Lip Stain is rated 3.621 out of 5 by 525.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Simply love these! So ammmmmmmmmmmmazing. Pigmented
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love This Cosmetic Line ! I buy ALL I can get, for the money it's WONDERFAL,,, I am a dark skinned woman and the pink blush in the long white container looks GOOD on ME, I use to get that dark wine lookin blush , but now I'm older now and that pink blush with the sparkles goes on and blends well. I use the lightest concealer just under eyebrow and some under eye then blend, I use the lip stain, love that cause it goes on matt, I don't need shine all the time..I find GOOD in it all.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Total waste of time This seems to go on creamy, but that is a tease, as it drys to cake almost in seconds, the the gloss is no help, .. very shiny but if I wanted to glue my lips together, I will use super glue and the color is next to nothing, might try another to see If I got a bad one.. but very disappointed in this
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long Lasting Stays Put I bought Red Carpet to try out and really liked the effect. Color is buildable from soft blush to dramatic and bold. I like that it dries matte and can be paired with a gloss or lip butter. My experience has been about 6 hours before needding a touch up. Lasts through coffee and lunch. Elf color matching is usually a gamble so I am ordering 3 more of these in various shades. Remember these are undercoats and meant to be layered, so for $3 its no big deal to mix and match. These are great for mini purses and way better than the Elf felt tip stains that dry out after you open them.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not true to color As some other reviewers have said, the color of the product on the website is no indication of its actual color. I purchased Lucky Lady, which looks like a nice pinkish-mauve color, and it's actually brownish-nude. I have pale, warm-toned skin and it looks beige and concealer-like on me. It feels very dry and almost powdery. I can't attest to how well it wears because I was so dissatisfied with the color and feel that I took it off right away.
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Totally different color I ordered 2 of these in Lucky Lady. The stain works and is fine but the color is WAY OFF from what it shows online. Not even in the realm of what I was expecting.
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! This is a cream stain/liquid lipstick, it reminds me of Sephora's cream lip stains. I have First Date and Red Carpet. First Date is similar in color to MAC's Viva Glam Nicky, but with shimmer. It's lighter than my natural lips, so it can get cakey since I have to apply many layers to make it look good. I prefer Red Carpet, which I would describe as watermelon (the actual fruit). It's gorgeous and has no shimmer. (I don't like shimmer on my lips) I don't wear this unless my lips are highly moisturized. And I always add a little chapstick on top, not the gloss to keep my lips moisturized (which is too wet, it wipes off the stain). My lips dry out really fast, so this is preferable over a traditional stain, which is out of the question for my easily shriveled lips.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not true to color Bought this in Lucky Lady and Mysterious and they are both really orange. Otherwise, they're pretty good.
Date published: 2015-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I ordered it for Xmas and even that it is a nude color it is visible. It looks simple but yet classy.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome! I really like this product, but be warned the color is much different than the site.
Date published: 2014-12-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not in love with this! I tried two of these shades, I don't like the gloss consistency. It's not really glossy and the stain cakes up around your lips.
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great color I got this in a mystery bag deal they were having, and it cam with thus in mysterious. The color is great but a bit drying. I learned that if you want the best color, you need to add a couple of layers.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really gross Clumpy, smells like house paint, the gloss when I got it was NOT clear..........
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great matte lipstick I ordered this in Red Carpet and I *love* it. The swatch on this site looks like a deep red/crimson, but the actual coloring is brighter. It is a bit drying, but if I apply a lip balm beforehand, dryness is no longer a problem. Additionally, the stain has a mildly unpleasant smell, but that goes away after it dries (and it dries quickly). Without the gloss, it has a wonderful matte finish; with the gloss, it has a normal lipstick sheen. Would buy again -- hopefully in a wider color range!
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thin and streaky, color WAAAY off. Avoid. I found this product to be thin and streaky.I understand monitors differ but he Lucky Lady color as shown is not even close to what I received.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got Red Carpet and adored it. I liked using it without the clear gloss because of how matte of a finish it had, it gave me a very dramatic red lip that I love. For me, it only lasted about 2 hours before it was obvious to see parts were wearing off quicker than others. But considering the price, definitely worth it and I will probably be buying more soon!
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmm The color is just too light, I know is a stain, but I expected more.
Date published: 2014-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from In love with e.l.f. cosmetics, on my opinion this is the best you could get for the such democratic price.
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So bright! I bought this a while ago and absolutely love it! The pink is bright and lasts a very long time if you don't put the gloss over it! Smells a little funny though.
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty Good The color is just absolutely stunning and breath taking. It gets a bit sticky after a while but it stays and lasts as long as you want it to. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that when you close either end, the makeup tends to spread and sort of come out instead of staying inside
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Red lip stain! It says Red, but on me its kind of hot pink. Either way I love it. I don't uae the clear gloss. Instead I use eos lip balm and then the stain. Helps keep my lips moisturized!
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Red Carpet I love this shade and the quality of the stain! I also have Birthday Suit, and I love that one, but I found that it was starting to get flakey after my 8 hour work day. This colour was completely budge proof! I put it on at 7am before work, had lunch, 2 coffees, and talked on the phone all day, and it didn't wear off or flake/crack at all. By bedtime that night, it still looked perfect. This is a picture after 12+ hours of use (sorry - it won't let me rotate the picture). Note: I skip the gloss and just wear the stain alone. The gloss doesn't go on easily and it reverses the 'stain' effect.
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love! Just got this in the mail and put it on! Great color but doesnt last as long as a stain should! More like a lipgloss but otherwise awesome!
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful colors Bought 2 shades the first time, went back and got more shades including one I got previously. I love them.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Birthday Suit - Perfect Pink I am a newbie to ELF and just put my first order in.  I received it about a week ago (shipping to Toronto was GREAT - only took 3 business days) and I have been playing around with my products ever since.  I bought Mysterious for my mom and Birthday Suit for myself.  Mysterious was a lot more brown than it appears on the website, but it worked perfect with her olive tanned skin.  The Birthday Suit is true to colour - its a vibrant pink that has tons of pigment.  I would classify this as a 'Barbie Pink'.  I LOVE it.  I would suggest exfoliating your lips before and then skipping out on the gloss.  Leaving it matte just how it is looks great, and plus it doesn't come off when eating/drinking if you don't put the lipgloss over top.  No gloss=white coffee cup, gloss over top=bright pink lip stains on coffee cup.  Here is a picture of Birthday Suit with no gloss.  I will be repurchasing all of the shades next order :)
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I found that the colour didn't really show up on my lips. It just kind of smeared around in this transparent coat rather than going on smoothly and putting a nice last colour on. 
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't WASTE your money!!! Let me first just say i usually love elf products... but definitely not this one! I have been looking at this product for a while now because i thought it would be perfect for me! I wanted something long lasting, good color pay off, and not too drying. Well sorry to tell you but this product is definitely not that. First of all i bought this product in birthday suit thinking it would be a pretty neutral pink shade. And when it arrived i was so disappointed! it was this dark bright neon pink! That's not the look i was going for. The gloss didn't work either. So please be aware that the colors are not what they seem. Also even though it supposed to be a "stain" when you wear it without the gloss it doesn't even last an hour! It also has a very clumpy uneven application... Please please please don't waste your money!!! If the product wasn't that bad i wouldn't have written a review in the first place...
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heartbreaker I've had this product for two months or so, and I like it. I got "Heartbreaker" thinking it'd be a pretty pink for everyday. It's really more "deep" and nudey than I thought and appears more corally in photos, but I still really like it. I have fairly pigmented lips anyway, so I don't mind. I don't really had a strong opinion for the gloss - it's okay. I don't like glosses much anyway. Also, it doesn't really "stain" my lips. It sticks well. It feels real soft though, so that's a tradeoff you make. Overall, I like this product!
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 5/10. I don't like the stain, but I love the gloss I bought this is in heartbreaker and I love the color! Unfortunately, it doesn't actually stain my lips. I found the formula very drying and it really put emphasis on the tiny lines in my lips (this stuff found lines in my lips that i didn't know existed). The product tends to bunch up around the edges of my lips and it isn't very cute. I would probably be willing to give it one more shot for two reasons: 1) The gloss is AMAZING. I honestly didn't plan on using the gloss it came with because I though it would be extremely sticky. I planned on topping it with chapstick, lip balm,  or my favorite gloss, but I'm in love with the gloss that comes with this stain. I would honestly consider buying more of these just for the gloss. 2) The color I got is VERY close to the color of my natural lips, which is why I might not be able to see the color payoff. I would consider trying a different color, but if I didn't like that one, I wouldn't get another one. 
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love Red Carpet The best way to use it to me is without the gloss. I put it on my lower lip then top lip then let it dry. I don't rub it in. That has made all the difference. IT has staying power too!Red carpet is not red, but I LOVE the hot pink. Also I have some EOS that I usually put on before I put on the lipstain. It is great for the price. Better than Mabeline! Trust!
Date published: 2014-08-15