Lip Primer & Plumper is rated 3.4947916666666665 out of 5 by 384.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy Tip First, if you're like a lot of the ladies in these reviews you only really use the plumper and not the primer. But I've found a handy little use for that primer. I use it to tone down the color of some of my too bright or too dark lipsticks...it's amazing! Works every time.Now on to the plumper. It is fabulous. I've tried A LOT of lip plumpers and even the really expensive ones don't work as good as this one. You really get that "bee-stung" look (and feel.) If you are sensitive though, it might be a bit much. It DOES tingle and sting. It doesn't bother me, that's how most lip plumpers (the ones that actually work anyway) feel. But I can see how for some people it could be uncomfortable. But it does work. My lips are definitely fuller after I use this.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from OW! I received this as a birthday gift a few days ago and had a basic idea of what the plumper was supposed to do. Not a second after I applied the plumper did my lips immediately begin to BURN. It felt as if I was having an allergic reaction(though I'm not allergic to any of the ingredients) or being stung by bees on my lips. I let it sit for a moment, hoping the stinging would pass, but it only got worse and I had to run to the bathroom and wash it off. The primer wasn't all that wonderful either as it actually muted the color of my lipstick.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm addicted to this stuff! I absolutely LOVE the lip plumper and am addicted to that little tingle it gives you. Now all my friends are addicted too. One suggestion Elf, lose the primer and give us more plumper!!!!
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish they would sell the Plumper on its own The plumper is the only reason to buy this. The primer is ok, but kind of crumbles a little and leaves my dark lips a wierd ghostly color, even when layered with lipstick. The plumper is totally worth it though.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Affects Lipstick Color I bought this for the primer rather than the plumper. Primer goes on like an opaque pale flesh toned concealer. I found it did not "set" but remained creamy even if I left it for an extended period of time, which was a problem when I put lipstick on over it. It mixed with my matte lipstick and resulted in it going on much paler than the actual shade. Tried reapplying the lipstick later, still had the problem. A good primer should NOT alter the color of the lipstick that goes over it. Nice case, liked the look and feel of the product and the price was right BUT just does not do what it is supposed to do. Should be clear or should set so it does not mix with lipstick and make it paler.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good I bought this recently after trying out a few other lip plumpers. You can definitely feel the tingles and smell the cinnamon in it. The primer works best if you let it dry to your lips first especially if you plan on using matte lip stick.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Um..... Ok, So I bought this and I forgot about it. Well Last Sat. I went out with my friends. And I found It and decided to use it. So I used it and 10 seconds after my lps felt on on fire. I am pretty sure that it was the plumper. I DO NOT RECCOMEND THIS UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR LIPS TO FEEL LIKE THEY ARE GOING TO BURN OFF!!!!
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Burned my upper lip Immediately after applying my lips started to tingly and within minutes my upper lip felt very dry and was painful to talk or smile. Looked in the mirror and my upper lip looked like it was burned. Lasted about a week.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Uneven It dries my lips out and goes on blotchy. Ive found that it works okay on certain cheap oily lipsticks, but its hit or miss
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good plumper, bad primer I love the plumper! It smells like cinnamon, almost a little too strongly but works great! I really don't like the primer. It makes my lips looks chalky and I don't like the texture of it.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! Makes my lipstick last longer I'm very satisfy
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay The "plumping" side works to plump up your lips, also it smells amazing. The "primer" side didn't do much for me, it may have made my lipstick stay on longer but in the long run I don't think it was worth it because it made my lips look patchy and dry even though they weren't. I really liked the packaging thought, it's very small and cute.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing plumper I give full stars simply because the plumper is amazing! I haven't tried the primer yet but it doesn't seem like a nice texture but it's worth the money just for the plumping. If you use it everyday your lips will actually start to look fuller. The cinnamon is pretty strong and burns for a few minutes but not bad.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was so excited when I bought this product but when I went to try it, both sides snapped. Might as well throw away. This product does not work. The primer dries your lips and makes them chalky. The the plumper doesnt tingle or anything and I see no difference after applying and leaving it on. I dont reccomend.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from an okay product This product is okay. I found that the primer dried my lips, but I like the plumper.
Date published: 2016-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the plumper, Primer is ok I thought it would buy this to give it a try. I have never tried any kind of lip plumper before, and I was surprised at how well this works! Lips tingle when you first apply the plumper but it goes away fast. The primer is alright, whenever I put it on my lips it doesn't go on smooth and always leaves chunks on my lips instead of covering it fully and evenly. Does manage to keep the lipstick on longer though.I definitely recommend it for the plumper.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hydrating. The plumper side of the stick is great but i dont like the primer side. It would be great if they made only the plumper side so i wont waste the primer. The primer is way too chalky looking, and i really dont prefer the weird scent on it as well. Overall, i still would purchase the product just for the plumper.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lip plumper and primer One of my favorites. I love the plumper. Definitely works. I mostly just use it for the plumper.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good The primer is hard to cover but but it does help lipstick last longer and the plumper works well too.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saver of time and money I love this product it has helped me feel more comfy trying different lipsticks and leaving my comfy zone. I wish though it was sold as just the primer alone I don't need to plump my lips they already full
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Use This EVERYDAY! I don't particularly need plumper lips, but I've tried different instant plumpers before because a little extra pout doesn't hurt. However, I've always been in need of a good primer. My natural lip color is a very bright red that doesn't blend well with nudes, purples, and pinks. Both ends of this product are the best of their kind that I've ever tried. The plumper works instantly and the effects last long enough that I only need to refresh a few times a day (if necessary). The primer is nearly the same tone as the skin around my mouth so any lipstick goes on looking exactly the way it's supposed to. The primer also isn't drying, which is a huge problem that I've had with products that I've tried in the past. I recommend this product every chance I get!WARNING! If you've never tried a plumper before, or you're trying one now for the first time, IT IS SUPPOSED TO BURN AT FIRST. All instant plumpers will have this effect when you first apply them. The ingredients are meant to "irritate" the capillaries in your lips and cause swelling, or "plumpness". This sensation does not mean that something's wrong with the product. However, if the feeling persists for more than a few minutes, THEN you should stop using it.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the plumper, the primer not so much.. Love Love Love the plumper! makes your lips tingle for a minute but i can see a difference. I rarely use the primer, and just wish the plumper was sold by itself s
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Didn't think it would work at first but I was very surprised when I first applied it. I will defiantly buy this again. Great product, great quality, great price. Well with it.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING PRODUCT My favorite thing about this is the plumper! It does sting a little bit at first but it goes away. Primer I don't use as much because I normally focus on the size of my lips rather than lip color. Overall amazing product! I've already recommended it to a friend! She's getting it tomorrow.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Burns!!!!!!!! I don't usually wear a plumper for my lips but I decided to try it out. Big mistake! I had put the primer on first and then the plumper and my lips started to burn!! I thought the sensation would ago away but after a few minutes i couldn't take it anymore and had to wipe it off. Very disappointed!! Giving this a 3 because the primer is good. Wouldn't suggest using the plumper.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just tried it! I bought this yesterday and love it! I always have a disappearing upper lip and the plumper keeps it from disappearing. I love the primer too because I hate having lipstick come off after what seems like 5 minutes.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stings Badly then suddenly feels like it's burning.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The plumper is great - the primer, not so much. Firstly, I should start by saying that this arrived broken, the plumper wasn't in the packaging properly and fell out as soon as I removed the lid.The plumper - this is great. It has a aniseed taste (so if you don't like that this definitely isn't for you). It works as well as other plumbers I have used in the past and one of the things I really like is that you can use it over lipstick without it adding a gloss to it. Other plumbers I have used have been glosses rather than balms so I like that about this product. The only downside is that it is very drying on the lips. Don't expect a moisture surge from this product.The primer - this is a very highly pigmented pale beige/nude. Don't apply it to your lips like a lipstick unless you want to look like a clown. I just dabbed this on and blended it with my finger before applying my lipstick. I wouldn't use this alone underneath the plumper because the colour is just awful.Overall, this is a good product if used sparingly. It's definitely good value.
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing primer First time using elf products wow to the primer. Not a lip plumper kinda girl so that side will not be used. But folks let me tell you for 18 years I worked for a high end cosmetic company and this prime for this price takes it hands down.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Manufacturing problems Would have been convinced if the primer side worked. When it arrived it wouldn't twist up at all. Then after giving up on twisting and just using a small brush to apply the primer, it just fell off completely. Manufacturing problems for sure.Being used to carmex lip balm, I thought the "subtle plumping tingle effect" would be, i guess... more subtle... When i first tried the plumper, I got a surprisingly sharp cinnamon feel. It is definitely more intense than anything I have ever tried! But it's invigorating nonetheless, and should not be underplayed. I personally do not find this a problem, however plumper on its own is fierce and this should be clear.Would have been happier if i was able to use both sides to its full functionality as i believe the purpose is that they complement each other.
Date published: 2016-02-22