Lengthening & Defining Mascara is rated 3.3986 out of 5 by 143.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great for lower lashes! i use this on my lower lash line and it doesn't get all over my eye or smudge! I recommend just for that
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would Give Zero Stars If Possible I ordered this a month ago and it took three weeks to arrive. Once it did, it was a dried-out, useless, clumpy mess. I wrote to e.l.f. and they agreed to send me a new one.I got the new one in the mail today. It is also a dried-out, clumpy, mess. After looking through the reviews, it's clear that I'm not the only one with this problem. It was so dried-out, I couldn't even smear it on my hand, let alone my eyelashes.I suspect the entire stock of this product is bad and e.l.f. just needs to cut its losses.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too sticky and clumpy I really love ELF products but I was disappointed with t his mascara . It's really sticky and clumpy 
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Mascara! I love this mascara. It does a great job of adding volume and definition to my lashes. I haven't had any problems with it being gloomy, flaking or drying out. And it lasts all day.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ELf Mascara I hate this mascara, i purchased it thinking it would be good because of the white mascara (voluminous) and it is mega clumpy, and thick! i cannot even use it because so much of the mascara gets stuck to the top of the brush or bottom. It is so not woth a dollar or a star for that matter! i am so upset and dissapointed that e.l.f. let me down since most of the makeup that i have purchased has been very good.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great value this has exceeded my expectations the consistency is perfect, the wand is slim and easy to handle, it doesn't clump. It truly does lengthen and define my lashes, true to its name. for only a dollar it's a steal, the only reason its four stars is because it's obviously not going to be as good as $20 products but that can be expected. good job elf:) only con I can think of is that it slightly makes your eyelashes stick together but nothing that can't be fixed with an eyelash comb.
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from flakes and doesn't last i bought this at target nearly two months ago and have only used it twice. its dry and flakes starting the moment you put it on leaving you with black specks under your eyes. i wasn't expecting much for the price but it still managed to disappoint/ 
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but a few cons I got this for Christmas and I use it every single day and it gets alittle messy and goopy but it's good mascara 
Date published: 2013-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Goopy First off this product has great packaging (very comparable to high end makeup), has a wonderful wand, and gives your lashes a very natural look. However it comes out very goopy and I have to wipe off the wand on a tissue (which wastes product!). Once I wipe off the goop and dip the wand back in this mascara makes my lashes look very natural, but after a few times use does get goopy again and I have to wipe off the goop, etc., etc., etc. I don't recommend this product because of how goopy it is, but if e.l.f changes the formula so this mascara is not so goopy I may consider repurchasing.
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Melted I ordered two of the Elf Essential - Lengthening & Defining Mascara product. Upon opening, I immediately noticed that the mascara made a strange sound. It was almost sticky. But you could feel how dry the sides of it were. After nearly an hour of attempting to fix it, I finally got it all evened out. But the tube was down to a 1/4 left. But the other tube however, was in VERY good condition. I was actually quite amazed considering the price. It's got very good volume and really makes my eyes pop.
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good length Im not too impressed. The mascara itself is thick and gross. It tends to flake off throughout the day. But it gives a nice length to my lashes. The brush is a bit small, but it was 1.00. I wasn't expecting miracles
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another winner I never would have bought this but I got one in a set and was pleasantly surprised. It separated my lashes and kept the curl. It did not transfer to my eyelids as some mascaras do. It performs as well as my mascaras that cost 10-20 times more! I always use a light dusting of HD powder on my eyelids and this worked perfectly. I will reorder.
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I bought this a week ago and I am amazed!! It lengthens and volumizes and makes your eyes pop. I hope I don't run out too fast. It has a thick creamy formula that is amazing and the brush helps too.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from do not buy! i bought this mascara thinking it would be good even though its only $1. First time i used was for school (i got brown) i opened it and all of the product was on the brush clumped in a ball. The brush applicator is about a centimeter and when i applied to clean fresh lashes i got upset because its ''lengthening and defining'' its not. I couldn't beleive my eyes i had to show my mom and she wasn't to happy about it.
Date published: 2013-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Arrived Dry & Clumpy I was given this as a gift along with some other wonderful e.l.f. products I have really enjoyed, however I was dissapointed to find that this mascara arrived completley dried up with the majority of it being clumped to the brush. I washed and saved the wand but even if I had complete confidence the product would arrive in usable condition next time I doubt it would have done much good as it seemed to be a light, watery-ish formula. You get what you pay for with this one.
Date published: 2013-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just...no. I got this product in a set from elf, and was actually expecting it to be this quality. It's horrible, sorry elf. I absolutely love elf, but this product...no thank you. The wand itself is horrible. It clumps a lot. The formula of this is weird, and kind of smells funny too. The wand actually reminds me of maybelline's great lash mascara, which actually works. Please...save your dollar for something else from here.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from made me not hate mascara! I hate, hate, HATE mascara! it's goopey, its clumpy, it's a pain to put on and take off. i NEVER wore mascara before i bought one of the disney villains kits and this mascara came in it. LOVE it! it's so simple and...flowey? it goes on so easily. my main complaint with other mascaras is that they are impossible to take off whether they're waterproof or not, i don't mind putting in a lot of effort to put make-up on, but at night i want to be able to get it all off in the shower. this mascara stays all day, no raccoon eyes, no melting, and comes right off in the shower at night, the most extra effort i have to do is a quick swipe under the eye with eye make-up remover. will absolutely purchase this again and again!
Date published: 2013-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expectations So I got this mascara in brown and black when I ordered it in a set. I decided to try it out and it works pretty well for being only a dollar. It works best if you use the Essential brow and lash wand, which I also got in a set, and never though I would use, but it helps to separate the lashes while their still wet. I always wipe off the excess product on the edge of the container, or else it applies too much to your eyes.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a recommend I purchased my mascara in black brown to give a more natural look because I was planning on using this for school. I ended up hating this mascara because the formulation is sticky and the brush causes your lashes to stick together and look horrible. If you use a very small amount it might work but I'm doubtful. But for only a dollar what more could you expect
Date published: 2013-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME ONE OF MY FAVORITES <3
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Mascara Though I love ELF products, this is the worst mascara I've ever used. I bought this from Rue21, and it dried out very quickly and it was very clumpy.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Deal It dries very quickly after you put it on, but it goes on pretty well. There's no such thing as clump-free, but this is pretty darn good. Some people are saying it's sticky - but I wouldn't call it sticky. I would just say that it's hard to separate your lashes after putting it on. I mean, your eyelashes stick together. That usually doesn't happen to me with it though. Only a couple of times. Taking it off is a pain. I pour some baby oil on some tissue to get it off. And you have to be a little rough, which I don't like. It smudged after one of my 6-hour shifts because my face was got a bit hot at one point (an embarrassing moment happened, hehe). But at home, it doesn't smudge at all.
Date published: 2013-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent It's a great product. It doesn't fall off and can be worn anytime like at the beach. Which means no more worrying about taking off your mascara before you go in the water. (3
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from wow i used this mascara over a dried loreal mascara and omg did this mascara give me doll lashes.it makes my lashes so thick and black but I slept with it on and it was all over my face and when I wash it off its kina hard to come off.but overall this mascara is great
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What happened to this great product? I have used this mascara for a couple of years. I have always loved it. Best and cheapest lengthening and defining mascara I have used (I typically use it with a volumizing mascara for max results). I love this so much, I usually order in quantities of 10 or so. The last time I ordered, a couple of them seemed clumpy and messy after the first use. This time, every one I ordered is fine with the first use, but after that, it's almost like the inside part of the bottle that cleans the brush off as it's coming out is on backwards. The mascara comes out of the brush all over the top of it when you push it back into the bottle. It's really disappointing seeing my favorite mascara become unusable. I'm quite certain I will not be ordering any more.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT!! This mascara is the best. I always come back to it. I use the Essential Wet Glass Lash and Brow Clear Mascara as a primer and coat the lashed a few time with this and then curl them. I love the way my eyelashes look. I have barely there eyelashes and using this makes me look like I have eyelashes! The only con is you have to be careful because the mascara does tend to goop out of the bottle and you have to wipe it off or it makes a mess.
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST MASCARA I HAVE EVER USED! I use a base mascara under this just to thicken my lashes, and this mascara is absoultly great! Never seen my lashes so long!
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just ok.... These would be wonderful if the mascara wasn't gloopy and thick when I got them. They're gloopy and thick because the wand is packaged inside the mascara already, instead of separately. This causes the formula to start drying out, which is why they always arrive thick and useless. Change the packaging and lots of these will sell.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from hit or miss first one I loved..ran almost out and ordered another..seemed really old and dried out..so luck be with you, they are raising the prices but it seems like its an old product. I will not purchase mascara again from here
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awful to take off I liked the way it looked, but taking it off is horrible. It smudges some through the day, but when I wash my face it comes onto my face...horribly. I have to scrub with soap to get the black streaks off. I'll stick with my Revlon or Maybelline for mascara.
Date published: 2013-03-06