT!!
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best primer I have used I purchased the primer about a few weeks ago. Thought that it does make a difference. My lashes appear thicker and it doesn't clump up. I have used other brands in the past, and they were more expensive and did not work as good as the elf product. Really happy.
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brow gel I don't us this as a mascara primer, I use it as a brow gel. I;m on my second tube. I've tried various brands, but this gel is the best.
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Allows my mascara to wear longer I kind of freaked out when I 1st seen it because it is white, but it works great, makes mascara last longer.
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my ELF faves If I could choose only one kind of makeup to use for the rest of my life, I would choose mascara. So, naturally, a product like this is perfect for me. I love how this primer adds some length and fullness for my mascara to cling to. I pretty much cry real tears every time I laugh any harder than a giggle, and being a mascara-lover, that could really be an unfortunate mess at times. But I've noticed that my mascara stays on better when I use this primer first...even after a burst of tears. I've also noticed that I do not need to apply as many coats of mascara when I use the primer first, and since I only have to spend $3 on this primer and I usually spend $6-$8 on mascara, using less coats of the more expensive stuff definitely adds to the value of this product. Overall, this is one of my favorite elf products (and I have tried a LOT of elf products). I have repurchased this before and would recommend it. PS I have seen some mixed reviews about some of elf's mascaras. I decided to pick one up one time when I was at Walmart. I don't remember which one I bought, but I was not a fan of the formula. It was dry and clumpy. It's possible that the product had just been sitting on the shelf for a long time and had dried and become clumpy because of that. But all I'm trying to say is that if you have tried an elf mascara before and were not a fan of it, still give this primer a try. I have had two very different experiences with elf mascara primer vs elf mascara...but maybe I just picked up a bad mascara!
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE I bought this on a whim because I needed one more item for free shipping and now I can't go without it. It makes a huge difference when wearing mascara. I pair this with elf's mineral mascara and it is a match made in heaven <333
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Da Bomb!! I have long eyelashes, but they're thin & sparse. I also have sensitive eyes and too many layers of mascara irritates them. The "baby powder trick" doesn't work for me, never has. This primer delivers! I only need one coat of e.l.f. mascara after using this primer. LOVE IT!
Date published: 2015-06-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didnt apply well I had high hope for this mascara primer, but it barely applied. when brushed onto the lashed it wasn't noticeable.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from won't wear mascara without this this is an amazing product, one coat of this, then one coat of mascara - no running, flaking, or raccoon eyes - key is to let the primer dry a bit first
Date published: 2015-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVELOVELOVE!! this is probably my favorite purchase from elf. I bought 3 other mascaras at the same time. While i do not really like the other 2, this and the topcoat mascara work wonders. My mascara stays in place, does not flake or get out of place. i cant go without it!!!
Date published: 2015-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well for me I use this in lieu of mascara for a much more natural look.
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Live Without It!! I saw this in a store recently and decided to try it. I really, REALLY LOVE this stuff! I ran out and went to get more. I think I bought it at Target, which carries more E.L.F. products than any place I know of. It wasn't there. It wasn't at a different Target location either! I think I must have visited 15 or 20 stores specifically looking for this product. I tried a couple of other brands, but none of them work nearly as well as E.L.F.'s. I finally gave up and ordered 6 online.Because my lashes that are thin and sparse in some spots, it's pain to put mascara on without getting it all over the skin near my lashes. This primer makes mascara application so much easier. My lashes look so much LONGER and THICKER. I don't end up with clumpy mascara and it's only on my lashes!
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful I won't even think of putting any mascara without this product first. It truly enhances my lashes so that when I put on mascara my lashes really do look longer.
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Really like this as it seems to have been able to make my eyelashes curl.will buy again
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ok so this stuff is awesome. Just lather it on before mascara application and it makes such a difference! Makes my lashes look much longer and fuller.
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing primer. I used this for the first time last week and I definitely will be buying more. I love it. It makes any mascara perform so much better. (I've tried 3 different brands so far.) I wish I would have tried it sooner. As with other ELF primers I feel it is similar to, if not better than other brands. Especially at this price.
Date published: 2015-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thicker, Longer Lashes This does make your lashes appear fuller and longer. This also makes the mascara last longer, prevents flaking, and they feel softer. It is a great product for $3.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely in love with this! I have BOLD lashes... as in, I use about 40 coats of mascara before I am ready to go...BUT this stuff is amazing!! My lashes are so soft and pretty! One or two coats of primer and 2-3 coats of my mascara and I am good to go!! BUY. THIS.
Date published: 2015-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doubled My Lash Length And Volume This has become a staple in my everyday makeup routine. I use it underneath Maybelline "Full 'n Soft" mascara and it literally doubles the size of my lashes. For me, the key is to apply it to your lashes, allow it to dry completely, then curl your lashes and immediately apply your mascara of choice.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GET THIS NOW! If you don't own this, buy it! I've never been a mascara kind of girl, but this provides unbelievable length and perfect separation for not-clumpy lashes! Pairs perfectly with the Mineral Infused Mascara!!
Date published: 2015-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great! This primer is amazing ! It makes my eyelashes look so full and long! Great great great primer!!!!!
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect lashes I got this a few weeks ago and I love it. I hate clumpy mascara and nothing I tried was working until I tried this. Using the primer before putting on any mascara has made a world of difference. Now my mascara goes on easier and looks more professional. No more clumping and it makes it easier to wash off at night. Last all day and looks great. I highly recommend trying this product.
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Dior Mascara Primer! This is hands down the best primer ever, and for $3!! I tried Dior primer and was not impressed. This stuff is impressive. It's easy to apply and usually goes on clear with a little white. You really see the difference with mascaras on top. Lashes are fuller, longer, and more separated. The primer creates darker/thicker lashes that are miraculously clump-free. It's done amazing things for my drugstore and high-end mascaras alike. If you own Better Than Sex Mascara by Too Faced, you NEED this primer. I was not too thrilled with that mascara, but this primer totally enhanced its performance to the point where my lashes are so gorgeously full and long (without having the (fake) drama/appearance of false lashes). I feel gorgeous and luxurious with my lashes at work now, while still being professional. <3<3<3
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Great This stuff is awesome! It makes my non waterproof mascara last much longer before it starts to wear. I'll definatly be buying again.
Date published: 2015-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great I bought this product 3wks ago began using it right away and I like it so far it helps extend my own lashes when I put on my mascara they help my lashes look longer than they are. Nice inhancement.
Date published: 2015-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Captures Each Lash I bought this last month and so prefer it to messy lash extensions. I appreciate not having to play "octopus" applying mascara, then rushing to use extensions followed by more mascara, only to repeat!
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor product this mascara primer really did nothing for my eyelashes besides making them white and making my mascara apply worse.
Date published: 2015-02-24