Lip Stain is rated 3.627 out of 5 by 504.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Red Carpet I love this shade and the quality of the stain! I also have Birthday Suit, and I love that one, but I found that it was starting to get flakey after my 8 hour work day. This colour was completely budge proof! I put it on at 7am before work, had lunch, 2 coffees, and talked on the phone all day, and it didn't wear off or flake/crack at all. By bedtime that night, it still looked perfect. This is a picture after 12+ hours of use (sorry - it won't let me rotate the picture). Note: I skip the gloss and just wear the stain alone. The gloss doesn't go on easily and it reverses the 'stain' effect.
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love! Just got this in the mail and put it on! Great color but doesnt last as long as a stain should! More like a lipgloss but otherwise awesome!
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful colors Bought 2 shades the first time, went back and got more shades including one I got previously. I love them.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Birthday Suit - Perfect Pink I am a newbie to ELF and just put my first order in.  I received it about a week ago (shipping to Toronto was GREAT - only took 3 business days) and I have been playing around with my products ever since.  I bought Mysterious for my mom and Birthday Suit for myself.  Mysterious was a lot more brown than it appears on the website, but it worked perfect with her olive tanned skin.  The Birthday Suit is true to colour - its a vibrant pink that has tons of pigment.  I would classify this as a 'Barbie Pink'.  I LOVE it.  I would suggest exfoliating your lips before and then skipping out on the gloss.  Leaving it matte just how it is looks great, and plus it doesn't come off when eating/drinking if you don't put the lipgloss over top.  No gloss=white coffee cup, gloss over top=bright pink lip stains on coffee cup.  Here is a picture of Birthday Suit with no gloss.  I will be repurchasing all of the shades next order :)
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I found that the colour didn't really show up on my lips. It just kind of smeared around in this transparent coat rather than going on smoothly and putting a nice last colour on. 
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't WASTE your money!!! Let me first just say i usually love elf products... but definitely not this one! I have been looking at this product for a while now because i thought it would be perfect for me! I wanted something long lasting, good color pay off, and not too drying. Well sorry to tell you but this product is definitely not that. First of all i bought this product in birthday suit thinking it would be a pretty neutral pink shade. And when it arrived i was so disappointed! it was this dark bright neon pink! That's not the look i was going for. The gloss didn't work either. So please be aware that the colors are not what they seem. Also even though it supposed to be a "stain" when you wear it without the gloss it doesn't even last an hour! It also has a very clumpy uneven application... Please please please don't waste your money!!! If the product wasn't that bad i wouldn't have written a review in the first place...
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heartbreaker I've had this product for two months or so, and I like it. I got "Heartbreaker" thinking it'd be a pretty pink for everyday. It's really more "deep" and nudey than I thought and appears more corally in photos, but I still really like it. I have fairly pigmented lips anyway, so I don't mind. I don't really had a strong opinion for the gloss - it's okay. I don't like glosses much anyway. Also, it doesn't really "stain" my lips. It sticks well. It feels real soft though, so that's a tradeoff you make. Overall, I like this product!
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 5/10. I don't like the stain, but I love the gloss I bought this is in heartbreaker and I love the color! Unfortunately, it doesn't actually stain my lips. I found the formula very drying and it really put emphasis on the tiny lines in my lips (this stuff found lines in my lips that i didn't know existed). The product tends to bunch up around the edges of my lips and it isn't very cute. I would probably be willing to give it one more shot for two reasons: 1) The gloss is AMAZING. I honestly didn't plan on using the gloss it came with because I though it would be extremely sticky. I planned on topping it with chapstick, lip balm,  or my favorite gloss, but I'm in love with the gloss that comes with this stain. I would honestly consider buying more of these just for the gloss. 2) The color I got is VERY close to the color of my natural lips, which is why I might not be able to see the color payoff. I would consider trying a different color, but if I didn't like that one, I wouldn't get another one. 
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love Red Carpet The best way to use it to me is without the gloss. I put it on my lower lip then top lip then let it dry. I don't rub it in. That has made all the difference. IT has staying power too!Red carpet is not red, but I LOVE the hot pink. Also I have some EOS that I usually put on before I put on the lipstain. It is great for the price. Better than Mabeline! Trust!
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst product ever This product was awful. waste of my money. its usually 3 dollars and I got it half off and it still wasn't worth that. the color doesn't even go on, and its just leaves little dots of color all over. piece of junk. Also the colors do not match up at all. love the gloss side tho and will be using it with my all over color stick
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty color, but... It's very, very pretty... But it smells rough and makes my lips feel irritated. The gloss is fine, but it's next to impossible to use with the actual stain. It just ends up bleeding further (onto your face!) or sometimes on your teeth. You MUST blot off the excess after applying, and it just doesn't feel good.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long lasting but not true to color Long lasting, but Red Carpet which looks red on the site, is actually a hot pink. Not very happy about that. Please make a real red (preferably something brick red so redheads can wear it!)
Date published: 2014-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love lip stain but... this product are really really pigmentation.. the only thing i dislike is the swatch in this page, cause isnt the same colorbut... in fact is an amazing lip stain
Date published: 2014-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for the price I treated myself to a whole shopping cart's worth of items, and on a whim I added the lip stain in "Red Carpet". I don't wear a lot of lip products to begin with, and even less when they're red.This was a really great buy. It goes on flawlessly, was perfect for my skin tone and overall a great product for the price. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars at the moment is because it doesn't have much staying power. I'm going to purchase the lip lock thingy, so we'll see how that works.Don't let that stop you though!
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Pigment, but Sticky This product has good solid pigment, but the gloss especially is sticky and does not last like a "stain".
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from First elf product I don't really like... I'm reviewing Lucky lady. It is definitely NOT the same color as the online swatch. No where near. It's this really gross looking orange color and it smells like chemicals and carrots for some odd reason. This is the first E.L.F. product I have not liked. A bit disappointing really. I expected such a pretty color. I did like the gloss part though. 
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a great deal I bought this a LONG time ago. I actually found it at a dollar tree and it was my first time ever learning about elf products. I purchased the color First Date and it is so gorgeous!! The stain goes on smoothly and does not make my lips feel dry or heavy. The gloss finishes the look off perfectly. My only complaint is that I wish it would last just a little longer.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Probably going to stock up. First time wearing a very pigmented lip stain (Red Carpet), very nice coloring. Makes my teeth look whiter. Make sure to have good healthy lips. I use eos lip balm before applying and I tend to have to wipe, exfoliate and reapply sometime in the evening. I don't use the gloss side. Both have a distinct smell, not especially nice, but not awful. 
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, Staying Color I bought this in red and love it so far! It dries quickly and has a great color. The downside is that it's a little drying and the gloss undoes the stain effect. However, if your lips are in good condition and you don't want the gloss on top, it's great. 
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Color inconsistency and poor staying power. I purchased this and I was very excited. When this product arrived, I was very disappointed. The color was Completely off. I ordered in the color Lucky Lady, a coral looking  bright pink, but when it arrived it was a dark orange, almost brown! It also was greasy and didn't last very long at all. It is supposed to be a lipstain!
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, great price! I LOVE this stuff. I bought it in red carpet and it's probably my favorite for red lips. It looks like a rasberry-ish red on the website but its actually a beautiful red color (not too bright or too dark). I don't like to use the gloss with this look because I prefer the matte finish it has without it, but I have used the gloss over other lipstick and it's okay, a bit sticky though. Considering the fact that I don't use a primer on my lips this lasts for a long time, probably 5 hours without having to touch up. If used with primer i'm sure it'd last 8 hours plus (without the gloss). I would say that the only con to the lip stain is that you have to layer it on to get a pigmented color, but for the price I don't mind it. 
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are fantastic!! I bought three of these in mysterious, birthday suit and heart breaker and I LOVE them! The gloss is ho hum but the lip stain is more like a a liquid to matte lipstick. It's best if you build up a couple layers to get a nice opaque colour but they stay on with out touch up at least 6 hours. They are worth every single penny and I will be buying all the other colours!!
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not happy with what I saw This product is a step up from there older ones but I don't get how this is called a lip stain. I don't feel that 
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, but color photos not even close! I like formula and performance of these lip stains. But seriously, the colors that arrived in my order aren't even close to what I was expecting. Especially "Lucky Lady"... it's a light, pasty, orangey tan in person. And "Fashionista" is a very bright hot pink. I'd recommend trying the stains, but only if you can see the shades in person before you buy them.
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lip stain has very little staying power I found that when applying the lip stain, It was very oily and didn't end up actually staining my lips.  Very disappointing.
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Color Not as Pictured I ordered this in "Lucky Lady", expecting a deep rose color. When I first opened the product, I was pretty disappointed. It was way orange and lighter than pictured. However, when I applied it, it took on a charming rose-like color. Even if it is not how it is shown, it is still a great color. It goes on smoothly and stays on.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! This is a great stain, it works as it should.  Like all stains, though, it can be drying, so be prepared to counter that with some kind of conditioner or gloss on top of it, the gloss on the flip side of the stain is adequate but not my favorite.  The pigmentation is very strong and the color is true.  Would prefer the stain alone rather than with the gloss, because it would make the container smaller.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is awesome I love this so much but I'm really hoping that elf starts making plum tones, purples and all would make my life complete. I prefer the matte look and feel so I don't use the gloss but I looooove this product!
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!! I bought these in Mysterious and Fashionista. I'm in love with these lip stains. They glide on like lipsticks but starts to dry on your lips as a stain. It stays on nicely on your lips. Mysterious is nude color for me. I would want to have all of them :D
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vibrant Color, But Not Really A Lip Stain I received the color Birthday Suit in one of the recent promotions. I was a bit sketical of the color because it was a very bright pink with blueish tones. I tried it and at first I hated it. But the second time I loved it! It sort of reminds me of MAC's Candy Yum Yum (almost). The first application is a little faint but as you build the color it becomes more vibrant. I wouldn't really call this product a lip stain though. It is more like a matte cream lipstick when applied without the gloss. This "lip stain" does stay put. I wore it and even after light snacking and drinking I did not need to reapply. There also is barely any kiss transfer. I would probably repurchase this product in other colors.
Date published: 2014-06-02