Lipstick is rated 3.9033 out of 5 by 817.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth and creamy I had read a lot of reviews saying how these were too buttery or that they broke. I haven't had any problems with mine and the colors are gorgeous. They go on smooth and are pretty long wearing.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Color swatches I just ordered three of these in my continual search for a good blue-based plummy not too dark color.These colors were fine, but still not what I was looking for.I swatched Voodoo, Fantasy and Seductive (left to right in the swatches).
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not impressed I Ibought the ELF essential lipstick in all 10 available colours. I thought for a dollar each of either be happy with the purchase out if not i wouldn't be out much. It's pretty disappointing to have ten brand new lipsticks lined up and realise you'd likely never wear any of them.The con-cheap packaging, you can feel the poor quality as you try to twist the lipstick up. Once you twist up your realise the actual color doesn't match to the website. It's not close on any of the 4 screens I've tried viewing on. The pigmentation isn't great. Holy wow, not happy to find sparkles. Lipstick I'm immediately broke in tube on two.Pros-they were inexpensive. Got to try colours i wouldn't have tried otherwise and confirm for myself that they do look horrible on me and i shouldn't repurchase similar colours in better formulas. . Process of elimination i guess?
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love this lipstick I have this in charming, seductive, posh, and captivating. I love them all! they glide on super well, and are so pigmented, the least pigmented one is posh, but its still very pigmented! I am buying the other colors ASAP I recommend it totallyto anyone. Its also great for the price!! and it smells amazing!
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pigmented and creamy I really love this lipstick! Creamy soft texture and good natural looking pigmentation. I want to buy more colors!
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disgusting, don't buy This product has had mixed reviews, and elf is known for not wing consistent with their products. The color match was not true, It looks like a deep color online, but is actually a bright pink. (Charming) it leaves a gross texture on your lips, and it looks like you applied crayon on.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Intense colour that lasts. Also I don't have to wipe off the old to apply a new layer. Will buy again.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too waxy Does not glide on well at all, have to mix it with something else so that it feels nice on my lips.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price you pay I purchased a few of these to test and practice with. Pros: great light smell, durable container( I dropped one and it stayed together), easy to apply and nice matte finish. Cons: hard to twist at times, not very moisturizing with some colors being hard to apply for even application. I recommend checking out some youtube videos to make sure that the colors you buy work for your skin tone. Captivating was too orange and Charming is very light.
Date published: 2014-10-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Colors not accurate on website I can never complain about the great prices on ELF products. Unfortunately, I have bought this lipstick in several colors, but they all are too orange for me. Looking for pink/nude/brown colors I have not yet found one I liked that matched the colors on the website.
Date published: 2014-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Soft I really wanted to try this product having high hopes because I really love this brand. First off, when I received my lipstick in the mail, it was not the color I had hoped it to be. I picked the color Nostalgic thinking the color was wrong on the website and it would be a nice nude color. It was very pinky and sandy colored and I just didnt like the color. I go to apply this lipstick thinking maybe it'll look better on me than just in the tube. Nope. I also found out how soft this lipstick is. It is mosturizing, however so soft that no matter how low I had it twisted, it still broke. I was disappointed with this product and will not be repurchasing. I do want to try the other lipsticks in the studio and mineral line. Hopefully those will be better.
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good lipstick I bought this few weeks ago and tried it about last week. While applying the lipstick, it was rough to apply. I quickly removed it and added a gloss on my lips as a primer and to bring more moisture (although my lip balm didn't work as a solution for moisture). After applying the gloss, the lipstick had much more opacity and an easy application. Now, I'm not sure if this was the lipstick, but about 2 days later, my lips felt kind of weird and I had a microscopic rash on my upper lip. I'm not sure if it's the lipstick, but I do know I am sensitive. I'll give it another try to see if I will get irritated again, but overall, it's a good lipstick. And have I mentioned how good they smell!
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price Great pigmentation and super creamy. The only drawbacks I found were the packaging and the smell. The twisty part you use to get the product up gets stuck often. I have two colors (classy and fantasy) and they both have a very strange smell. Bearable but definitely a con.
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got a few of these for christmas last year and they were very moisturizing, easy to apply. the bad thing was some of the twists that ylou use to get the lipstick longer would get stuck.
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Opaque color I got it in the shade Fearless and I have to say that the color is a really nice red, it is thick, opaque and very long-lasting. I reaplied it once in a day! The packaging is has room for improvement but overall this lipstick is great.
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vibrant color I ordered Fearless wanting to get a darker red color that could be worn to different occasions. I was SUPER surprised with how vibrant and true to color it turned out. It applied right away, it really didn't take a few swipes so that was surprisingly awesome. It also stays on quite nice, I actually had troubles getting it off and it did stain my lips a little, but nothing too drastic. For $1, this is such a good value and could possibly make good gift ideas as well :)
Date published: 2014-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for $1 This was my first ever ELF lip product, or any ELF product for that matter way back when. I first ever got this in Fearless and was super pleased with the pigmentation. With it I also got the Essential Lip Liner in a red shade (which is now discontinued, apparently). My next order, I got Sociable. I recently realized upon purchasing the Studio Matte Lip Color in Rich Red that it is much, much like Sociable. Both Fearless and Sociable are long gone and this point but once I run out of my Studio Matte Lip Color in Rich Red, I'll likely be repurchasing this lipstick in the shade Sociable. Both are matte, apply creamy and are extremely long lasting. A+ in my book, ELF.
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall satisfied I am a makeup artist and I love elf cosmetics, therefore I purchase all of their products in very large amounts at a time. I have the whole collection of these lipsticks and what I have noticed is that they are all similar in shade/colour. I still LOVE them, their pigments are great, and getting them for only a dollar is completely worth it. My favourite colour is sociable; it is a sheer colour with a little sparkle in it and very creamy!These 8 shades are my most recent purchase, so I did a swatch on only them. Hope this helps!!
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Regret buy! After reading the mostly good reviews, I was disappointed when this arrived. I am normally fan of e.l.f. but this product was lowly pigmented and gave off a cheap and powdery look. It also has a bad smell and is three shades lighter than the color you order.
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised. And now one of my favorites! I was reading the other reviews on this, before I made my own-- and I disagree with what some people said about there being a lack of pigment. The other day, I was so taken with this lipstick-- that I decided comparing it to other lipsticks on my arm. Out of about 10 lipsticks, including Revlon, Avon, and Clinique-- I considered this to be be the most pigmented-- and it wasn't even drying!I wouldn't have bought this lipstick, somebody else gave it to me, but I will definitely be buying it again!
Date published: 2014-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price, nothing to die for. I bought almost every color and they are actually good for the price. The are very moisturized and they are definitely not the most pigmented lipsticks that you will ever buy, but they have a nice pigment. They are not try to color comparing to the swatches in here. The tube is kind of hard to twist. Another bad thing is that the actual product does out of the tube, it doesn't stick to the tube or whatever it that makes sense. Overall they are good for the price, but nothing to die for. Maybe they are okay for an everyday use, not for special occasions
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from AWFUL! I got this item today, I had really low expectations because of the price. However, I did expect to have SOME pigment in this lipstick. After about 10 passes i had what looked like chapped lips. DO NOT waste your dollar here.Also arrived broken.
Date published: 2014-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New found love. I will be ordering many, many more of these the colors are GREAT! and they last a long time.
Date published: 2014-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful texture When I wear this it makes my lips look dry and crusty. When I put a lip gloss over it,it doesn't layer well at all.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I've tried better and worse For a buck this isn't bad lipstick, but I need more. I found the texture to be a bit greasy and so slick that there was no cling to the lips so this quickly disappeared off my lips. I don't mind reapplying lipstick but when I need to do so every hour it's a little frustrating.I'd say if you're trying out a new color (I bought the orangy shade trying to figure out if I could pull it off) it's not bad. But for me I prefer to put on my lipstick and not need to worry about it till after I eat (no lip product survives through a meal on me).Summary- if you want to try a new color start here. But if you're looking to just expand your collection, save up and buy better.
Date published: 2014-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great Have it and it is a nice lipstick for its price creamy very pigmented and stays on pretty long... 
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This color was too red for me but I cannot say I wasn't warned with the name of it!
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from loved the color but.. I bought this lipstick in Nostalgic after many months of debating on it, its a nice pinky-nude color but once I received it in the mail it was crushed and I attempted to fix it but it just broke again... maybe I'll have to order another sometime soon ;(
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The tube was a little hard to turn but that might have just been bad luck for me. I tend to have really dry, chapped lips and this lipstick didn't draw anymore attention to this than any other I have tried. Very creamy, sort of has a lip balm like feeling when you first apply it. I have this in Seductive, because I didn't want too bright a red colour because it would just clash with my skin tine and hair, and I saw that sometimes the colours aren't exactly what they are advertised to be all the time, but when it was only a dollar, I didnt think I was going to lose too much if it was slightly too bright. 
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Price! I love this dollar lipstick! I have it in the shade 'seductive.' With this lipstick, it is a must that you exfoliate before you use it as it can be chunky. I love the barely there feeling. This would make a great gift for younger girls who want play makeup. But if you are buying it for yourself, I recommend finding a good gloss and lip primer. You will need them to make this lipstick last like you want it to and not travel and gather in the lines on your lips.
Date published: 2014-08-13