Essential Lipstick is rated 3.8269 out of 5 by 1,057.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just a gloss really I bought this in Nostalgic. I layered and layered and only got a sheer gloss effect. No color payoff. Packaging is poor. Worth a dollar I guess.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor colour payoff I received this about a week ago and whilst the colour (seductive) is nice the lipstick if so sheer I can't wear it alone. It's more of a lip balm than a lipstick in my opinion but you get what you pay for. I would recommend it for people who don't really like wearing lipstick and just want a sheer colour :)
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from very moisturizing!! Flirtatious is not very wearable in my opinion. It's way too neon pink.Other colors are pretty good, but need to be built up to look good. I really like the moisturizing quality, so I use these on the days I want to give my lips a break from matte lipsticks.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a huge fan I bought this in the shade "Nostalgic", it turned out to be very pale and doesn't apply very well. However, I do use it to lighten the centre of my lips.
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I would get the e.l.f Moisturizing lipstick instea I have Classy and Flirtatious and the texture isn't my favorite. For $1 they are pretty good, but I still would rather spend $3 and get the moisturizing lipstick from e.l.f. I didn't like the colors (which is more a personal thing since my lips just don't wear light colors well) and the lipstick itself went on a little thick and clunky. I mean, it wasn't super noticeable or extremely clunky, but again, it's not as good as the $3 lipstick.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love how many colors there are and for one dollar who wouldn't buy a couple of shades? However it didn't do what it said it was supposed to do. I now understand why the back said "Re-apply as often as desired". That thing it said about being 'moisturizing' ha forget it. I would still recommend it though for it's various colors that can provide for many fun looks.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product for the price Ordered this in Posh and I'm very happy with it - beautiful color with good pigmentation, goes on smooth - but I wouldn't recommend using it without a lip balm underneath. It does have an odd drying sensation without a little something between it and your lips. I wear a balm under my lipstick 90% of the time anyway, so this is not really a detraction for me, just something I think is worth noting. Would love to see this in a really dark berry shade as well (I'm on a quest for the perfect dark lipstick; haven't found it yet!).
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful, but transfers This is a great product, especially at the price. However, if I were to purchase again, it would be just to see if a certain lip color suited me. It's very pigmented and gives my lips a very plump, moisturized feel - but it transfers. It never sets. I can stay for an hour and if I brush my lips on something, it WILL transfer. The only shade I had a problem with was Nostalgic, which looked to be such a gorgeous nude but in actuality was chalky and wouldn't get onto my lips. I'd never go outside wearing this lipstick, but if I was curious what colors looked nice on me, it wouldn't hurt to purchase more (I've purchased 4 as of)
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love love love I got this lipstick at Target in the shade Sociable. In the packaging it looked like a bold, fun red, and just a buck?! Wow! I tried it on at home, and was very pleased by the creamy feel. But when looking at the shade on my lips, I realized how unwearable it looked. It could have been my skin tone (I have fair skin with pink undertones) but this shade DID NOT look good on me. However, loving the quality and texture, I went back and got three more, and am extremely pleased!! e.l.f., please never stop making these lipsticks!!
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cakey, but Good Pigmentation I got all of the colors in a pack last year, and I will say I was okay with them. Personally, ELF is my all time favorite makeup brand, but these just weren't up to par with my glowing expectations. It went on like butter, very smooth and nice. However, it looked crease-y, chalky, and really made the fine lines in my lip stand out. :(All in all, this isn't a bad product, necessarily, it just isn't my favorite.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A subtle look I bought this in Nostalgic, a very simple color great for a subtle natural look. If I want to add a bit of pop a usually dab on a bit of gloss or the All Over Stick in Persimmon. Will definitely buy other colors.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eh... Ugh where do I start...Okay, this product had good things as well as bad things. I thought the color was deffinetly good. I like all of the options they have, especially for the price! However, quality was low. E.l.f has some great products, and some bad ones, and I think this was deffinetly one of the bad ones. The texture was awful, almost chunky. It also did not apply very well, and that was probably my least favorite thing about it! As you were putting it on it would clump up, and then a second would go by and it would be gone! Deffinetly not their best:( please fix!
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Inconsist color shade I ordered Classy and loved it, it was creamy moist smelt good and was a light caramel color. I proceeded to order a second batch and the color shade on Classy had changed it was light and almost pale looking, i ordered seven, they also messed my order and sent a wrong lipstick. RIP to the orginal Classy shade.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lipstick, but colors are not what I expected. This is great lipstick, especially for just $1! Feels nice and smells good. However, I purchased two, one in Classy and one in Nostalgic, and was really disappointed with them. Classy is a very pinky color, too bright for fall, but the site shows it as being a darker pink. Nostalgic is also lighter than what the site shows it to be. I will definitely be trying more colors, but I'm upset over how they aren't true to color.
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous classic red This is a good dupe for luxury brand red lipstick and I love the color payoff and shine of it. I will definitely reorder.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice color, but~ Beautiful color. But it actually feels dry while putting it on. My lips feel DRYER wearing it. Maybe I need more moisturizer or something. Oh & it doesn't last long for me. :(
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from $1? Seriously? Usually I don't buy the really really cheap merchandises because most of the time they're terrible..but this lipstick is amazing. Wow, I bought Classy today and used it today it is a little bright than the picture I saw online but it's super smooth, smells like starwberries, and I accidentally licked my lips and it didn't taste terrible either lol. Definitely worth buying and will buy again!
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love elf lippies! The lipsticks and makeup brushes are the best products e.l.f. carries. The lippies are well pigmented and long lasting. The brushes are good quality and last forever. Everything else I've tried ranges from either BAD to meh. Stick with the lipsticks and brushes and you'll be OK.
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lipstick! I bought this online through Elf when they had their free shipping on any item and I've never tried Elf lipsticks before. I love lipsticks and love to try out different brands. I can't believe I didn't try this out sooner. I love the feel of this lipstick. It really is moisturizing, doesn't bleed and it stays on long. I definitely will be trying out others colors.
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love this color I ordered the "posh" and I love how it look on my skin. Some lipsticks make my face look pink if it makes any sense but this one has a more peachy tone and in my opinion it looks good on a pale-pink skin tone.The lipstick is smooth and smells good.
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wrong Color I bought this a few days ago, and it looks like they sent me the color 'Flirtatious' instead of 'Classy'. I received a bright, Barbie pink instead of the darker red that 'Classy' is supposed to look like.
Date published: 2015-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from different color than expected I just received "classy" in the mail and it's totally not the color I expected. the picture show it as a deep pink/red but I recieved a bright pink color, not similar to the picture at all. very disappointed.
Date published: 2015-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Lipstick! I'm not a lipstick person but this is honestly a top favorite of mine in my makeup bag. I bought this product in the color "Posh" and it was amazing! Nice red lipstick that isn't too loud on my very pale face but also adds the kind of color that I want with my makeup looks. It's slightly moisturizing but don't expect too much out of this because after a while, it will feel like your lips are dry and sticky which isn't too much fun to experience.
Date published: 2015-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Pigmentation But Fair Quality I ordered this lipstick twice hoping that I would find a nice color. Unfortunately, this was no the case. The colors were not even in the same dimension as the packaging. It is of fair quality overall, and it does stay for an acceptable period of time though not a full work day.
Date published: 2015-10-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not my favorite VERY short lasting... comes off after 1-2 hrs.. disappointed
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love! This lipstick is great for the price, although it doesn't stay on for an 8-hour work day. You get what you pay for, I guess.Great colors, great application. My favorite it Seductive.The cap doesn't stay on very well.I will repurchase! :)
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice color, but clumpy on the first run I bought this in Classy a week ago, and love it! I use it every day now, but on the first use, it was clumpy, even though I had exfoliated. All of the other times I've used it, though, it's been great! Just don't trash it because it was clumpy the first time. Also, be warned: you have to apply this carefully or else it will all settle in your natural lip cracks.
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good lipstick Nice color, stays fairly long, doesn't dry my lips out. Can seem a bit clumpy, but for the price it's over all a good buy.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible This lipstick is the not a good quality it hurts to put on and is very drying
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nostalgic lipstick - Dissapointed! I got this one for my sister because we loved on the webpage, when we got it and she put it on, it was like a WHITE lipstick!! So, if you like something like a white and very dry texture, this one if for you...
Date published: 2015-10-16