Fan Brush is rated 3.369 out of 5 by 84.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty useless I got this with the brush set. Its pretty useless. There just aren't enough hairs to do anything with it. The quality is good though and it doesn't shed
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! I bought this as a replacement for the Essential Fan Brush (because the Essential line is awful); & I was quite happy. Deposits the perfect amount of powder for contouring the face.
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Helps get HD powder onto a larger brush... Since HD powder is so 'concentrated', meaning that you only need a tiny amount to do the job, this brush can pick-up enough powder to place it onto my powder brush. I have also used this to apply a creamy product for a facial. It washes and dries very quickly. I do find it a bit thin for its intended use, so therefore the two stars, but if you got it in a kit, you can find a use for it.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Useful, But Not Perfect I hated this brush for the longest time, but have found it really nice for applying particularly sparkly/pigmented highlighters to my cheekbones. The bristles are very thin, but it means you can get a very light dusting of product and can build slowly (avoiding looking greasy, glittery, or over-done). The brush works well for both blending and application. I also use this with dark, cool-toned eyeshadows for contouring under my cheekbones and down the sides of my nose- the long fan means a perfect straight line every time. This brush is not at all essential, and I don't love it, but I do find uses for it.
Date published: 2013-10-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good at all I was very excited to try this brush but I am sad to say it was the worst brush I've ever used. I really like the other studio brushes but this one is way too thin and not sturdy enough like a proper fan brush should be. I can't think of anything I can use this brush with and it's a shame, because I could have gotten something else.
Date published: 2013-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This is a really good brush! After I apply my liquid foundation, I use this brush to sweep setting powder on my face. The bristles are light and soft, so they don't move or smudge my makeup.
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great brush!!! The bad reviews you read here for this brush are NOT accurate. I write very few reviews (probably five in my whole life, 24yrs old) and I just couldn't let others bash this brush and not praise it because I think it is Great! It is perfect for applying blushes and bronzers, even powders so that it goes on light, natural and beautiful. It is also just the most perfect brush to clean up fallout and eye shadow mess around the eye area. It gives a very clean, polished look when dusted around the eye. Whenever I feel like I have messed up, over applied and blended my eye makeup poorly I reach for this brush and use it to blend my eye make up (especially in my crease) and it just makes everything look perfect, blended and natural. Also whenever I go too far on the outer corners of me eye I use this brush to fix and even out the edges. I find the bristles to be perfect as it is a FANBRUSH. Designed for light application and ideal for cleaning up your eye makeup. THE BRUSH HAS NOT LOST ITS SHAPE AT ALL. It is still a perfect fan shape. I have owned this brush for over two years and it is still amazing. Not one bristle shed and probably over a hundred washes!!! The brush top did unglue and came loose, but that was from all the washing and water. Sometimes I did leave it submersed in a cup of water for a long time. It can easily be fixed with glue but if you are carful and just wash the bristles when needed it will be ok. I personally though away the stick/handle part recently and just use the fan part. Works the same, but is now more compact! This cosmetic line practically gives us high-end quality makeup and tools! I couldn't ask for more:)
Date published: 2013-06-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Helper for HD powder???... Having tried several other fan brushes, owning two others...this brush is just to thin and flimsy too be effective at anything you would commonly use a fan brush for. I did find one alternative use for it--to pick up elf High Definition Powder to transfer to a powder brush. Dipping any brush directly in the HD Powder just picks up too much product, and this brush picks up just enough for a light dusting. Cleans ok, and dries fast.
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a nice brush I was not sure what to expect when I purcheded this brush. I was looking for a fan brush that did not cost a forutune, and one that I could use to lightly apply bronzers, highlighters, and face powders. Well, it turns out to be a great brush. The bristles are soft and bend when they touch the face, not stiff at all, or scratchy, or poke. The brush head is not dense, I would say more of a light density brush, but effective. The bristles pick up just the right amount of product - not too much, not too little - and you can control the amount on it by just picking up more product, if you want, or using a light hand, if you want less. You can place the product exactly where you want it; you can even contour with it in the hollows of your cheeks, which I do all the time with it. I have not had any shedding whatsoever from this brush, it's made well. I will be buying another one to have on hand. It is such a great brush and for such a great price :)
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sparse, Soft Bristles I've had this for about a year now, and it's held up just fine. However, I would ONLY use this for powder highlighters! For how I use this brush, it works just fine :). The shape of this brush makes it very easy to control exactly where you apply product--that's what makes it great for applying highlighter to your cheeks. However, the bristles are incredibly soft, and pretty sparse; meaning, you can't get a whole lot of product on the brush, and it doesn't maintain the fan shape when pressed against something. Another thing to point out--the brush is kind of thick, meaning the bristles are spread out around ~1/4 inch on top; in other words, it won't give you a very thin, precise line, if that's what you're going for.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First Impressions I just recently purchased this brush, and it seems good so far. It's extremely soft and maintains its fan shape. It is a bit small and not very dense, but I sort of figured that. I think this brush is good for brushing off fallout and excess powder. It also may work for an extremely light powder application. Overall, it is not an absolutely necessary or amazing brush, but it does it's job.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheaply made The bristles on the brush are super thin and after one use will not maintain it's fan shape. The bristles on my brush stay flared. No good.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I would not buy this product again I absolutely hate this brush! IF it was more compacted i would love it but it does not have enough bristles which makes it hard to apply product.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TOO THIN ONLY GOOD FOR FALLOUT UNDER EYE. TOO THIN. NEED TO GO BACK ON DRAWING BOARD FOR THIS ONE.
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible This brush literally came apart in my hands before using it. The fan part is not...this brush is just a fail. The bristles are rough, it's poorly put together, the density is terrible. All wrong.
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is AWESOME THIS IS AMAZING!!!! For some people thye may think it is thin, but it is a fan brush. It does what is needed and it is perfect. I love it!!
Date published: 2012-10-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Well... This brush should be a little more bulkier. I really didnt like it that much.. it's just not for me..
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eh... Compared to other fan brushes ive seen, this brush is NOT dense enough! I have a hard time getting any product application to my cheeks. I got it in the 11 pc kit, otherwise I would have purchased this alone.
Date published: 2012-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fan of the fan... I LOVE THIS BRUSH. WORKS GREAT AND DOES ITS JOB, AND CANT COMPLAIN ABOUT THE PRICE! JUST WISH IT WAS A LITTLE THICKER>>>
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fan Brush i like the brush but i feel like it should be fuller and a bit bigger
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best brushes I've used This is such an amazing brush! It applies powder and blush so well, I just bought 3 more. I found that it works best with the High Definition powder and it applies so evenly. Not too hard, not too soft and just the right size. Love, love, love it.
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from the only studio brush I dislike I bought this product to use for my MAC Soft & Gentle MSF (highlighter) and let me just say it doesn't pick up any product at all, the bristles are too thin and flimsy. I don't like to waste, so I now use this to sweep away eyeshadow fallout. This isn't the quality I was expecting from ELF's usually AMAZING quality brushes that are sure a bang for everyone's buck, but this brush disappointment me. Don't waste your $$$ on this, invest a bit on a good fan brush if you were intending on using it for highlighter.
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been wanting this for a year first of all i love it. it is soooooo soft. i love every thing about! there are no bad things about it. i have been wanting this brush and i got it! it is great to do a airbrushed look\finish.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent This fan brush is very soft, and has the perfect length bristles. I love that it is vegan friendly and the all black coloring is very stylish. The fan brush is very under utilized, but I use it for bronzer, highlighter, and detailed blending. It is a fantastic buy. ELF brushes are magnificent!
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Newbie Brush Fanatic Loves This One As my title says, I am a new brush fanatic. I thought I wasn't doing something right because I would get fallout from powder eyeshadows. Then I saw a video made by a make-up artist who used one of these to "whisk" away the dust. I came immediately to E.L.F. to see what they have. After reading the reviews I discovered that I am not the only one who uses this brush for cleaning up. In fact it is the only brush that will do the trick. Yes, it is a magic wand with with a fan brush on the end. Since I'm new to brushes my technique is improving with the others, but I get so much practice with this that I'd have to say my special talent is with this brush, lol.
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I really wanted it to work ...I was so excited to try this fan brush. I love Elf's studio line of brushes, they are fantastic. However, this one doesn't live up to expectations! Mine was shipped damaged, the bristles are all out of wack *See photo*. I tried reshaping the product, but that did not work. I've tried using the brush, but it doesn't have the same effect. This brush belongs in with the essential brushes in terms of quality.
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay brush... I bought this brush with the intent to use with a highlighter or with a bronzer. I was very excited because I do love E.L.F and they're brushes I try first if I am looking for a special use brush before I go out and spend money on a special use brush that is high end. Can't complain about the texture at all. The bristles are extremely soft. However, the fan in my opinion is just a tad to wide and the bristles are to thin and a tad to far apart. I have to pickup a lot of product in order to see that it applies to the skin. Then still continue to pick up more product to get the look. I don't see myself re-purchasing but for awhile will continue to use until I re-purchase a different brand.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something you don't realize you need! I have always been intrigued by the "look" of this fan brush not really realizing the purpose it had. After being educated in its usefulness, I purchased one to try. Well, it doesn't disappoint! You know how when the eyeshadow drops down underneath your eye and you try to wipe it away with your finertips or a tissue? Only to find that then you have eyeshadow then smeared under your eye? This fan brush totally eliminates this problem. I love mine. I use it everyday. It saves me time because I don't have to remove half my makeup to get the eyeshadow out from under my eyes. I use eyeshadows alot as an eyeliner. So, this brush is definately been put to the test!!! I love it!
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for sweeping away fallout makeup use it everyday, my touch up tool. i love this thing. sweeps away eyeshadow fallout like a dream. add this to your collection, you wont regret it.
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good for random stuff. i bought this brush because i thought it was cool at first. i didnt think i was going to use it nearly as much as i do. its fantastic. when applying makeup, i use it for dusting away little particles of eyeshadow. other brushes would push them down and smear them on your cheeks. this picks them up and dusts them away! i also use it for applying bronzer and blush for a very light look every day. its a great brush to avoid things like makeup smear and heavy application that makes putting on makeup a tedious task. i use it every day.
Date published: 2011-08-03