Lip Stain is rated 3.6326 out of 5 by 479.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Color Not as Pictured I ordered this in "Lucky Lady", expecting a deep rose color. When I first opened the product, I was pretty disappointed. It was way orange and lighter than pictured. However, when I applied it, it took on a charming rose-like color. Even if it is not how it is shown, it is still a great color. It goes on smoothly and stays on.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! This is a great stain, it works as it should.  Like all stains, though, it can be drying, so be prepared to counter that with some kind of conditioner or gloss on top of it, the gloss on the flip side of the stain is adequate but not my favorite.  The pigmentation is very strong and the color is true.  Would prefer the stain alone rather than with the gloss, because it would make the container smaller.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is awesome I love this so much but I'm really hoping that elf starts making plum tones, purples and all would make my life complete. I prefer the matte look and feel so I don't use the gloss but I looooove this product!
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!! I bought these in Mysterious and Fashionista. I'm in love with these lip stains. They glide on like lipsticks but starts to dry on your lips as a stain. It stays on nicely on your lips. Mysterious is nude color for me. I would want to have all of them :D
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vibrant Color, But Not Really A Lip Stain I received the color Birthday Suit in one of the recent promotions. I was a bit sketical of the color because it was a very bright pink with blueish tones. I tried it and at first I hated it. But the second time I loved it! It sort of reminds me of MAC's Candy Yum Yum (almost). The first application is a little faint but as you build the color it becomes more vibrant. I wouldn't really call this product a lip stain though. It is more like a matte cream lipstick when applied without the gloss. This "lip stain" does stay put. I wore it and even after light snacking and drinking I did not need to reapply. There also is barely any kiss transfer. I would probably repurchase this product in other colors.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have it in Bombshell and the Red Carpet Red, it goes on very fluidly which makes it easy to cover and add definition, when it dries it creates a lovely matte finish while remaining soft to the touch. I can wear it all day and it lasts!
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from elf studio lip stain this product is glossy and smooth and i got it for my birthday in birthday suit
Date published: 2014-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor wear time; bleeds After how awesome the new Studio lipsticks were, this was a big let down. The color applies patchy and has to be carefully applied and given time to "soak" into the lips, and even the darker shades didn't appear very vivid or transformative on the lips. It almost immediately started spreading out around my lips; not bleeding into fine lines, but just smearing and staining the area around my lips, which made them look swollen like acne or something. Gross. On top of that, the product transferred onto food/drinks/everything and didn't last more than an hour. A stain with no wear time? *raspberry*
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I have had this for about a few months now and i love it! When i eat or drink something while wearing this lip stick it never comes off like others do! Will be buying more of this in all colors :)
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible I love ELF but this is the worst product I've ordered from them. I ordered the stain in Lucky Lady, which in the picture looks like a nice red/pink. In reality it's a brown, nothing like the picture at all. It smells like chemicals and it goes on pretty patchy. I wouldn't buy this product again.
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Color swatches a little off, but great product. Just bought Lady Luck and the red shade of this lipstain. Great performance. However, on my computer monitor (and my phone and my tablet) Lady Luck is a berry pink. The one I received is a nude orange color which thankfully also looks nice, but not like the picture. I did not have this difficulty with the other e.l.f. products I ordered - the swatches were representative of the actual color. Please fix this so that I can buy with confidence!
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from blotches i bought this product and every time I use it gives me little pink blotches everywhere on my lips. don't get me wrong it is a beautiful color but I have tried everything. I tried putting it on and opening my mouth really wide so it would give me those blotches but it just kept doing it. I thought that it was just because it was still drying but even after it was dry it still had those blotches. so yea not a really good product in my opinion
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not true to swatch I bought this in birthday suit and red carpet. As soon as I saw birthday suit, which looks like a light pink, I knew it was the wrong colour. The colour in the tube didn't even match the colour on the packaging. As you can see in the picture, it came in a HOT PINK. Disappointing because I wanted it for everyday wear and now I can only wear it if I really want to make a statement. Red carpet was true to description. They go on like any regular gloss and dry quickly.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Long Lasting I have this in Heartbreaker. The color is lovely, almost nude, but more color. The "stain" isn't long lasting at all even when you only use the gloss. It does go on smooth and nicely pigmented. The gloss is the best part about this product. It's shiny and not sticky. My gloss fell out of the black connector piece when I first opened the package, but that's okay because I carry it with me separately with me so I can reapply. I wish it was more staining and I would give it five stars and make it my go-to lip color forever.
Date published: 2014-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these lip stains! Beautiful colors I usually don't like matte colors because they can be drying, but these look amazing on me and my lips do not get dry. I have them in three colors: fashionistA, bombshell, & red carpet(my favorite):) 
Date published: 2014-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bright fun colors I have this in Fashionista. It is a little brighter than I expected, but I really like it. The only sad thing is I had this wear off pretty quick. I think it lasted maybe an hour for me when I went to dinner. It also fills in creases, so maybe using a lip primer would help with that.
Date published: 2014-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IN LOVE! I recently got two of these in shades "Red Carpet" and "Pink Minx" and they are amazing! High pigmentation and gorgeous colors. They are beautiful as a matte or with the shine gloss on top. I HAVE to get these in all colors!
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love lip stains and when I saw these I fell in love. I bought the Red carpet and the Lady Luck. The Red Carpet is true to the swatch on the site and it looks great if you are looking for that pop of colour... but the Lady Luck? Not so much. It looks so pretty on the site but what I got looks like the Bombshell shade. I even got another one sent to me just in case it was a packaging mix up, still not the right shade. Other than that I have no problems. The pigment is great, it doesn't dry out the lips and it stays on all day.
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not even worth the $3 I bought this product because I like Cover Girl 8 hour lipstick but it's around $11 so this product is much more affordable. However, you get what you paid for. Cover Girl stays on even after drinking, eating and even kissing)and this product did not even last past morning coffee. The application is weird too, streaky. Disapointed in this product only but still love ELF!!!!
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from okay i ordered the colors First Date, Heartbreaker, and Red carpet online. heartbreaker is more brown than the picture online shows. red carpet is more of a pinky- red. but, other than that, the stains are alright.  they are very pigmented. the gloss is rather sticky, though. 
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed review First, what I have looks nothing like this. (pic included)Second, I bought these 1 week ago, and am only 50% happy. Bought 2 colors, a red and a burgundy-ish shade. The red goes on great, lots of good color, easily applied. The burgundy seems like it's already empty, and I've barely used it. (sorry I can't give you names - when the packaging goes away, there is no way to identify the color from the product) I have to fight to get any color on my lips at all, and it's just not worth it. I was really hoping these would be good products, but apparently they won't be consistently good.
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best lip stain I've tried I bought first date (a slightly coral pink) and fashionista (a bright, almost fluorescent, pink) and they are both gorgeous. First date is a little less pigmented but both can be adjusted from one thin layer for just a tint to a few layers for a very bold, full on color. The best part is that these do not make my lips flake at all like most other stains and lipsticks, even without the gloss. As far as staying power they do fade with eating and drinking  but I don't see the problem with that in something so portable and easy to reapply. 
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ELF Studio - Lip Stain I had the this stain in bright red and I am obsessed with it. Unfortunately, I do not see it at local stores anymore, and on the website I don't see the bright red (although I don't know the exact color of it. I am so bummed, was it discontinued? I tried the bright red other lip colors and don't love them like with this one. 
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice color i love the colors! I have the shade"mysterious" and it's a really nice brown/nude. the only thing about this is it will make your lips a little dry 
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Goes on chunky and doesn't last I had high hopes for this product, but am very disappointed. I ordered the mysterious color and heartbreaker color. Both colors are pretty, but when applying it is chunky/flaky. And it does not last longer than a few hours or through eating/drinking.
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really great, but a few problems... I bought this in the shade "Mysterious" and it's a gorgeous color! It doesn't feel heavy on my lips at all - it's super lightweight! I have a few problems with it, though. The lip stain stains the gloss applicator, but that's a minor cosmetic problem. The packaging is a bit messy - the first time I closed the stain side, it oozed over! But other than that, it's a lovely lip stain. 
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn't smear or weigh your lips own! I hate lipstick and heavy glosses with a passion. I'm getting a little older now and needed a little something for a hint of color. This is it!!! It creates a little stain on your lips that makes them pop in a most natural way. It doesn't smear or come off if you give a little cheek kiss. It's a little bit of magic and a little goes a long wasy!
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value These stains are awesome for the price. I have them in Heartbreaker and Bombshell and love the finish of them. Usually, I will wear them without the gloss because I'm not much of a gloss person, but they don't feel sticky or dry without it. However...be aware that the colors are not exactly like the swatches on the website! Heartbreaker is more of a dusty peach nude color and Bombshell is basically a slightly darker version of Heartbreaker. Very good everyday colors though. 
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from just okay Red Carpet red not true to color as shown, more of a pinkish red. Color doesn't stay like a normal stain would. We purchased for a team and our kids have to reapply often.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty decent for the price For $3, how can you go wrong? It's a great little stain. I bought fashionista and I quite like it. It's not the highest quality, but it's good and I will most likely buy more when there are more colors in stock. It dries matte, so it is drying so I use a balm with it (I hate lipgloss, so I don't use the one attached). It lasts fairly well. 
Date published: 2014-02-16