Essential Lipstick is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 1138.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love! I bought this just a week ago & I already LOVE IT after wearing it for the whole week. I love it so much I'm stocking up in this product! The shade is just perfect, just how it's shown on the picture.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great lipstick for one dollar! I grabbed this in the colors Posh (on sale) and Nostalgic. Both are extremely creamy and have strong color payoff. Posh blew me away because it pulled more 'cranberry' on my lips than pink - which is exactly what I was hoping. Nostalgic is a great nude lippie (more yellow toned vs. peach toned) for a swipe on the lips, dab some gloss to blend and go everyday look. For $1 - Nostalgic blows a lot of other nude lipsticks out of the water. You can't find a great go-to lipstick with moisture that cheap in-store (especially if you wear it with gloss, which I recommend so you don't look washed out)!Wish they sold these in-stores - but so glad I got a few. Nostalgic is my favorite, just because I'm a nude lip lover. Only downside is the tube. The tube doesn't really "lock" to keep the bullet down, so if you grab the lipstick wrong, you can accidentally "push" the lipstick up into the cap. Just be aware.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from eh This lipstick overall is not very good. Although it is very creamy, it is not very pigmented. The color I bought was not the same color in the swatch online. The one I received was way lighter. I also found that it emphasized all of the lines in my lips and defined them. Most of the lipstick ended up there. So I exfoliated to get rid of my dry skin but the same thing happened. Granted it is one dollar so I guess you get your money's worth.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Different from the picture I really got carried away with that colour in the picture . What I got was very light pink. Very disappointing. The quality is ok little dry but still if only the colour was same as in the picture I would have been ecstatic
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dislike i bought the color Nostalgic and online it seemed like a perfect nudelike mostly pink shade. I was really excited about it so as soon as it came I opened it and tried it out, to my surprise the color was chalky, and ashy. It looked almost like a concealer and really light blush blended together and labeled lipstick. I really was disappointed with the color.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Color Much Different Than Pictured I know we are told ahead of time that the color of the lipstick we receive may be different than what is pictured on the website due to "monitor settings," but I was expecting a medium-toned pink when I ordered the Classy shade. Instead, I received a light "bubblegum"pink! e.l.f. really needs to work on more accurate portrayals of their lipstick colors! However, that being said, it did go on smoothly and lasted a good length of time - not bad for a $1 lipstick.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't do better for the price Beware of the shades you see online. I purchased Classy, which looked like a pinkish berry. The product I got was lighter and was more of a nude pink. I know monitors may show a slight difference in color, but it's really off. It is wearable though. The packaging looks really nice, but is squeaky trying to turn the lipstick up (almost wanted to put some WD40 in in haha). The lipstick is a bit heavy and waxy, so I would make sure to buff your lips before using so it won't show the dead skin or feel too dry.I would almost call this matte. It does last pretty well too.I really wish there were more shades because most of them look too light for my taste. I have pretty light skin and too light lips make me look washed out. Can't really complain for $1 though.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good lipstick, bad color previews. I got Flirtatious and Sociable. Sociable is a bit lighter than in the photo, but still a nice shade. Flirtatious, however, is way closer to what the preview of Nostalgic looks like - nowhere NEAR as saturated as it appears online. Both lipsticks provide good coverage; I'm just bummed I won't be wearing one of them, since it's too light for me.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Moisturizing & not drying. I bought Nostalgic. It looks like a beautiful colour online. It looked like a beautiful nude shade. It ended up being a very peachy colour with a pink undertone on my forearm. Unfortunately despite it Feeling really nice on my lips it looks like I got a Concealer Stick mixed up with my lipstick. Great quality. Definitely the wrong colour for me. Yes I would recommend this lipstick if you manage to chose the right colour that you are looking for.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOOOVEEE ITTT!!! its an amazing product! would totally buy again!
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pass I'm not the sure why but it smells vaguely like nail polish remover. I ordered the colour fearless which I thought would be a bold red but looked more pink on the lips. There was much better lipsticks on the market that are better than this one
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent coloring I've bought a great deal of e.l.f lipsticks. I absolutely love them. The first picture is Posh without a lip liner.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nostalgic is too light I bought this in the shade Nostalgic. When it arrived it was broken. I was able to salvage some of it. It is a very light shade and barely shows up. I am going to try different shades though so hopefully the pigmentation is better in those.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly good! THE GOOD: I bought this in the colour Posh a little while ago and it has exceeded my expectations! I gave it a go since it was only $1 and I was pleasantly surprised. The colour lasts a long time, even after eating and drinking. The lipstick itself isn't drying and goes on easily. It doesn't have a funny taste and actually smells pleasant. I ordered some other lip products from elf and they honestly kind of smelled like crayons, but not this one! THE BAD: Only thing I would say is that if you're going to order this, the actual product is a little brighter than the photos, but they're pretty close. The packaging feels a bit cheap but I mean you're hardly paying anything, so it's understandable. In the end, I'll definitely be ordering this again.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but deceptive colours - see my pics I purchased Classy, Seductive, and Fearless. Classy & Seductive are much lighter when applied & different than what appears on the site. This is based upon my complexion - light with golden undertones and brown/black hair. When using Amazing Cosmetics, my exact match is Light Golden. Attached are some pics of how the shades looked on me with one application, no blotting. Please note, I'm not wearing concealer/foundation so this is my natural skin tone. They are in order left to right: 1) Classy 2) Seductive 3) Fearless (bottom)I do like the colours, but Classy looks more violet and Seductive looks peachy (at least on me) Fearless is the only colour that looks exactly as pictured online and in the tube.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Good As soon as this came in the mail i got exited and opened it. I tried to swatch it and it fell out and got bent! I had to squish it back in and reshape it so i could use it. I am very disappointed in this product.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Lipstick 7706 Posh broke as soon as I first opened it. It was all soft and melting. Posh has a good pigmentation though. Lipstick 7702 Classy had a white frost kind of surface covering when first opened. All other colors I bought were chalky.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful Colour, Too Fragile I bought this with a bunch of other e.l.f. products and was very excited to have a nice smooth lipstick in a very flattering colour ( I picked up Seductive) It was in great condition when I received it, which is always something I worry about when ordering online and shipping. However, with only a few uses I knew it wasn't going to last in its tube. The lipstick popped out once and I was able to save it and put it back in the tube, but I ended up transferring it out into a little glass jar so that it wouldn't end up on the floor! I still need to try to melt it down so I can continue using it, however if you aren't up for that little DIY I would suggest finding a different lipstick. The formula is nice and the colour is beautiful. It goes on very smooth however doesn't last long.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It fell out the instance I opened the tube of lipstick the whole thing literally fell out. It's slippery and wet. Not a happy elfer.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good formula This is my first purchase of this lipstick and I like the formula. I purchased Seductive. I will wear it but it was much brighter and a bit lighter than the color block/swatch suggested - it looks on me more like the color of Flirtatious. So if I try this product again, I might go for Posh to tone down the brightness. Otherwise, the lipstick seems very good. I just received it so haven't worn it a lot yet.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very pretty color but not on me I wanted to get a nice nude color, so I bought this and it wasn't what I expected. I put it on and I look like a ghost, I'm somewhat a dark skin color. Very dissapointed.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Budget Lipstick I purchased this lipstick in the color Posh and was pleased. It is very pigmented, moisturizing and applies smoothly. The color is much lighter than what is pictured so that is something to keep in mind but for the price these lipsticks are definitely worth trying.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lipstick I bought Nostalgic a while back, the color wasn't much lighter than I thought but other than that it's a great lipstick. It's glossy and hydrating and smells amazing.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great deal but colors may be deceiving I bought the Classy color because it looked more like a mauve on the website. When it arrived, the color in the tube matched what was on the site, except when I put it on it was shocking hot pink. Yikes! It's a great creamy lipstick but not the color I was expecting.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad :( i love one dollar deals but this is not my favorit. Smells like plastic and broke with the first use, it's definitely not my favorite product... but i love e.l.f products
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! The color "Nostalgic" is my favorite nude lipstick. So many times nudes look weird and chalky on me, but this one is a perfect match for my skin tone. The quality of the lipstick is good too. Very creamy and feels good on the lips. I keep one in my purse, for quick and easy touch ups. And for the price, wow, what a good deal!
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I bought this in the color Posh for a stage production, and have ended up using it for everything! It's my first real lip color, so I'm probably not a great judge, but I love it. It's a perfect dark red. I'm blonde and blue, but I get really tan, so I have a really hard time finding lip colors to match, but this one is beautiful. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful product Love the consistency of this lipstick, color glides on smooth and evenly and stays put surprisingly well without any kind of liner. Will definitely be buying this in other shades.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it! My grandma got this lipstick in Posh for me, since it was $1...I LOVE it. So moisturizing, nice light berry scent, and the pigmentation is good. Better than lipsticks 10 or 20x the price! I will definitely be purchasing more E.L.F. cosmetics.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FOR $1, THIS PRODUCT IS GREAT. Greasier than high-end products. Pigment has good pay-off. Definitely recommend wearing with a lip liner to avoid bleeding and smearing. Liked this product enough to repurchase—shades Seductive & Flirtatious.
Date published: 2016-11-05