Eyeshadow Primer is rated 4.4245 out of 5 by 596.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My faith in eyeshadow has been restored Wow, I've been missing out in regard to eyeshadow! My skin is kind of oily, and as a result, so are my eyelids. I never used primer before, meaning my eyeshadow would get smudgy and generally fade away quickly in the past. This stuff is an absolute must if your eyelids get even a little sweaty or oily. Paired with e.l.f.'s setting mist, my eyeshadow stays put for hours.In fact, when I received my very first order that contained this item, setting mist and the Little Black Beauty Book in warm tones, I applied all three products at around 2pm, fell asleep later in the evening with my makeup on, and there wasn't a single smudge to be seen at 11pm. Wow! I was very impressed that this little tube of creamy goodness could make such a difference. Speaking of the product size, a tiny bit of primer goes a long way. It kind of feels like it goes on a little greasy, but once your rub it in over your eyelids, it dries into a nice, smooth, powdery texture.Just wow, wow, wow, all around. This item will become a staple in my makeup box from now on. I even want to wear makeup on days when I don't intend to go anywhere just because I know it'll look sharp all day. Not sure if it makes any difference, but I went with the Sheer shade, which is actually a peachy/fair flesh tone, but it doesn't affect the color of my eyeshadow in any way. Not so sure about the other one.I apologize if I'm gushing a lot about this product. I had no idea eye primer existed until I visited this site and it's made such a difference in my daily makeup routine.
Date published: 2015-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product!! I just have to write a review about this product, because it's excellent.Is very light, no oily, and my eyeshadow last for the most occupied and hot days.
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not For Me Unfortunately, this product severely dries out my eyelids. My eyelids are usually oily, so I was surprised it dried them out. Also, it's a bit of a weird gritty texture. Elf is always a hit or miss for me, and this was definitely a miss.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Creasing!!! I have the Mineral Eyeshadow Primer in Sheer and I am in LOVE! I have very greasy eyelids and my eyeshadow used to crease in a couple of hours if it wasn't hot outside, if it was hot out I might as well forget about wearing eyeshadow altogether. With the mineral primer my eyeshadow look stays how I intend it to look. I wear a lot of blush/pink toned, natural eye looks, so I am ordering the Blush shade, and I cannot wait to try it out.
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Eye Primer I've Used Great primer! I'm an eyeshadow gal so using this primer helped keep that shadow away from my eye shadow :) Would recommend to anyone who wears eyeshadow.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Eyeshadow Primer! This is my absolute favorite eyeshadow primer and by the way it sells out at my local store so is it for a lot of people. This is really the best, glides on easy, and stays put. I have only used the sheer color. Can't be the price as well.
Date published: 2015-01-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it's ok not the best primer that I've used still better than no primer :3
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't do the job at all I bought this with high hopes but it does nothing, maybe I just got a bad one out of the bunch but super disappointed.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok. I bought this cause SO many people said it was a dupe for a very well know, more expensive eye primer. Um, no! It's similar in some ways but the other well know premier is FAR better.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this primer! Just wish there was more of it. I purchased this in Sheer and absolutely adore this primer. Works exactly as required and is an incredible value. It easily holds up to an 8 hour work day without allowing any budging or fading of my eyeshadow. My only gripe is that there is very little product in the tube. I generally get about 10 days of daily application from a tube. For $2, it's still a good deal, but it's annoying to have to rebuy it so often.
Date published: 2015-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Friend Loves it I bought this for a friend. She loves it. This product works well as she does have a bit of trouble with lines on her lids. After a while shadow ends up in the lines and look like a mess. This Primer smooth's out the lines and keep the shadow in place with a nice smooth look.
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Work well to prime eyelids, not the best for dark skin, though.
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't do what I expected it to do. As I first applied this product I had high hopes as it went on smoothly and even. However, as it dried, it began to settle into the fine creases in my middle-aged eyelids. Putting eyeshadow over it only made it worse.I wouldn't recommend this for "older" eyes.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blast off This stuff works better than the Urban Decay primer I had (and lost :( so tragic that day). This was supposed to be a temporary replacement, but it works so well I don't think I'll stop using it until they stop making it. Dried super fast. I love the application stick. I dabbed it in a few places on my lids and used my finger to distribute. Perfect. BTW Light Olive should exist as a skin tone option, cuz that's me brud.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT!! I bought this two days ago. I first used it today. It seems weird when you first put it on, but it can get used to. I have the sheer, it holds any brand of eye shadow, such as almay
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It definitely holds my eyeshadow on longer. Plus, it's not real heavy and blends nicely.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Urban Decay dupe. I'll just start with saying I've replaced everything in my collection with E.L.F. products except my Naked pallet. This stuff is the same! You will need some sort of brush or sponge to blend it on your lid, but once it's dried it lasts. I work crazy hours and have had this stuff keep my eye shadow looking perfect for over 24 hours. That's no small feat!
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great eye primer for the price! This is a good quality eye primer for the price! I have no complaints :)
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good! This grabs on to the shadow and intensifies it. A short review in my comprehensive ELF EYE Favorites below.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This product totally works. It helps my eyeshadow to not crease and helps the color to stay on. I also feel good that it is a mineral product and may have some benefits. Most of all I love the price.
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit sticky on the eyelid but still very useful It sticks to the eyelid a bit making the skin feel like you have a piece of tape on each side in a way. But too much, just slightly. Hey, if you wanna get pretty, sometimes you have to put up with some pain, as the hispanic women in my life have told me. In terms of function, with my medium olive colored skin, it lightens up my eyelids and allows colors to pop 20% more which is great. However, if you add too much eyeshadow, it can appear cakey. I suggest putting on Matte colors only because any shimmer wont work. Didnt for me. If its still cakey, remove with makeup remover and wipe dry. Then on your palm, mix some of this primer with a very light moisterizer or coconut oil. Very little. rub it around and then rub on your eyelids. That should do it.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Primer! Love this primer! I'm a makeup artist & this is so comparable to any high end primer! It does take a second to dry after application, but after that it is long lasting, doesn't flake, or crease. My clients & myself have been very pleased with this primer! Will repurchase!
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never Want to be Without This Product! I love this product. I had never used a primer on my eyes before until I bought an E.L.F. beauty box which included this primer. I loved it so much that I had to buy one on its own. It truly ensures your eye shadow will last all night! I waitress on the weekends and when I work up a sweat my eye shadow is the first to fade. But not with product! You need this! : )
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for senior eyes! I bought this to use not as an eyeshadow primer but instead of eyeshadow, hoping it would smooth out the colors of my aging eyelids while not collecting in creases. The color (the lighter one) was fine and I had high hopes until I looked in a closeup mirror a few hours later - the creases were filled with the primer and very obvious. Maybe it has to be used with eye shadow and covered with the powder texture of that.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! For the price works great. Shadow did not crease or fade all day (applied at 5am)
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best primer on the market This affordable yet as good as any primer I have ever tried is perfect for everyday use. It has quickly became a staple in my collection and I have several backups. I love it more than any on the "highends" ones I have bought in the past.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I use this every day before applying eyeshadow and it works better than most of the expensive eyelid primers i've used. My eyeshadow last all day from application to taking it off at night. love this, would recomend it to anybody.
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much oil! When I received my elf haul the other day I was excited to try everything out. When I applied the eye primer to the back of my hand it was mostly oil! I rubbed it into my skin and it was very greasy looking and took a long time to dry. I tried mixing it with the application wand which helped very little. There was grease all over the wand handle. I also purchased one of the beauty books that included a smaller version. The consistency of that tube was perfect. The stand alone tube must have come from a bad batch. I'll be using the smaller tube and throwing the large tube away.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Reformulated? I'm not sure if this is a new formula, but I am super disappointed. I ran out of the old one I had, and I use this thing everyday, so I ran to Target to get a new one. The new one creases. I absolutely hate it. I am now going to find a different brand that will not leave my eye shadow creased at the end of the day. This is AWFUL. I will not repurchase another product from elf. I have had the worst luck with this brand!!
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Eye Primer In my reading magazines - I discovered that quite a few women recommend/discovered an eye primer - E.L.F. primer was a favourite, so of course when the summer was a bit humid & wanted something to give me longer eyeshadow wear I had to try this. So far the "sheer" is good. Now the weather is cooler I may just continue to use to nourish my eyelids. Even tan/dark-skinned gals can use. The price works for me as well. Willl see over time how the product stands up both on eyelids/bottle.
Date published: 2014-10-22