Matte Lip Color is rated 4.1223 out of 5 by 916.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy application, LOVE!! I bought 3 of these (nude, praline, and red) and I love them. Praline is my go-to color. I wish e.l.f. would make more colors, prehaps some darker, bolder colors!!
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECTION! I absolutely love and adore this matte lipstick! It is genuinely wonderful and easy to apply. And plus it looks fantastic!
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing pigmentation ! I bought the Tea Rose color of this and it is amazing. The color is beautiful! Before I use this I exfoliate my lips so it glides on nicely and so my lips nasty. The pigmentation for this product is amazing, for three bucks, this lipstick is amazing. I will be purchasing more ! I learned that there is a sharpener on the bottom, but I wouldn't really use it.
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I got this item with the Free Marsala Collection and was pretty excited to use it, the set came with the rich red colour which i was pleased about. The moment I open it to use it, the stick itself broke off from shipping. The product is true to its colour and has its own sharpener which is good.
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A semi lightweight lip crayon I have this lip color crayon in Rich Red. While this says "matte" lip color, it isn't very matte. It feels more like a moisturizing lip color that isn't pearlescent. (Those "metallic" lip colors with tiny flecks of glitter. They aren't actually metallic). If I compared this to the ELF moisturizing lipstick, this is a slightly less creamy version. Bottom line, this isn't matte in the true sense of lipsticks or lip crayons that are actually matte. The Rimmel brand's Kate Moss line in the red tubes are more along the lines of a matte lipstick that I typically look for.As far as the product goes, it's great if you're wanting a lip color that's easy to draw on like you would with lip liner, then fill in like lipstick. This is why I refer to it as a lip crayon. This is a lighter weight than ELF's moisturizing lipstick, as well as more transparent than the fully opaque (full coverage) lipstick. I would suggest this lighter-weight lip color for semi casual events, especially if you're a big fan of red lip color.Color: This is true to color in the photos, but the red color on the bottom of the crayon's container is 2 shades darker than the actual crayon. The container has an almost burgundy color, while this is more akin to a barely ripe cherry.The only problem I had with my specific item was that it broke 2/3 of the way down the crayon. I think this may have happened in shipping, which isn't ELF's problem at all. It happens. If you have this happen, don't blame the company, just blame S&H. ELF often uses Fedex and you hear nothing but trouble with them. I honestly would pay more for UPS, since they've been great no matter what state I have lived in.Photos: In my attached photos, I have a "with" and "without" Lipcote. The one with the swatch on my hand is WITH Lipcote.I'm a fan of using lipstick sealant/top coat. The reason why I go for a dryer matte lipstick is because I love using Lipcote with it. I can't remember if Lipcote advertises using this item with it, but it doesn't work well for me. I have many tricks, but they didn't work when I tried it. Lipcote cracks and peels after I let it settle for 6-10 minutes. It's still too creamy for Lipcote to stay bound together. I've tried trans. powder/lipcote/powder/lipcote. I've tried a base and top coat of Lipcote. No luck. Now, a this has a lot to do with pH balance, so I encourage Lipcote users to try it, and perhaps give some tips if you have something that works better.Overall: the product is great! It has a smooth finish that isn't super glossy. It's easy to apply and it's light weight. I just can't use it with Lipcote :(
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tea rose I have three of these so far. I kept hearing rave reviews on tea rose so I just got that. So pretty! Missed out on the red I've been drooling over since Christmas. This is one kf my favorite lip products. My other is the lip gloss stick. I ordered a few lipsticks that were great but these are my go to. I've given away my other expensive lip products because elf is now my favorite. More colors please. Will buy them all. Thanks to the reviewer who mentioned the sharpener had no clue! Didn't know it was possible for these to get any better.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish I loved the colors. I love the quality of these lipsticks. But the colors leave something to be desired. I purchased Coral, Natural, and Praline. Let me start by saying that the swatches on here are way off. Natural is very light almost nude, Coral is very orange, and Praline is much darker than the swatch shows. I will order Rich Red when it is back in stock, but so far none of the colors suit me.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Love product but still disappointed. I love the color of rich red and the pigment of it. But mine came broken so it is very messy and difficult to use.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it so much ! I love this! It's so easy to put on ! I get a lot of compliments!
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Pigmentation! I was always too shy to buy any kind of lipstick before, until a few months ago when I looked through these lipsticks. I ordered about 3 of them and they're just amazing :) the color shows and its very matte, which I love. I wish there were more different shades and colors so I can buy more :)
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing matte color I dont usually wear red because my mother told me red doesnt go with my skin tone but this made me love red for the first time on myself. It glides on so nicely after a little exfoliating and some lip balm
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome pigment! Every time I wear this, a million people ask me where did u get it from! It's my favorite!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous color but not for me I bought this product and got it in, and when I looked at Praline (the lip color I got) it just wasn't the color I expected. It was a mauvey pink, which is a lot more of my mom's color than mine. I expected Praline to be a little more pink. My only real complaint is for elf to have better color advertising.
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone wants my lipstick! Every single time I wear it I get sooo many compliments! My boss even gave me money to buy one for her(she couldn't find it in stores) It looks gorgeous on. Doesn't need a liner or primer. My ALL TIME favorite lipstick.
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Quite What I Thought, But A Good Product I bought this in Rich Red, but on me the color is more of a bright fuchsia. It wears well, is truly matte and doesn't seem to dry out my lips. I layered a primer under it, and e.l.f.'s Lip Lock Pencil around it, and it stays for a few hours before needing a touch up. I'm a little disappointed that the color isn't the bold red that I saw online, but maybe that's just my skin tone.
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I brought tea rose and a red color i forgot the name of it sorry lol, but I purchased them about a month ago and I love them !! It glides on so softly, high pigmentation, and i love the matte finish.
Date published: 2015-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT!!! I absolutely love it!!! although i admit it can be a little drying for your lips but if you take good care of them then you should be fine. But honestly the pigmentation is great i have the red one and its my go to red lip color and the fact that its kinda like a pencil makes the application process so much easer and it lasts FOREVER but if you eat/drink with it it does tend to need reapplication. I just love it. i just can stop saying great think about it
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS LIPSTICK Now that I know there's a sharpener at the bottom... game changer. I LOVE THIS LIPSTICK. I can't explain it, but it genuinely does make my lips look bigger. You'll need to bring it along for touch-ups but that's the same for any drug store or even some of the fancy lipsticks.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no. very thick formula, and doesn't go on very easily.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Gorgeous Tea rose is such an amazing colour , love how it's matte and I can never find a colour like this at my mall.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Matte = LOVE I got two in Cranberry and Wine colors. These are my go-to lipsticks in my makeup box. They last a long time throughout the day, and easy to reapply in a flash. I love the matte colors since I am 45 years old and in a conservative work environment. But I don't see these being sold anymore on the website, so I are hoping these colors are not discontinued!
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly long lasting I got this in my last beauty box. I used it on Christmas day for the first time. It lasted through a 5 hour celebration including eating dinner and dessert with wine and water. When I got home I looked in the mirror and the color was still perfect! It is slightly drying since it's a matte color but after I washed off my makeup I put on chapstick and my lips were fine!
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely lipsticks! I bought two of these (nearly nude and rich red) recently and I'm very happy with them! However the nude is just too nude for me. I'm a pale girl and the nude was waay lighter than my skin and my teeth look yellow in comparison. I found a way to wear it (as a liner) with a darker pink lipstick over top. I love the red, it really is a rich red. It stays all day and doesn't bleed like most lipstick. It also works great as as liner or with clear gloss over top!
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it My favorite lip color ever. :) love love love love
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from In love with Tea Rose! I had heard good things about ELF's matte lip colors and have been a loyal ELF lady for some time now (affordable, high-quality, vegan, and cruelty-free), so I definitely wanted to give it a try. I bought the tea rose color and fell in love. The product is creamy, goes on completely matte, but is moisturizing and doesn't dry your lips out at all. It's a lovely shade of dusty rose pink, with blueish-purple undertones. I understand for most people this may wash them out, but I adore the pale lip color on myself. If you're into the more vampy/nu-goth look with a light lip, this is definitely the color for you. My only criticism is that I dropped mine off my counter and the stick broke. It still works, which is what counts, but some sturdier package would be awesome. Aside from that, love this product, love the color. I would love to see a more gray-lavender color someday!
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great feeling, great looking! i've always loved this product and have it in three different colors - natural, tea rose and one of the darker colors that isn't made anymore. the consistency is amazing, it goes on smooth and creamy and doesn't dry your lips at all-- but then dries to matte! and the shape of the lipstick itself makes it easy to get the perfect shape.where this product loses one star, for me, is that one of my favorite shades stopped being produced. bring back the dark colors that were around in fall 2014 and i'll gladly bump up to 5!!
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my new favorite lip product! I bought this matte lipstick in Ruby red, nearly nude and natural. They're all nice but the Ruby red is a must buy! I love the shade of red it compliments all skin tones and I love how they last all day. I recommend exfoliating your lips first or putting a thin layer of lip balm underneath though. It's a little drying and sinks into the fine lines and it doesnt look good on chapped peeling lips :p I'll be ordering the rest of the colours available.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Matte Lip Colors! These matte lipsticks are one of my favorite lip products ever! They're not drying, and they ARE matte! The only small thing that I don't like is that the color 'tea rose' is too pale/purpley and makes me look dead!
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great color! Long lasting color. Matte but had semi-shine initially. Lipstick was on about 3 hrs before I applied some lip balm on top (I naturally have very dry lips and didn't apply any balm with 1st application). Color still stayed even with lip balm applied on top. I am caramel toned and the red looks great on me. I was able to use without a liner (Just don't overfill lips). I hope ELF makes more medium-deep to deep friendly colors of this product.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow just wow! I just purchased this from my local Target in the shade Rich Red. I got the absolute last one and I see why! It went on super easy and shined really nice once I dab my lips with a touch of lip gloss. I'm so impressed with this I will order/buy this product in every color!
Date published: 2015-01-01