Matte Lip Color is rated 4.262195121951219 out of 5 by 1,640.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!! It's amazing and doesn't take to much! The bold colors and I love the look!
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it #newbie i never wore matte lippy as i am a gloss gal, i like light gloss and natural and light coloured it is. I dont wear matte but i do now ?? it looks so natural and light coverage you can add more if you want thats why i like it. now im back to get more! totally recommend. I even tried some clear gloss over it looks hot! I dont even write reviews ! but if your in my boat i think you deserve to know
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE So far I've bought 2 of these lipsticks. One was a few months ago I bought tea rose in store and a few days ago I picked up praline. These lipsticks are hard to grab in store, as everyone wants these so they sell out quick. I'm not sure if in the time it took me to buy my second one of these, but I think ELF may have upgraded the packaging and formula of this product. Because the lid of my tea rose lipstick will only click once to let me know that I've sealed it, while my praline color clicks twice. Also the tea rose color looks and feels more like a tinted chapstick, it never gets fully matte, it keeps more of a cream finish and feels very moisturizing. Which is nice, but it isn't matte. My praline color actually feels like a matte lipstick and has the staying power similar to matte lipstick in traditional tube form... it's long lasting but not as long lasting as liquid lipstick. As for color, tea rose is a purple-pink dusty color that reminds me of cashmere by lime crime, only tea rose is lighter and is more forgiving on my fair skin. Praline is a pink-brown with what I want to say a red hue to it. Praline makes me think of taupe by MAC, only this is a more mused "everyday" color. In short I'm in love with these lipsticks, and for the price you can't go wrong. I love the shape of the product itself, I can color in my lips without fear of accidentally over-lining them, the fact that the packaging clicks shut assures me that the lid won't accidentally come off in my bag and ruin my lipstick, AND if you pull the colored tab at the end of the product a sharpener pops out. This thing is genius. Whenever I decide to do a big elf haul I'll order the rest of these babies.
Date published: 2016-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth and Bold The color I have, tea rose, is so beautiful! All the colors look beautiful. The color goes on so smoothly and the color is bold and perfect. I am looking forward to getting more before they run out.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great matte color! Just bought this in tea rose. The color is perfectly true to what the stick shows on the outside. It is gloriously matte, and it is THE perfect lip color for me. All for barely over $3 with tax. Seriously, buy this!!!! You can't beat it!!
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love Not typically a big lipstick person, but all these colors have me excited to try something new every day! Can't believe they're only $3, guess that's why I bought like 9 lol
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such cute colors! I own 4 of these matters lip colors. My favorites are Tea Rose & Natural. They're so pigmented & I've actually gotten asked what shades im wearing by people and they went to go buy these matte lipsticks. I think they're so beautiful especially for Fall & Winter because of the matte aspect. They're extremely affordable and come with a ton of product.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I have this lip stick in Cranberry and I absolutely love it. I can't wait to try out more colours!
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Them I recently bought 3 of these lipsticks (Tea Rose, Wine, and Scarlet Night) and I seriously love them. They are very well pigmented and go on smoothly. The only miss is that Wine wasn't as true to its color as the others were. I'll definitely buy these again, can't wait to get one of each shade
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful I bought two of these: Prealine and Tea Rose. I love them both. They are smooth, creamy, and comfortable on thr lips. I've worn both overnight with no I'll effects.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not completely matte I bought various shades of these matte lipsticks a couple of weeks ago. Overall, I think they are a good products; however, they don't dry completely matte. They are extremely comfortable, creamy, and easy to apply. They do not dry out my lips, but they do not dry completely when on the lips, so they will leave residue and you will need to reapply after a couple of hours.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product!! I purchased this in the colour praline and I have to say, this is my very favourite lip colour I've boughten ever! I have light olive skin with and this is the praline was the perfect colour for me. The product goes on amazingly smooth and has a great matte finish. I will definitely purchase this again!
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a good color for a great price. It's a little too pale for my complexion but would look great layered with a brighter color.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely color and great feel I bought this in the Natural shade and it's exactly what I was looking for! The color isn't heavy, only slightly different than my natural lip color. It goes on smooth and stays on for a surprisingly long time. Seriously can't recommend it enough.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it awesome. Easy to use. I just love it. Its really matte. Only wine and cranberry color look the same. (almost the same)
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My holy grail lip color!! This is an amazing product. I have the shades natural and wine and I love them! The formula is amazing. And the packaging is so adorable. I like that it comes with a sharpener on the bottom and that it's not too skinny but you could still use it as a lip liner!
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the people like me: pale with dark pink lips My natural lip color is not pale pink; it's dark pink (closest to Rimmel matte #105, red tube). Colors also pull brown on me--especially dark reds and even some "dusty pinks." "Natural" shades wash me out and look anything but natural. Most reviews I see for these are people with a much paler natural lip color, so even though I don't normally do reviews, I'm going to do a brief synopsis for people like me (especially since you're buying these on a guess).Rich Red: Already owned, a bright red and on me has a slightly bright pink undertone. Yes, product falls out of tube eventually, so when that happens, best to apply cautiously.Purchased:Hot Commodity: Bright coral color, but not overpowering. Unless you get very experimental with the rest of your makeup, you won't look like "weird aunt Sue from Florida."Bold Red: A more brick red. I put Rich Red on top lip and Bold Red on bottom lip for direct comparison. Pigment and color are very similar (one doesn't overpower the other), but I could see a slight difference. On me this is more of a true red--doesn't have the bright pink undertone. Definitely bold, but doesn't overpower my pasty face.Mulberry Maven: A dark berry color. I was on the hunt for purple lipstick, and I am satisfied enough with this to stop that search for now, even though it's not "true purple." It is a strong color (probably good for fall), but you won't look goth wearing it. I was pleasantly surprised.Praline: Was debating this or Coral (they look the same on the website swatches) and went with this to be safer (see problem of first paragraph). This is a light nut brown color on me. It is probably the lightest of all I purchased. If you're looking for a light brown, this will do.Scarlet Night: Got this out of curiosity, and when I first put it on, it looked straight black. I decided to leave it on awhile and see if it changed when it warmed up, which it did--to a dark burgundy brown. It may look dark red on some people, but as I said, I'm a weird case. I would wear this in the fall, but it is not something I'd consider a regular "daytime" look, as it could easily read goth-ish.Cranberry / Wine: Doing these together because they are SO similar. On me, both of these are maybe a shade or two darker than my natural lip color. I did the one on top lip one on bottom lip experiment for another direct comparison. Cranberry has a slightly redder undertone compared to Wine (which I guess is a little more brownish). But the difference is so slight I believe I could walk outside with one on top lip and the other on bottom lip and nobody would notice the difference. I think these suited me the best; they are less intimidating reds--you could wear them in the daytime without it being too much.I hope this is helpful for someone. Based on my experience with the darker colors, I'd be willing to try some of the lighter ones to see if they wash me out like others have.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Color, Perfect for On The Go I have Coral and Tea Rose and they are gorgeous colors. The packaging is kind of thick on this, but it's still small enough to fit in my bag. I would definitely recommend this product, but sometimes the colors wear off throughout the day and they put emphasis on your fine lines on your lips, so use a chapstick base. The colors are nice and build able too.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!! I bought this a little over 2 weeks ago and have been using it ever since. I have shades Natural and Berry Sorbet and I love how they look with my skin ton. I wear either one every day now and I'm wearing one now. A little drains I I recommend using some lipbalm, I use eos.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great color Berry Sorbet is my new favorite lip color! I would label this semi-matte -- more matte than a normal lipstick, but less matte than the velvet matte lipstick, which I also ordered. Great pigmentation, easy application. As usual with ELF, a little brighter than it appears on your screen.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I had low expectations before I swatched it. However when I did swatch it, I was impressed by how easily it glided on and the pigment!
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the color! I bought praline this a little while back and love it! It looks a lot like Mac's colour soar, but for a much better price. Although it does look bad on dry cracked lips so I put gloss over it or put Chapstick on under it. Overall great product!
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Matte lip color Good product overall. Purchased Tea Rose and Cranberry based on other customers reviews and faves. Cranberry is definitely a repurchase again. Tea Rose color not so pretty. Would rename Tea Rose to Cyanotic. Look for yourself on my photos. FYI no other facial or lip make up is on, just the matte lip color alone. Did apply a lot of product to obtain a change in natural lip tone. Thank you Elf for this matte lip option. All your primers and matte products are good and economical. The sparkly/Dewey makeup products make the aging face Like a clown. Nice matte option.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only meant for fare skin I bought the natural matte lipstick and instead of making my lips looks all cute and pink it made them look ashy maybe it's because I have a have medium toned skinned, when I tried it on my lighter friend it gave her the soft pink lips
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can't believe it's $3 I was so excited to try this out after reading great reviews, and let me tell you, those reviews were right! This lip pencil feels like nothing is on your lips other than a light chapstick, and the color is amazing. I have pale skin and was worried that it would be a bit too dark for me, but it isn't at all. It has the perfect amount of pink to be a day to day color, but enough purple to make it feel like an evening color as well. It will definitely have to be reapplied throughout the day, but at this price, it just can't be beat.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defected item This is a third time buying from elf. Last two purchases I was satisfied for every products. Sometimes items I want are out of stock. That's only I can complain so far. But this time I got this defected lipstick. Almost half lipstick is crushed into cap and left half is even broken meh..... Plz make a safe delivery next time
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is by far the best lipstick out there!! Stays on and is non-drying!
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I bought the shade 'Tea Rose' when this first came out, it was the first matte lip product that I actually liked and it did not dry my lips out at all. It is perfect. I wear it everyday
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Long lasting, great color and coverage. Very similar to a MAC lipstick that I use.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty colours and easy application I got the shade Catwalk Orange and well, I wasn't expecting such a bright colour. It's a very pretty colour though, more on the coral side I would say, and goes perfectly for the summer time. Also is easy to apply since the tip is small.
Date published: 2016-07-06