Professional Complete Set of 12 Brushes is rated 4.181 out of 5 by 547.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I've seen better... These are okay for everyday use but hardly! I would not buy this. The brushes have terrible design and shed like crazy! I have two studio brushes from elf and they're amaze balls! But the essential brushes need to step up their game. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst brush set They were send in individual pack which was nice but the quality of the brushes were horrible. One of my brush (the biggest one) even broke in half!!! and I only used it for a few times. I wash my brushes from time to time and every time I wash my brushes, they lose some of the bristles fall off. Poor quality. I recently just bought a set of elf studio brush. The quality is much better than this set.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Some are OK These brushes are marginal at best. They have very stiff bristles for the foundation and concealer brush. The eye shadow brushes are OK.
Date published: 2013-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst brush set these brushes dont pick up pigment, hardly blend well on your face and are worse than just using your fingers. try bh cosmetic eco friendly brush set instead. same price. FAR better/mac/bobbi brown quality.
Date published: 2013-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay starter set! Any of the eye brushes and synthetic hair brushes are awesome. The bristles are soft and make for a wonderful starter kit. HOWEVER, the face brushes are lacking. These brushes have red hairs on the outside and include: Total Face Brush, Bronzer Brush, Powder Brush (sold separately), and Fan Brush (sold separately). That being said, I HAVE A SOLUTION that is SO EASY. In a small cup, I poured enough water to cover all the bristles-about three inches. I then used my current hair conditioner and squeezed about a tablespoon into the water. I then put the four brushes into the cup and used the brushes to stir and mush the conditioner until it was dissolved into the water. I let it sit for a little over half an hour and then rinsed the brushes with warm water. I squeezed the excess water out, and then put one squirt of a leave-in conditioner on each brush. Using my hairbrush, I worked the conditioner gently through the bristles. I let them air dry on a paper towel and then brushed them again with my organic boar hairbrush. That sounds like a lot, but it was so simple. My brushes are so soft now and I love them! I have had no problems with shedding before or after softening them :)
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasted me 4 years I bought this set of brushes back in about 2008-2009. Now in 2013 I am literally barely needing to buy new ones. The bristles came unattached to the wand the other day so here I am again on elf looking for a great deal on long lasting brushes. I cleaned and took care of mine and they always did the job for me. They tend to clump of of makeup so you have to always clean them especially the concealer one, but I found them to be very useful everyday brushes for a very long time. They were not the only brushes I used, but they are very needy evryday brushes that will last you for a good price.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Met expectations and purpose This met my expectations and needs. Not outstanding, but does its purpose for a good price.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price I believe they may have made some improvements to these brushes. I have read reviews that state that some of the brushes are unevenly cut and they are not soft. I can't say the same for the set I received. The brushes are very soft and are cut very evenly. Some could be thicker, but for the price you really can't beat them. They are a great set for everyday use. I can't speak for the shedding after washing since I haven't washed mine yet, but I hope they hold up because they are a decent set of brushes.
Date published: 2013-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for You get what you pay for! These brushes are useful and the bristles are soft, but of course not as great as expensive brushes would be. They do smell when you first take them out of the package, but that went away within a day of having them in a brush cup.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad quality I bought these brushes thinking that they would not be a great quality because of their price, but i am just a beginner and i do not need any expensive brushes. I just wanted a few basic bruches, and this seemed like exactly what i was looking for. They did the job, but the 2 red bristled brushes were very poor quality and had very rough bristles. As soon as i washed them, they sheded everywhere and once they dried, the bristles became frizzy. The 4 brown bristled brushes worked fine and shed a little during washing, but they do an okay job. The 2 orange bristled brushed worked great, washed great, did not shed, and are high quality. However, once i washed the brushed they had a very strong smell.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brush of goodness. This product is not in any way bad. I personally enjoy the softness of the bristles when they are first used. I dislike that after cleaning them for a few weeks, they start shedding, and the ferrule on one of my brushes started swilling around the brush. They were very handy for travel though, and for quick use in the mornings when my school marching band practice would end.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from they are decent brushes These brush are pretty good, and do the job. But i will say that the red brushes (total face and the bronzing brush)are not soft and feel prickly, especially if you compare it to the amazingly soft studio ones. I got these as a gift and their cheap so you do get your moneys worth I guess.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dont buy this! these brushes are terrible I bought them as my first brush set and at first they were good because I didn't know much about makeup but now I know that they are garbage. they shed and don't smell good. the break off the handle so all of them had to be glued back together. I will never buy an elf essential brush again. p.s the face brushes are the worst of them all.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and Pro All of them are designed to create any look you want. Great price! Each brush have their use written so that you always remember which one is it.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Surprise! I love these brushes! I bought these about 2 months ago and didn't write a review because I wanted to see how they worked out. I love these brushes so much! I was sceptical at first because of the price but am so happy I bought them! Definitly addicted to ELF now!
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't be fooled - terrible brushes! Hard, feel like plastic on my face, don't spread the powder/shadow evenly, or almost doesn't spread it at all. Trying to make it work only takes a lot of time and results are still no good... And you can't return them... Don't bother! Very disappointing - sadly won't be purchasing ELF in the future...
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ehh I was so excited to get these brushes, but they just didnt do much for me. They did apply the color fine, but the brushes shed like crazy. The first few times you use them they feel amazing, like the best brushes in the world. Which is probably why so many people have great reviews. They try them once and are like Holy, REVIEW TIME. But after about 5 times of using them, the bristles became uncomfortable; harsh and stiff. And I'd prefer not to lose a bunch of bristles while doing makeup! I do tend to take really good qualitiy of my brushes because I like my brushes to last long, as they do happen to get quite expensive. Overall I was not too impressed. I really wanted to be but it just didn't do it for me. Sorry!
Date published: 2013-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hairs fall out fast As soon as I received the brushed I was so excited. when I took them out of their individual packets and brushed it softly across my skin and a couple of bristles feel out, needless to say I continued using the brushes and as I would apply makeup to my face slowly more and more hairs would fall out. :/
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What happened? I was so exited when I got these brushes, i mean look at the awesome price. They were great until they became a year old. Suddenly the brushes started to shed like crazy and the handles detached from the metal attachment with the bristles (not sure how exactly to explain it). The bristles also became less soft on a few of the "fluffier" brushes. I don't really understand what happened and I always kept my brushes clean and stored them carefully but it was like the brushes reached an expired date and just died.
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! These brushes are great. The best I've ever bought!
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like these brushes! I use these brushes everyday! They may not be those expensive, high-end brushes but they do get the job done! Truthfully though, I'm not like a make up artist or fanatic so I only use a third of these brushes haha. Regardless, I haven't had any problems with shedding and such. Although, these brushes do have a slight I suppose plastic-like smell. It's not as if it's intolerable. Hence why I gave it 4 stars. I'm sure you can remove the smell with a bit of brush cleaning!
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bushes I was looking for a new set of brushes, at with the Cyber Monday sale, I decided to try these. I am very impressed! I don't use all the brushes, but they all feel really soft to the touch, especially the foundation brushes. And smudge sponge, where have you been all my life?
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these brushes I really love the brush set. Great quality for an amazing price.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good brushes Good
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for all I used MAC & Real techniques. Wanted to try this one... Very disappointed: poor quality, don't work good, unpleasant for the skin. Not goog for face. Use only: Eye Shadow Brush, Concealer Brush (good for corner of the eye for detail). Did't try Smudge Eye Sponge. Will try it.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Glad this set was free!!!!!!!!!! I was glad I got this set free, because it was awful....the eyeshadow brush sheds like crazy. As a matter of fact most of the brushes shed, the blush brush were stiff and was kinda scratchy and didn't really wasn't a good applicator for my product.....very uncomfortable, and would not recommend.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these brushes I ordered these the day after cyber monday when they extended their sale. I just absolutely LOVE these brushes. They're soft, and really easy to clean and the variety is pretty much everything you need to do your makeup (I also got an additional kabuki brush for my mineral powder, and a large stipple brush for an airbrushed blush look). I've read a lot of reveiws about how they shed. The way to fix that is to CLEAN YOUR BRUSHES BEFORE USE! If you do that, you won't have to worry about them shedding.
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yikes Ah, yikes. I'm happy I got this set for free. These are not good brushes. I love ELF, but these brushes really miss the mark. I can't believe this is the same company that makes the studio line! The only brushes out of this set that I use are the concealer brush and the eyeliner brush. All the other brushes are not dense enough, shed, feel scratchy, and are just poor quality all around. SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY AND GET THE STUDIO LINE BRUSHES! I have loved every one of those that I've tried!
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from predessional complete set of 12 brushes i love all these brushes but the only two i had a problem with was the bronzing brush and total face brush. they are to hard and scratchy. so what i did to sofen then a little was wash them with shampoo and let them set to dry for a day. then the next day i washed them again using shampoo and conditioner. i let them set for a day to dry again and know they are not that bad. but other then these two brushes i was happy with what i got.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eye brushes are okay The face brushes are pretty bad... I'm not going to use that ever. The eyebrushes are neat but still poor quality. They do the job for a limited budget for you rather buy individual brushes than the set.
Date published: 2012-12-15