Lipstick is rated 3.9017 out of 5 by 834.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great texture I love these lipsticks, however, since i ordered it online. There were some damage to my lipsticks tip which i did not like it at all. However, it is good overall for me.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantasy is my go to color! Over the last few years I have returned to buy Fantasy! One for my purse, one for my makeup bag, one for the car, etc. I have Nostalgic and Voodoo as well, but I don't love them nearly as much. I have light/olive skin and Nostalgic is way too light for me. Voodoo is a good, classic red that is very wearable for everyday occasions.Back to Fantasy. It's like the most amazing color ever. I regularly choose this over my high-end lipsticks. The formula is very creamy and I think it's pretty pigmented for the price. The only thing I hate is the packaging. The part that holds the base of the lipstick and moves it up and down is very weak, cause lines in product after one use. From there, they just get more fragile. I've had to melt down a few honestly.Also, these are great for experimenting with new colors. Cheap way to find out what colors you look good in!
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THEM * Buying more! The one I'm wearing is Flirtacious the pinkest one. I am actually wearing *all* elf make up here. I just did a huge haul so I'm wearing elf eyeshadows smudge pot, and elf booster and elf mineral makeup. I did get nostalgic lipstick too and it is wayy too light. If I wear that one it is always mixed with something else I could never wear it alone other it looks like I have just died. So pale. But its good to mix with a darker color or glosses ... I'm so impressed with the quality, they smell nice and are actually creamy on your lips. I have never enjoyed wearing lipstick until now. :)
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh I got the color Fearless in a holiday gift set with a glittery lip plumping gloss. Needless to say, neither is too great. Fearless is more like a very pigmented balm than a lipstick, and it lacks opaqueness. However, if you are new to wearing lipstick or you're a little anxious about wearing bold colors, perhaps starting with these would be a good place to start. It provides enough color and isn't streaky for those wanting to try a little boldness, without the pop of a good lipstick.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SO IMPRESSED! I am SO IMPRESSED by this super affordable lipstick! While the packaging is really ugly and cheap, the lipstick itself is comfortable on the lips, has decent staying power, and comes in a good variety of wearable colours. I bought 6 shades and I'm pretty happy with all of them. The lipstick itself is very soft though, so you have to be careful because sometimes it will smudge against the lid as you're closing it and make a mess.
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful but.. I love this lipstick. I got Posh, Classy & Fearless. They do not smell. The packaging is just right and the colors are wonderful. The only thing is that it's sort of tinted, I guess I could say so you can't really build it up that well. But other than that, I love this lippystick! Oh and it also makes my lips very soft, which I lovee. It stayed on all day too.
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE I am caramel skinned woman of color & I have this in Seductive. Oh my goodness. I use this as my all over color stick. The color is so gorgeous on my lips so tried rubbing some on my cheek and it came out like soft pink blush. The color is pigmented but soft enough for me to use as eye shadow highlighter. It goes on smoother than my wet & wild lipstick. But the only thing is that it broke in half while I was putting some on. It only cost $1 so I wasn't surprised, but now I have to buy like 3 more in this color.
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome value !! I can't believe the price! I'm so impressed with this lipstick. I purchased Charming and Seductive. It's true that the colour can look a little different in person but the risk is worth the price and the quality for the cost can't be beat! I love this lipstick and will probably eventually own every colour!
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love them all I bought all of these but 4 a month ago. I found that they are in really good packaging. They also have a lot of pigment are extremely soft. They are such a steal in my opinion and have really long wear on my lips. I have recommended them to friends and all have bought at least one. These are all go-to lipsticks for me! I recently bought 3 more, so the only one I do not own is posh. Again, just amazing and for a buck, what are you going to lose?
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice, affordable, and smells great, but... I just received my Cyber Monday order and I now have about 7 of these. They're very pigmented on the lips and they smell really sweet, kind of like candy. The swatches on the site are almost identical to what you get in real life. The only problem I get is that the tubes seem really hard to twist the lipstick up from, and some of the lipsticks are broken on the inside to where you sometimes have to "restick" it in the tube. Honestly, for $1, that's really the only flaw I can see but perhaps ELF needs to rethink the packaging on these to make them a little sturdier.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price good colour Loved it good deal and good colour! Totally worth buying!
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My fav E.L.F product so far! I loooooove it so much.. Tbh I just bought one and when I applied it, I was amazed! I didn't really expect it to look good because of its priceGive it a try!
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDERFUL! I had never purchased "e.l.f. Essential Lipstick". I have purchased the ELF twist-up gloss and the lip tint pen and I am not really a fan of those.Oh no, I was missing out of a great product! These lipsticks are amazing! They are moisturizing, but not slippery and the color choices are wonderful on my medium skin tone. All the colors are wearable for everyday use either at work or anywhere. I will purchase these as long as they are available. Wonderful product.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible... I bought this in the color nostalgic, and oh my... first off, the color on the website looked like a light pink, but it's actually a nude color, I'm of fair-light completion and it turned my lips lighter than their natural color, like the shade of my skin! I'd never wear it, I had to take it immediatly. On top of that the lipstick broke right away, and the packaging is cheaper than cheap. It makes a weird noise and is really sticky when you try to twist the lipstick up. That wouldn't bother me if it was a good lipstick, but it didn't even apply to my lips evenly, it made them look flaky and dry. I hate to rip on elf because I usually love their products, but I felt like I needed to share for the sake of others. I recently ordered another color of this lipstick to see if it was just a fluke with that particular shade. I'm trying to give it another chance
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good but broke I have this is 4 colors and I love them all, although ive had posh for about a month now, and it came a little scratched up, a little lopsided, I didn't think about it. but today, I went for the lipstick and it had completely broken off! that's the only reason I knocked it down a star. its not a super big deal, but I cant use the lipstick for about a week and a half+ depending on when I order next. I just wish the packaging was a little better. but other than that, I loved the lipstick.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Colors! I bought 4 of these and I just got them and I absolutely love the colors and they don't dry out my lips like other lipsticks
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bad packaging I ordered this lipstick in the color "nostalgic" and i love it. Doesnt dry out the lips, and the smell is amazing. My only concern is that it came broken...pretty dissapointed about that.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth and creamy I had read a lot of reviews saying how these were too buttery or that they broke. I haven't had any problems with mine and the colors are gorgeous. They go on smooth and are pretty long wearing.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Color swatches I just ordered three of these in my continual search for a good blue-based plummy not too dark color.These colors were fine, but still not what I was looking for.I swatched Voodoo, Fantasy and Seductive (left to right in the swatches).
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not impressed I Ibought the ELF essential lipstick in all 10 available colours. I thought for a dollar each of either be happy with the purchase out if not i wouldn't be out much. It's pretty disappointing to have ten brand new lipsticks lined up and realise you'd likely never wear any of them.The con-cheap packaging, you can feel the poor quality as you try to twist the lipstick up. Once you twist up your realise the actual color doesn't match to the website. It's not close on any of the 4 screens I've tried viewing on. The pigmentation isn't great. Holy wow, not happy to find sparkles. Lipstick I'm immediately broke in tube on two.Pros-they were inexpensive. Got to try colours i wouldn't have tried otherwise and confirm for myself that they do look horrible on me and i shouldn't repurchase similar colours in better formulas. . Process of elimination i guess?
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love this lipstick I have this in charming, seductive, posh, and captivating. I love them all! they glide on super well, and are so pigmented, the least pigmented one is posh, but its still very pigmented! I am buying the other colors ASAP I recommend it totallyto anyone. Its also great for the price!! and it smells amazing!
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pigmented and creamy I really love this lipstick! Creamy soft texture and good natural looking pigmentation. I want to buy more colors!
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disgusting, don't buy This product has had mixed reviews, and elf is known for not wing consistent with their products. The color match was not true, It looks like a deep color online, but is actually a bright pink. (Charming) it leaves a gross texture on your lips, and it looks like you applied crayon on.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Intense colour that lasts. Also I don't have to wipe off the old to apply a new layer. Will buy again.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too waxy Does not glide on well at all, have to mix it with something else so that it feels nice on my lips.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price you pay I purchased a few of these to test and practice with. Pros: great light smell, durable container( I dropped one and it stayed together), easy to apply and nice matte finish. Cons: hard to twist at times, not very moisturizing with some colors being hard to apply for even application. I recommend checking out some youtube videos to make sure that the colors you buy work for your skin tone. Captivating was too orange and Charming is very light.
Date published: 2014-10-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Colors not accurate on website I can never complain about the great prices on ELF products. Unfortunately, I have bought this lipstick in several colors, but they all are too orange for me. Looking for pink/nude/brown colors I have not yet found one I liked that matched the colors on the website.
Date published: 2014-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Soft I really wanted to try this product having high hopes because I really love this brand. First off, when I received my lipstick in the mail, it was not the color I had hoped it to be. I picked the color Nostalgic thinking the color was wrong on the website and it would be a nice nude color. It was very pinky and sandy colored and I just didnt like the color. I go to apply this lipstick thinking maybe it'll look better on me than just in the tube. Nope. I also found out how soft this lipstick is. It is mosturizing, however so soft that no matter how low I had it twisted, it still broke. I was disappointed with this product and will not be repurchasing. I do want to try the other lipsticks in the studio and mineral line. Hopefully those will be better.
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good lipstick I bought this few weeks ago and tried it about last week. While applying the lipstick, it was rough to apply. I quickly removed it and added a gloss on my lips as a primer and to bring more moisture (although my lip balm didn't work as a solution for moisture). After applying the gloss, the lipstick had much more opacity and an easy application. Now, I'm not sure if this was the lipstick, but about 2 days later, my lips felt kind of weird and I had a microscopic rash on my upper lip. I'm not sure if it's the lipstick, but I do know I am sensitive. I'll give it another try to see if I will get irritated again, but overall, it's a good lipstick. And have I mentioned how good they smell!
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price Great pigmentation and super creamy. The only drawbacks I found were the packaging and the smell. The twisty part you use to get the product up gets stuck often. I have two colors (classy and fantasy) and they both have a very strange smell. Bearable but definitely a con.
Date published: 2014-10-13