Lip Stain is rated 3.6326 out of 5 by 460.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from okay i ordered the colors First Date, Heartbreaker, and Red carpet online. heartbreaker is more brown than the picture online shows. red carpet is more of a pinky- red. but, other than that, the stains are alright.  they are very pigmented. the gloss is rather sticky, though. 
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed review First, what I have looks nothing like this. (pic included)Second, I bought these 1 week ago, and am only 50% happy. Bought 2 colors, a red and a burgundy-ish shade. The red goes on great, lots of good color, easily applied. The burgundy seems like it's already empty, and I've barely used it. (sorry I can't give you names - when the packaging goes away, there is no way to identify the color from the product) I have to fight to get any color on my lips at all, and it's just not worth it. I was really hoping these would be good products, but apparently they won't be consistently good.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best lip stain I've tried I bought first date (a slightly coral pink) and fashionista (a bright, almost fluorescent, pink) and they are both gorgeous. First date is a little less pigmented but both can be adjusted from one thin layer for just a tint to a few layers for a very bold, full on color. The best part is that these do not make my lips flake at all like most other stains and lipsticks, even without the gloss. As far as staying power they do fade with eating and drinking  but I don't see the problem with that in something so portable and easy to reapply. 
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ELF Studio - Lip Stain I had the this stain in bright red and I am obsessed with it. Unfortunately, I do not see it at local stores anymore, and on the website I don't see the bright red (although I don't know the exact color of it. I am so bummed, was it discontinued? I tried the bright red other lip colors and don't love them like with this one. 
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice color i love the colors! I have the shade"mysterious" and it's a really nice brown/nude. the only thing about this is it will make your lips a little dry 
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Goes on chunky and doesn't last I had high hopes for this product, but am very disappointed. I ordered the mysterious color and heartbreaker color. Both colors are pretty, but when applying it is chunky/flaky. And it does not last longer than a few hours or through eating/drinking.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really great, but a few problems... I bought this in the shade "Mysterious" and it's a gorgeous color! It doesn't feel heavy on my lips at all - it's super lightweight! I have a few problems with it, though. The lip stain stains the gloss applicator, but that's a minor cosmetic problem. The packaging is a bit messy - the first time I closed the stain side, it oozed over! But other than that, it's a lovely lip stain. 
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn't smear or weigh your lips own! I hate lipstick and heavy glosses with a passion. I'm getting a little older now and needed a little something for a hint of color. This is it!!! It creates a little stain on your lips that makes them pop in a most natural way. It doesn't smear or come off if you give a little cheek kiss. It's a little bit of magic and a little goes a long wasy!
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value These stains are awesome for the price. I have them in Heartbreaker and Bombshell and love the finish of them. Usually, I will wear them without the gloss because I'm not much of a gloss person, but they don't feel sticky or dry without it. However...be aware that the colors are not exactly like the swatches on the website! Heartbreaker is more of a dusty peach nude color and Bombshell is basically a slightly darker version of Heartbreaker. Very good everyday colors though. 
Date published: 2014-02-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from just okay Red Carpet red not true to color as shown, more of a pinkish red. Color doesn't stay like a normal stain would. We purchased for a team and our kids have to reapply often.
Date published: 2029-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty decent for the price For $3, how can you go wrong? It's a great little stain. I bought fashionista and I quite like it. It's not the highest quality, but it's good and I will most likely buy more when there are more colors in stock. It dries matte, so it is drying so I use a balm with it (I hate lipgloss, so I don't use the one attached). It lasts fairly well. 
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long-lasting I've had this product for about a week and it is incredible! Best lip stain I've ever had, even better than a $20 one I bought and hated. The colors are very true to what you see in the bottle and lasts for HOURS without touch ups- even when eating and drinking! I love it!
Date published: 2014-02-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from meh I got this in the color fashionista. The color payoff was pretty great, was true to its color and all. But the smell of the stain was just nasty. Smelled like paint primer or something. The stain itself got really flaky and peeled after maybe 30 minutes. The gloss is awesome. Not too sticky, feels lightweight on the lips. But once you put it on over the stain, it gets stained and ends up all over the gloss side of the duo. 
Date published: 2014-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from gloss smells weird I love this product. I ordered it in the color "first kiss" and it is great. you have to put a few coats on for it to be pigmented though. after about two weeks of using the gloss it started to smell really bad. I no longer use the gloss side of the product, but the stain is lovely!
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lucky Lady isn't me I have to confess, right off the bat, that I haven't really worn this yet (maybe ever) because the color is one I would never wear. I should know by now (that's an understatement!) that you can't accurately choose a color from an example on a monitor. But I see the pretty colors and... Anyway, this is not a pretty, delicate reddish blush (or whatever it looks like to you). It is actually an orangey nude. Totally the opposite of what I was expecting. I guess if I'm going to take a chance, I guess it is better here than... (you know where I mean). But be forewarned, you never know what you're gonna get.
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I love this Lip Stain i bought this a couple days ago , i got the colour " HeartBreaker" And i'm happy i did . It applies so beautifully and it drys matte and you can drink water or whatever and it will stay on . the colour is a really nice Coral nude For medium and light skin tones , it would be nice on deeper skin tones as well it might come out as a bolder nude . WARNING make sure your lips are moisturized a couple mins before you apply this by a chap stick or something moisturizing because if your lips are dry while applying this product it will come out bad and crease in your lips . So please ladies exfoliate your lips and moisturize them before Applying this product or atleast make sure there's no dead skin on your lips and its not dry and chappy . Oh and one more thing the colour Swatches of some of these colours on elf are way off So be careful of some of the colours .
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not True To Color I bought this in Lucky Lady and it is not even close to the color in the picture. It's more like a brown. Being that I NEVER wear it, I thought I'd give these lip stains another try and again, I ordered Lucky Lady, only to find this was the one I already had. So disappointed. :(
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Umm...No. I am on a competitive dance team and this our competition lip product. I find it have a weird texture and the separate applicator for the gloss is stained red and now the gloss it too.  After about an hour my lips are patchy and peeling. I do not reccoment.
Date published: 2014-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unique This stain applies wet, dries matte.  I like only the gloss side, the stain dries up my lips and looks patchy
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not great I got this in Heartbreaker. Product has a strong and unpleasant chemical smell to it. Color's not bad, but it goes in streaky and it's difficult to get an even application. Wouldn't purchase again.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pigment & staying power I wrote a review a few days ago, talking about the heart-breaker shade. My mistake, I meant the bombshell shade. Everything in the review is accurate, only I was talking about the bombshell shade. Still a great product though. Hope they make bring make two bombshell shades (the old one and the new one). Wish they had more shades in general for the stains. The darkest shade which is supposed to be a red, is more a bright hot pink on me.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love love love i got the birthday suit and fashionista. didnt expect them to be that great, but when i got them on, it was a "wow" feeling. without the gloss, those are matte finish and i love it, stay for hours and hours, the colors are pigmented and very good for Spring. i havent tried other colors but definitely i would buy them all to try. hope e.l.f will never discontinue this product but only improve and make more colors for it. the only cons is that the colors on the website are totally different with the true color outside, so its a little hard to chose which color suits for the customer's lips. 
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't get your hopes up I ordered in Red Carpet and Fashionista. As expected, the colors are not true to the online representation. I think Fashionista is best suited for a young teenager, where the super bright color and cheaper quality would be more acceptable. Red Carpet is prettier, but it smells like cheap nail polish. Very drying. It wears off very quickly and very unevenly. I was embarrassed to have worn it to work. I'd pay the extra couple bucks to get better color choices and better wear with another brand.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have every color love them all. color stays if left to dry long enough. doesn't smudge. 
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pigment & staying power So far heartbreaker is my favorite color out of the ones I tried (although they changed the heartbreaker from a peachy pink to a more coraly pink - I like both colors, so hope they bring the old color back; they should name them heartbreaker1 and heartbreaker2). The stains have great pigment, and a little goes a long way....I don't really use the clear lipgloss side. I am olive toned dark hair and dark eyes. I don't really like lipsticks, so these are great if you don't want the look of a lipstick or gloss.
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful I got this in two different colors, thought they were supposed to be pink, but they came out looking like I put concealer on my lips. Trashed it.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I bought two of these in Bombshell and Heart throb.  Honestly, the stain doesn't stain my lips at all and the formula is almost like water.  The colors aren't as shown, if anything they are more towards a brown mixed with pink color (sounds ugly but I like the color either way).  The only reason why I plan on still using them is because of how I like the color on my lips when it is still on them.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite stain! I bought this in Red Carpet, the color was more of a deep, bright pink than the name might suggest. The color was strong and went on evenly, almost like a matte liquid lipstick. The stain side on its own was very drying, but the gloss was moisturizing without being sticky at all. If you're not a fan of a glossy look, you could wear a clear chapstick over the stain.
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy This "stain" is very greasy feeling and sinks into the lines of my lips, making them look very dry.  It doesn't really stain lips at all, just a product that sits on top--somewhere between a gloss and a lipstick and a poor quality one at that.  
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pointless I just bought this despite reading lots of poor reviews on here. I SHOULD HAVE LISTENED!! I got this in the "Heartbreaker" shade, and it does nothing. At first I thought that it was just the exact same color as my lips, but when I looked more closely I realized that it just didn't do anything. It settled into the creases of my lips and only stuck to the edge that is close to my mouth. Plus both ends of the container broke literally the first time I opened it. I really wanted to like this, but I guess it isn't going to happen :/
Date published: 2014-01-23