Lengthening & Defining Mascara is rated 3.4238 out of 5 by 151.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am liking this I was looking through all of the ELF Disney Villeins kits and I derided to try the mascara out. I have long lashes and im not big on volume. This makes my lashes look amazing. Its light weight as well. 
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think it's a good deal I got this in a get the look eye kit. I tried it today seems to go on great I didn't have any problems with clumping or anything
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Clumpy, sticky, spidery OH MY! I have a huge pet peeve when it comes to clumpy mascara, I can't stand it, and I am particularly good at applying my mascara in a way where each individual lash is coated in mascara and not clumped together.  I've tried mascaras such as L'Oreal Voluminous, Maybelline Falsies Flared, Benefit They're Real and Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes! I love all of them, and they've worked perfectly without a single clump.  This mascara, however, had a HORRIBLE wand, one of those spirals, which makes it hard to separate lashes and individually coat them. The formula was so thick and wet, it totally clumped my mascara at first, and I was so surprised because I have a really good technique where I do my first coat to all my lashes by wiggling the wand at the roots a little bit and dragging the wand up.  Second coat, I don't wiggle, I just pull up.  The third coat is only to the outer lashes for a little more volume and a doll-lash effect.  One coat on the lower lashes.  The finished look is very nice for everyday, I absolutely love it.  This mascara made it hard to do my everyday routine, and it was a total pain on my lower lashes.  FINALLY, I found a technique. I removed the excess mascara on the wand with a tissue (there was a lot excess formula) and then I applied it as usual.  It was a nice, clean look, and the length it brought was really nice.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dry Clumpy Mess There were four mascara brands to choose from at the dollar store and I thought e.l.f was the best brand so even though it was the smallest amount, I went for it. Bad choice. Like other reviews say, I pulled out the wand for the first time and out came a dry lump. I've only seen this degree of clumpiness in mascara that has been sitting in my makeup bag for many years. I should have gone with a different brand. I hope I can somehow get enough out for my job interview first thing tomorrow morning.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from reallyy? I usually read the reviews before I buy anything from elf but I didn't this time I loved this mascara at first but then I completely dried on me and gave me raccoon eyes, it became more clumpy, the first 5 times was perfect but no I am so disappointed yeah its $1 but come on? I loved it for a while they need to fix it to make it stay like that forever
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So disappointed The first time I bought this product, I loved it.  It made my lashes look great, went on evenly and didn't give me raccoon eyes.  The second time and third times I bought it (yes, I didn't give up because I love e.l.f. product), I pulled the brush out and a big dried out clump came out.  It was completely unusable and I had to pitch it.  This is the only e.l.f. product I've used that I can't recommend.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible! As soon as i opened this it was a big blob of dry mascara on the end. I couldnt even find the brush and there was there no product in the actual tube. It was a first impression on my youtube channel and boy was it horrible! Do not buy I repeat DO NOT BUY!
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awfully clumpy Like other reviewers have said, this is very dry and clumpy. I will never buy this again. 
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great for lower lashes! i use this on my lower lash line and it doesn't get all over my eye or smudge! I recommend just for that
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would Give Zero Stars If Possible I ordered this a month ago and it took three weeks to arrive. Once it did, it was a dried-out, useless, clumpy mess. I wrote to e.l.f. and they agreed to send me a new one.I got the new one in the mail today. It is also a dried-out, clumpy, mess. After looking through the reviews, it's clear that I'm not the only one with this problem. It was so dried-out, I couldn't even smear it on my hand, let alone my eyelashes.I suspect the entire stock of this product is bad and e.l.f. just needs to cut its losses.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too sticky and clumpy I really love ELF products but I was disappointed with t his mascara . It's really sticky and clumpy 
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Mascara! I love this mascara. It does a great job of adding volume and definition to my lashes. I haven't had any problems with it being gloomy, flaking or drying out. And it lasts all day.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ELf Mascara I hate this mascara, i purchased it thinking it would be good because of the white mascara (voluminous) and it is mega clumpy, and thick! i cannot even use it because so much of the mascara gets stuck to the top of the brush or bottom. It is so not woth a dollar or a star for that matter! i am so upset and dissapointed that e.l.f. let me down since most of the makeup that i have purchased has been very good.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great value this has exceeded my expectations the consistency is perfect, the wand is slim and easy to handle, it doesn't clump. It truly does lengthen and define my lashes, true to its name. for only a dollar it's a steal, the only reason its four stars is because it's obviously not going to be as good as $20 products but that can be expected. good job elf:) only con I can think of is that it slightly makes your eyelashes stick together but nothing that can't be fixed with an eyelash comb.
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from flakes and doesn't last i bought this at target nearly two months ago and have only used it twice. its dry and flakes starting the moment you put it on leaving you with black specks under your eyes. i wasn't expecting much for the price but it still managed to disappoint/ 
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but a few cons I got this for Christmas and I use it every single day and it gets alittle messy and goopy but it's good mascara 
Date published: 2013-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Goopy First off this product has great packaging (very comparable to high end makeup), has a wonderful wand, and gives your lashes a very natural look. However it comes out very goopy and I have to wipe off the wand on a tissue (which wastes product!). Once I wipe off the goop and dip the wand back in this mascara makes my lashes look very natural, but after a few times use does get goopy again and I have to wipe off the goop, etc., etc., etc. I don't recommend this product because of how goopy it is, but if e.l.f changes the formula so this mascara is not so goopy I may consider repurchasing.
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Melted I ordered two of the Elf Essential - Lengthening & Defining Mascara product. Upon opening, I immediately noticed that the mascara made a strange sound. It was almost sticky. But you could feel how dry the sides of it were. After nearly an hour of attempting to fix it, I finally got it all evened out. But the tube was down to a 1/4 left. But the other tube however, was in VERY good condition. I was actually quite amazed considering the price. It's got very good volume and really makes my eyes pop.
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good length Im not too impressed. The mascara itself is thick and gross. It tends to flake off throughout the day. But it gives a nice length to my lashes. The brush is a bit small, but it was 1.00. I wasn't expecting miracles
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another winner I never would have bought this but I got one in a set and was pleasantly surprised. It separated my lashes and kept the curl. It did not transfer to my eyelids as some mascaras do. It performs as well as my mascaras that cost 10-20 times more! I always use a light dusting of HD powder on my eyelids and this worked perfectly. I will reorder.
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I bought this a week ago and I am amazed!! It lengthens and volumizes and makes your eyes pop. I hope I don't run out too fast. It has a thick creamy formula that is amazing and the brush helps too.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from do not buy! i bought this mascara thinking it would be good even though its only $1. First time i used was for school (i got brown) i opened it and all of the product was on the brush clumped in a ball. The brush applicator is about a centimeter and when i applied to clean fresh lashes i got upset because its ''lengthening and defining'' its not. I couldn't beleive my eyes i had to show my mom and she wasn't to happy about it.
Date published: 2013-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Arrived Dry & Clumpy I was given this as a gift along with some other wonderful e.l.f. products I have really enjoyed, however I was dissapointed to find that this mascara arrived completley dried up with the majority of it being clumped to the brush. I washed and saved the wand but even if I had complete confidence the product would arrive in usable condition next time I doubt it would have done much good as it seemed to be a light, watery-ish formula. You get what you pay for with this one.
Date published: 2013-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just...no. I got this product in a set from elf, and was actually expecting it to be this quality. It's horrible, sorry elf. I absolutely love elf, but this product...no thank you. The wand itself is horrible. It clumps a lot. The formula of this is weird, and kind of smells funny too. The wand actually reminds me of maybelline's great lash mascara, which actually works. Please...save your dollar for something else from here.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from made me not hate mascara! I hate, hate, HATE mascara! it's goopey, its clumpy, it's a pain to put on and take off. i NEVER wore mascara before i bought one of the disney villains kits and this mascara came in it. LOVE it! it's so simple and...flowey? it goes on so easily. my main complaint with other mascaras is that they are impossible to take off whether they're waterproof or not, i don't mind putting in a lot of effort to put make-up on, but at night i want to be able to get it all off in the shower. this mascara stays all day, no raccoon eyes, no melting, and comes right off in the shower at night, the most extra effort i have to do is a quick swipe under the eye with eye make-up remover. will absolutely purchase this again and again!
Date published: 2013-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expectations So I got this mascara in brown and black when I ordered it in a set. I decided to try it out and it works pretty well for being only a dollar. It works best if you use the Essential brow and lash wand, which I also got in a set, and never though I would use, but it helps to separate the lashes while their still wet. I always wipe off the excess product on the edge of the container, or else it applies too much to your eyes.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a recommend I purchased my mascara in black brown to give a more natural look because I was planning on using this for school. I ended up hating this mascara because the formulation is sticky and the brush causes your lashes to stick together and look horrible. If you use a very small amount it might work but I'm doubtful. But for only a dollar what more could you expect
Date published: 2013-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME ONE OF MY FAVORITES <3
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Mascara Though I love ELF products, this is the worst mascara I've ever used. I bought this from Rue21, and it dried out very quickly and it was very clumpy.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Deal It dries very quickly after you put it on, but it goes on pretty well. There's no such thing as clump-free, but this is pretty darn good. Some people are saying it's sticky - but I wouldn't call it sticky. I would just say that it's hard to separate your lashes after putting it on. I mean, your eyelashes stick together. That usually doesn't happen to me with it though. Only a couple of times. Taking it off is a pain. I pour some baby oil on some tissue to get it off. And you have to be a little rough, which I don't like. It smudged after one of my 6-hour shifts because my face was got a bit hot at one point (an embarrassing moment happened, hehe). But at home, it doesn't smudge at all.
Date published: 2013-08-12